PDA

View Full Version : Tractor Barn Anomaly


theluthier
01-27-2012, 06:05 PM
I have a question for you designers.

There is an AP object called Tractor Barn under Buildings in the AP Editor. Some planes will only fly through this in one direction. Other planes have no problem in either direction.

For instance the stock Big Stik Float Plane will fly through the barn in either direction, but the stock Big Stik will not. There are other planes that exhibit this behavior, but I chose this example because it's two very similar planes.

Why is that? I can't see anything in either the AP object or the planes that would be a factor.

I've attached a small test AP with the Tractor Barn in it (scaled up 500%).

I hope some one will be interested enough to look into this.

Edit: I should probably say what I mean about some planes not flying through. It's like they hit something invisible in the doorway and crash, but only in one direction!

Regards
Michael

jeffpn
01-27-2012, 06:11 PM
Send a shortcut to Chris McVey. He may file a report for you. That is odd.

brields
01-27-2012, 06:18 PM
Can you post a recording of this along with the AP?
Just in case somone such as myself doesn't experience this?

theluthier
01-27-2012, 06:34 PM
Can you post a recording of this along with the AP?
Just in case somone such as myself doesn't experience this?

Easiest to see it in chase view.

Regards
Michael

brields
01-27-2012, 07:23 PM
Thanks

theluthier
01-27-2012, 09:50 PM
I should say I'm not the one who discovered this. Rather I'm the one who was bothered enough by it to post ... :)

And I wasn't expecting a fix or a workaround - just maybe an explanation.

Regards
Michael

brields
01-27-2012, 10:09 PM
If an aircraft can fly through something one way, but not the other,
there is no explanation, Unless that "something" is in the Bermuda Triangle.
(not that I actually believe its anything more than a navigational region).

jeffpn
01-27-2012, 10:22 PM
(not that I actually believe its anything more than a navigational region).
Don't worry about it. What you believe isn't important to me at all.

brields
01-27-2012, 10:33 PM
Don't worry about it. What you believe isn't important to me at all.

Good to know I'm not coming across as being a crazy paranoid person. :)

jeffpn
01-27-2012, 10:35 PM
Crazy and paranoid would not come to mind (now), if asked to describe you.

Maj. Numbskully
01-27-2012, 10:45 PM
Besides .......................that slot is already taken :p

theluthier
01-28-2012, 03:02 PM
Topic, kids? :)

Regards
Michael

brields
01-28-2012, 04:06 PM
Well, I think I know the problem. I call it the"One-Way-Shield" effect, after a type of
shield/door in the video game: HALO. It is designed so that a player can run be on
one side, shooting at the enemies, who cant hit him because of the shield. Once
they are all dead, the player may continue forward in the mission.

A glitch has caused the barn in Realflight to have something like that inside it.

That's my theory anyway.


But hey. I could be right or wrong.

jeffpn
01-28-2012, 04:57 PM
But hey. I could be right or wrong.
Must... resist...

phrank
01-28-2012, 04:59 PM
:D I think you just found your new signature. :D

brields
01-28-2012, 05:11 PM
Indeed I have. :p

Norton
01-28-2012, 05:43 PM
I was thinking more in the lines of (But hey. I could be right or wrong.)

doug schluter
01-28-2012, 06:09 PM
I should say I'm not the one who discovered this. Rather I'm the one who was bothered enough by it to post ... :)

And I wasn't expecting a fix or a workaround - just maybe an explanation.

Regards
Michael


haha ok Sloflyer and i ran the stock aircraft from G5.5 with all the Expansion packs and add-ons , slo may still have the list of which planes that are affected by this . It would be nice to have it fixed : )

Doug