PDA

View Full Version : Douglas AD-2


a4magic
02-26-2012, 08:40 PM
So awhile ago I said I would attempt to build an AD-2 and I am starting a thread to show what updates I can, high school has piled me up with work, so it is hard to anything really. But I have gotten the cowl, and a little of the fuse. done.

I have no difficulty getting where I am now, but I would just like to know if I am doing right, or if I should scrap and start again. It has been a while since I have done anything, and I doubt this will go faster than the Shrike I attempted will go. Probably slower, but I need to get back into modeling.

jeffpn
02-26-2012, 08:55 PM
You're burning through the polies. Consider whether you need edges that are 180 degrees from the following edge, for example. It looks like you have alot of edges in there doing nothing to shape the geometry.

a4magic
02-26-2012, 09:08 PM
Okay, I get what you are saying. I actually thought I was coming in low on poly's. (since I am only at 402) What part of the plane will burn the most?

And, can some one help me find a picture of one of these with the dive flaps out?

abaser
02-26-2012, 09:19 PM
I'd be willing to bet that your 402 is face count. In face mode, after saving, tessalate and triangulate with all faces selected. That's your poly count.

a4magic
02-26-2012, 09:22 PM
Well in that case it is 914. Thank you for telling that to me Abaser.

abaser
02-26-2012, 09:44 PM
No problem. Someone once had to tell me those exact words when I made the same mistake.;)

abaser
02-26-2012, 09:45 PM
Oh ya, don't forget to undo the tessalation if you continue working on it.

willsonman
02-26-2012, 11:52 PM
Good to see this one progress. It was expressed to me as a request at some point but I turned it down. Looking great. Keep up the wonderful work. Those curves will be worth the work.

a4magic
02-27-2012, 11:04 PM
Well progress is slow, I haven't found a good cowl picture, but I tried to get it. I am debating whether or not to make the fold up wings, does any one know how many poly's they would use?

Right now I am sitting at 1048 triangles. Isn't the limit 20,00?

jeffpn
02-27-2012, 11:09 PM
Modeling is a give and take. If you want more this, just make less that. Foldup wings won't cost you many polies anyway.

a4magic
02-27-2012, 11:22 PM
Ok.

Well I found an image of the front of a Skyraider, but it isn't in the " Condition" I would like.
http://www.airliners.net/photo/USA---Navy/Douglas-AD-2-Skyraider/0876955/L/&sid=98b145ddb1cf0255d17fcbdd00fba329

I found out why I can't really find much on this plane. Only about 180 were built...

Norton
02-27-2012, 11:33 PM
"Douglas AD-2 Skyraider extends the under-fuselage dive brake on an early developmental flight, 27 October 1949. The dive brake remained a standard feature of the attack bomber, although in Vietnam the brake was frequently wired shut to permit the use of a centreline fuel tank".


Here are some good referance shots of a AD-4. http://www.primeportal.net/hangar/jean_thomas_rembert/ad-4n_skyraider/

jeffpn
02-28-2012, 07:28 AM
Only one DeWoitine HD-780 was built. I found enough information. The number of aircraft built has little to do with information available.

a4magic
02-29-2012, 08:35 PM
Here is today, and what little I could do yesterday. I got some of the nose done and have a very basic cockpit. I am at 1242 poly's More work to come on the nose of the aircraft, I still have to make the exhaust ports, and after I plan to finish the cockpit.

a4magic
03-03-2012, 06:00 PM
I finally got to the wings, I was able to lower the poly count before the wing, but now I am at about the same spot.

a4magic
03-03-2012, 07:54 PM
I have run into something that I need help in. How do you get the line shown to be the pivot point of the second half of the wing?

I was going to just loop cut, but I want to know if there is a way a hinge can be placed, or if that hinge it going to be invisible, or anything that will affect a pivot.

flexible
03-03-2012, 08:08 PM
That has to be two seperate objects. Then add a pivot to in inboard edge of the outer wing, just at the top edge of the thickest part of the wing. Then you can finish it in the editor.

a4magic
03-03-2012, 08:09 PM
Alright. So it is like the ailerons or flaps then?

flexible
03-03-2012, 08:13 PM
Not quite. The controll surfaces do not have pods to move them, you just assign the surface in the editor. Objects like this need pods to move. Be sure you put the pivot on the part you want to move. You can allways use the offset in the editor to tweek it.

a4magic
03-03-2012, 08:15 PM
Okay.

jeffpn
03-03-2012, 11:02 PM
Yup. You probably just need to loopcut it now. Worry about the pivot later.

a4magic
03-04-2012, 11:28 PM
Should the ends of the wings one piece, or should I keep them separate?
Same for the inside.

jeffpn
03-04-2012, 11:37 PM
Seperate, if you want the wings to fold. What do you mean, the inside?

a4magic
03-04-2012, 11:39 PM
The inside part of the wing, where it meets the fuse.

jeffpn
03-04-2012, 11:43 PM
I'd cut the wing off the fuse.

a4magic
03-04-2012, 11:48 PM
I did, but does it need to be one object, meaning the left and right wing are combined.

jeffpn
03-04-2012, 11:50 PM
Nope. Cut it right down the middle.

a4magic
03-07-2012, 10:43 PM
So I have got some work done on the tail, added part of the antenna, and I am about to start on the dive brakes after I get done with the tail wheel.

On the bright side of things, my neighbor brought me a pile of old books, and among them was a book full of 3 views, cutaways, and information. They are all world war 2 aircraft though.

a4magic
03-09-2012, 09:25 PM
So this is probably the (second) closest to an in flight model you will see for a while. I still have to do the gear. I am only running 3,000 on the poly scale, and I hope to get done with the gear and bomb hooks this weekend and next. I am still wondering if I should add a carrier hook to the tail.

brields
03-09-2012, 10:56 PM
Beautiful.

a4magic
03-09-2012, 11:48 PM
It isn't as pretty or smooth as you may think. There are some areas that I am not happy with, although I am editing them out. I am over all pretty happy with the way it is turning out. The landing gear is going to be a killer, since this is my first time attempting it. I have been doing some behind the scenes practicing, but I do not think it will be smooth sailing at all. I am actually going to make a copy of it, incase I mess up.

brields
03-10-2012, 04:40 PM
Just remember the way the landing gear retracts. Like a P-40 Warhawk or F6F Hellcat.
Jeffpn, before you call this misinformation, I have FlightSimX.

jeffpn
03-10-2012, 05:06 PM
Ok, as long as you have flightSimX. :rolleyes:

a4magic
03-10-2012, 05:32 PM
I know how the gear would retract, I looked all this stuff up before I ever started modeling, and it is pretty obvious, because the wheels don't stick out the bottom when in flight like on the DC-3. And to me, the gear looks more like the ones on the F4U, than the gear on the P40 or F6F.
And having FSX doesn't mean anything, I have it myself, and I have found three of the same plane with the gear different on each.

a4magic
03-14-2012, 07:31 PM
So, I had an Idea in the middle of trying to make the gear. In blender I can create pivot points. On the AD-2 Skyraider there is a cover that, well, covers the main gear support. So at this point in time, instead of trying to get the measurements right, I will build the cover separate, and then parent it in Blender.

Do you guys think it will work?

Boof69
03-14-2012, 09:42 PM
Should be fine. :)

a4magic
03-18-2012, 02:59 PM
7068 poly's.....I still have to do the cockpit. I did get the gear covers done, but they won't look right until I get to blender. I really like how the wheels and tires turned out, and really hope that it all fits in where it is supposed to...

jeffpn
03-18-2012, 03:04 PM
You can test rotate the gear in Wings by combining all parts that will retract, and rotating along the axis of retracting. Let me know if you want more information.

a4magic
03-21-2012, 07:20 PM
HEY! I am finally done with cutting the control surfaces! I am only running 9,000 poly's. Just going to smooth some more and then move into the dreaded Blender...

abaser
03-21-2012, 07:24 PM
My advise, wait to smooth in Blender.From my experience, you'll have to redo it there anyway.;)

a4magic
03-24-2012, 03:37 PM
Well it is in Blender, but I don't think I have everything where it will rotate right. In the attached screen shot, it shows the axis, and I can't remember if the X axis is supposed to be parallel to the object surface it is rotating from or not. For now I am going to map it all out. If I remember right, I think I will need to make a copy and combine it to put it on one map, then import that map in.

But, the hardest part (or at least the part where I had the most trouble) is coming....

abaser
03-24-2012, 03:41 PM
Remember how to "draw axis"? The x axis on that is your pivot axis. You can check thew rotation by hitting r, x, x.

a4magic
03-24-2012, 03:44 PM
Ok, but can you change that pivot? For example, make the X axis of the object parallel to the object?

abaser
03-24-2012, 04:16 PM
Yes. Give me a few to load up a tut Ive been working on. Ill post a link here when done.

abaser
03-24-2012, 04:25 PM
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=28009

Last 3 posts of that thread.