Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 6
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-07-2012, 07:51 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
It's not a bug until you can produce steps for others to reproduce your issue, kid. You've given next to no useful information, as usual.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-07-2012, 11:30 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 1,411
Send a message via Yahoo to csgill75 Send a message via Skype™ to csgill75
Quote:
Originally Posted by brields View Post
Some times, when I respawn a plane, individual parts will appear 2x the size they should appear, no matter how much larger the plane is scaled, or if it's scaled or not.
eg. the H-stabs will be, in scale, 2x the size they should be, compared to the rest of the plane.
I have seen this phenomenon as well. It is very hard to reproduce for me however as it has only happened to me about 4 or 5 times; however, i can say that i was using a AV of the C-17 from the latest exp. I was at the shipyard obstacle course and it was a private Multiplayer session with mwilson914 back when we were working on the Space Shuttle EA. The AV was a turbine conversion that was about double the size of the original. The elevator upon reset would double or triple it's size and the only fix was to change to a different aircraft and then back. I have been trying to reproduce with the same AV in a single player environment and i have not been successful. Matt did not see the error when i told him what had happened and he just saw the Normal AV. The elevator was also above the aircraft by a few inches and just huge.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-08-2012, 12:54 AM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Grants Pass Oregon
Posts: 7,549
Just for the record.......I have never seen this (yet)
__________________
Photography MegaryT http://www.viewbug.com/member/MegaryT
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-08-2012, 03:08 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 12,650
It's easily reproducable...

Start with any large plane...

Use the editor or the "resize" function to bring it down to say 20-30% of it's original size.

Fly the resized AV and crash the plane so that one wings breaks off.

The wing will fly off larger than the 100% size of the original plane the AV is based upon.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-08-2012, 03:26 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 1,411
Send a message via Yahoo to csgill75 Send a message via Skype™ to csgill75
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
It's easily reproducable...

Start with any large plane...

Use the editor or the "resize" function to bring it down to say 20-30% of it's original size.

Fly the resized AV and crash the plane so that one wings breaks off.

The wing will fly off larger than the 100% size of the original plane the AV is based upon.

I have seen that and it happens on any re-sized AV. However the Issue that I am referring to is AFTER the aircraft is reset, sitting on the ground the parts are larger than they are supposed to be. The plane flies normally but with larger Parts on the aircraft. I have only seen it a handful of times, and only with one particular aircraft AV and only in Multiplayer although there may be other times that it occurs, I just have not seen it. I have tried for about 2 hrs last night in various Multiplayer sessions to reproduce but i have not been able to. Since It was a couple months ago since the last time I saw it, the issue may have been fixed as far as I know.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-08-2012, 06:00 PM
Dusty E-D Dusty E-D is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Corvallis, Or
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpn View Post
It's not a bug until you can produce steps for others to reproduce your issue, kid. You've given next to no useful information, as usual.
That's not true, its a bug when the software is doing something its not suppose to. sometimes even just a description of whats happening can be very helpful. It might leads to others seeing the same thing and gathering more information, or it might be something that we have a good idea how to fix if we know whats happening.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-08-2012, 06:18 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 12,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty E-D View Post
That's not true, its a bug when the software is doing something its not suppose to. sometimes even just a description of whats happening can be very helpful. It might leads to others seeing the same thing and gathering more information, or it might be something that we have a good idea how to fix if we know whats happening.
brields posts a lot of things that are not substantiated nor accurate.

We get a lot of people here claiming that something is a bug, when it's really more their own lack of understanding... making them THINK something is errant when it is not.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-08-2012, 06:53 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Yes. I would not have given the same reply to another person, for the reasons Opjose stated.

Like Opjose said, Brields will steer you wrong much more than he'll help.

Last edited by jeffpn; 05-08-2012 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-08-2012, 08:19 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Grants Pass Oregon
Posts: 7,549
OK
using the Eratix @ a 50% reduction in the visual scale all is fine

@ 31% I am seeing all parts that break away from the fuse do indeed revert to 100%

Upon spawn It always spawns with all parts at the correct size ( 31% or 50% )

I tried each size at least 30-40 times
both tests were not done in MP
__________________
Photography MegaryT http://www.viewbug.com/member/MegaryT
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-08-2012, 08:41 PM
brields's Avatar
brields brields is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty E-D View Post
That's not true, its a bug when the software is doing something its not suppose to. sometimes even just a description of whats happening can be very helpful. It might leads to others seeing the same thing and gathering more information, or it might be something that we have a good idea how to fix if we know whats happening.
Thank you for backing my statement.
__________________
A P-51 shooting at another P-51 is treason.
A BF-109 shooting at a P-51 is a dogfight.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-08-2012, 08:47 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Grants Pass Oregon
Posts: 7,549
All I can say is I wish I had a $ for every "bug" reported here that wasn't

however I think this actually is one
__________________
Photography MegaryT http://www.viewbug.com/member/MegaryT
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-08-2012, 09:51 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
I wish I had a $ for every bit of misinformation posted.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-08-2012, 10:08 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by brields View Post
Thank you for backing my statement.
It might be because he doesn't know you.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-09-2012, 01:26 PM
Dusty E-D Dusty E-D is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Corvallis, Or
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
brields posts a lot of things that are not substantiated nor accurate.

We get a lot of people here claiming that something is a bug, when it's really more their own lack of understanding... making them THINK something is errant when it is not.
In this case while I haven't ever seen it myself I have seen screenshots that make me believe what he is saying is an actual bug. While rare I think it does exist.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-11-2012, 01:41 PM
brields's Avatar
brields brields is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boof69 View Post
It might be because he doesn't know you.
And you do?
Doubt it.

Now, gentlemen, please stop arguing about whether I do or do not know what I am talking about. I hate to be the center of an argument.
If any one knows for sure whether I post Bull-Crap without research or not, it's me.
Different sources hold different information. We all know I have stopped using Wikipedia, so we won't have to worry about that.
__________________
A P-51 shooting at another P-51 is treason.
A BF-109 shooting at a P-51 is a dogfight.

Last edited by brields; 05-11-2012 at 01:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.