Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight Basic
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2012, 01:45 PM
Boboeing Boboeing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
RF Basic image quality.

I've been running RF Basic for about two years now. Image quality in general seems to be good except that airplane outlines, especially the yellow cub, seem to break up or get zig zag with changes in direction and worsens as airplane gets further away, Detail outlines such as control surface outlines exhibit same problem. The program in general runs well but after a while causes eye strain.
Considering getting RF 6.5 but wondering if I will have same problem?
I'm running an ATI Radian 4600 series with 500 MG VRam on an Intel Dual Core 2.66 Gz processor with 4 GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2012, 02:29 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
Go to your AMD vision control center, then the gaming tab on the left margin. Uncheck "use application settings" under the SMOOTHVISION HD:Anti-Aliasing. In that same section change the filter type to "Edge Detect" in the drop down menu. Further down the list under "Anti-Aliasing Mode" set "Performance" to the middle choice "Adaptive Multi-sample AA".

To further improve RF's appearance uncheck "Use application settings" under "SMOOTHVISION HD:Anisotropic Filtering". 8X should be fine. This will improve textures when viewed at an acute angle.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2012, 02:29 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
That's a problem with your hardware, not Real Flight. Check your AA (Anti Aliasing) settings in your graphics control panel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:54 PM
Boboeing Boboeing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks guys,

Tried a few things that improved RF 6 Demo considerably but no improvement in RF Basic. I think that may be because Graphics settings are only effective in full screen mode in RF 6 Demo and RF Basic does not display in full screen nor can the graphics settings be changed from the program in RF Basic. Nonetheless, now happy with the way RF 6 Demo displays.

First, I changed the connection to my monitor from analog to digital. Went to high reslution with vertical sync enabled and played with the Anti Aliasing settings in the Graphics Control Panel per your recommendations.

Now that RF 6 Demo graphics are running nicely, I feel more confident that if I order RF 6.5, it will look good also.

Again, the help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2012, 05:08 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,347
Glad to help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 PM.