Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RF-X
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2017, 10:18 AM
backsida backsida is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
RF-X not work with my laptop

Hi,
I bought the new RF-X (because I needed the remote what come with it) but it is not working with my laptop.
Laptop is a:
Lenovo Yoga
Windows 10 64 bit
Possessor: Intel Core i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50 GHz
RAM 8.00 GB
Intel HD Graphics 520

what can I do to make it work?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2017, 10:32 AM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 920
It (RF-X) never will work because of the integrated graphics. It will run RF7.5 quite well. I have the Intel HD 4600 graphics on a desktop all in one and it runs that at the highest settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2017, 11:04 AM
backsida backsida is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokeDad View Post
It (RF-X) never will work because of the integrated graphics. It will run RF7.5 quite well. I have the Intel HD 4600 graphics on a desktop all in one and it runs that at the highest settings.
Hi BrokeDad,
thanks for the answer.
So, those that mean I have to 2 option now:
1.) buy RF 7.5
or
2.) buy a Desktop Computer with the optimal requirement

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2017, 11:14 AM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,712
There are gaming laptops that will work with RF-X. They are rather expensive; approx $2k.

You will need a rather capable desktop with hi-end graphics card and power supply to use RF-X. You should look at the software's hardware requirements for more information and take them with you when you shop for a computer. The software's minimum recommendations are no joke.

Many here will tell you that you need a GTX1080ti for the software to run at maximum settings. You can reduce the resolution for lesser systems. We are expecting a software update before christmas. There are no guarantees of that.

You need to pay attention to hardware requirements when buying gaming software. New games require a lot of graphics horsepower.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2017, 11:33 AM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by backsida View Post
Hi BrokeDad,
thanks for the answer.
So, those that mean I have to 2 option now:
1.) buy RF 7.5
or
2.) buy a Desktop Computer with the optimal requirement

Regards
If you buy a desktop computer the 'minimum' system you need for RF-X is the Top Intel Processor (6700K or 7700K) with 16 GB RAM min and should be 32 GB, a GTX 1080 Minimum (I have a GTX 1070 and it is NOT ENOUGH), and run it from an SSD. DO NOT believe the requirements on the Box they have been found to be way too low. You'll hear varying answers to this question but the common parts of the answer is you need the TOP of everything to run RF-X well. Oh what resolution do you plan to run RF-X at.. for 4K you better have a GTX 1080ti to run it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2017, 02:41 PM
backsida backsida is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Hi guy's,
and thanks a lot for all the reply's and answer's.
Yes of course I should look and take attention at the hardware requirements (but I did not )

buying a new desktop sound a.) expensive and b.) I'm only for a year or so where I'm now (work) so take a desktop with me later on would be not possible.

What version of Realflight would be run on my Lenovo Yoga Laptop (hardware see OP).
Thanks and regards.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2017, 02:54 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by backsida View Post
What version of Realflight would be run on my Lenovo Yoga Laptop (hardware see OP).
Thanks and regards.
RF7.5 w/Interlink Elite. Return/Exchange your copy of RF-X if you can.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2017, 11:18 AM
backsida backsida is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Sorry guy's,
one more question.
If I buy the DVD only REALFLIGHT 7.5 WIRED INTERFACE

http://www.ebay.com/itm/REALFLIGHT-7...MAAOSw2XFUdOmM

will the Interlink X contoler work with it (the 7.5)?

Thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 AM.