Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RF-X - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2017, 12:02 AM
william.walker3 william.walker3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
Can RF-X model full scale airplanes?

Does anybody know if it is possible to model full scale airplanes using RF-X? I have made full scale airplane FBX files using 3DS Max 2018 and successfully got them to fly using smaller available RFX physical models, but they fly unusually slow. But when I try to center the graphical model with the physical model or try to resize the physical model, the simulation becomes unstable and unusable.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2017, 03:57 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
RF-X is a Model Aircraft Simulator. You need to look at FSX, X-Plane, Prepar3d for Full scale aircraft simulation.

Also, there currently is no way to enlarge or shrink the Graphic model in RF-X. This is a known issue that was mentioned with the release of the Beta Aircraft Editor.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2017, 02:48 PM
william.walker3 william.walker3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
RealFlight can simulate full scale aircraft

Hi. I have checked into it and RealFlight can simulate full scale aircraft and seems to be quite accurate. Here is good link to get several full scale airplanes that can be flown in RealFlight: http://www.dmitrynizh.com/rf4.htm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2017, 08:38 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,709
Maybe in RF-G4.... and older generations of the software. not in RF-X
You were given a correct answer for the New RF-X version. In the older software, the Reynolds numbers of airfoils did not correctly represent large aircraft. You could cludge it together and sort of make it work. In the RF-X software, you cannot graphically increase the 3D mode, so it is a non starter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 PM.