Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 7 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #76  
Old 03-08-2018, 02:23 PM
DDawg's Avatar
DDawg DDawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockton, CA.
Posts: 779
Here is the RWB Hobbico Big Red MKII with a updated _s.dds file ...

I will attach the old spec files as well ... which were the same as what is with Techies _s file ...
Attached Files
File Type: rfx BIG_RED_MkII_N22618_CS.RFX (2.88 MB, 8 views)
File Type: rfx BIG_RED_MkII_N22618_s-org.rar.RFX (266.3 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 03-08-2018, 02:25 PM
doug schluter's Avatar
doug schluter doug schluter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,053
Send a message via AIM to doug schluter
sweet and it sounds like you have ithe Radial size and changes on tract now for sure
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-08-2018, 02:56 PM
DDawg's Avatar
DDawg DDawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockton, CA.
Posts: 779
AND ... the templates ... both Paint shop pro (grouping) & photoshop (not grouped)

Because I like paint shop pro over Photoshop ...
Attached Files
File Type: rfx BIG_RED_MKII_TEMPLATE_psd.rar.RFX (4.69 MB, 2 views)
File Type: rfx BIG_RED_MKII_TEMPLATE_psp.rar.RFX (9.37 MB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 03-08-2018, 03:54 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDawg View Post
Here is the RWB Hobbico Big Red MKII with a updated _s.dds file ...

I will attach the old spec files as well ... which were the same as what is with Techies _s file ...
Thanks! I grabbed both and imported your CS in RF-8 and it has the extremely high gloss mirrored look like the Citabria Aerobatc Pro does, which I'm sure will give it a decent gloss look in RF-X. But if you look at the Original CS from my beta and look across it you'll see a fairly hi-gloss statin look which is a lot like the Ultracote covering has, which is what I want. Which means since my release is targeted towards RF-8 I need to leave my CS the way it is. Now if they had a separate swap page for RF-X I could redo the Spec Map for the very high gloss look like you've done and then upload it to the RF-X swap page. But since they don't have an RF-X swap page and I want the Ultracote look I need to leave it the way it is. Thanks for doing this and showing me the way you do it.

The one thing I wonder is, why don't you use the TGA file to do it? You could do the same thing and then your source files would be in the standard TGA format. The RFX file RealFlight creates uses the TGA file not the DDS file, so TGA is the standard format they use.

Last edited by technoid; 03-08-2018 at 07:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 03-08-2018, 05:28 PM
DDawg's Avatar
DDawg DDawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockton, CA.
Posts: 779
I don't know, I think it's because of habit, working in psp, and I am use to saving to discuss files first ... then tga ....

And, I didn't know that tga files took priority ... so, I learned something new today ...

That, and I started watching training videos ... on 3dsmax, as a refresher course to insanity
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 03-08-2018, 06:48 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDawg View Post
I started watching training videos ... on 3dsmax, as a refresher course to insanity
OH MAN, is that putting it MILDLY !!!
__________________
Why do today, what you can put off `till tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 03-08-2018, 07:34 PM
asj5547 asj5547 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDawg View Post
Here is the RWB Hobbico Big Red MKII with a updated _s.dds file ...

I will attach the old spec files as well ... which were the same as what is with Techies _s file ...
Downloaded and installed CS, same result, no gloss.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RF-X_x64 2018-03-08 17-32-36-98.jpg (327.1 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 03-08-2018, 08:01 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by asj5547 View Post
Downloaded and installed CS, same result, no gloss.
Now that's interesting. I wonder what would happen if I remove the Alpha layer from my CS, DDawg's Citabria Pro CS doesn't have an alpha layer.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 03-08-2018, 08:20 PM
DDawg's Avatar
DDawg DDawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockton, CA.
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoid View Post
Now that's interesting. I wonder what would happen if I remove the Alpha layer from my CS, DDawg's Citabria Pro CS doesn't have an alpha layer.
Are you sure? If it didn't the windows would not be clear ... I know I had to add one ... but the alpha layer only affects the windows ....

Now you have me wondering ...

Last edited by DDawg; 03-08-2018 at 08:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 03-08-2018, 08:23 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDawg View Post
Are you sure? If it didn't the windows would not be clear ... I know I had to add one ... but the alpha layer only affects the windows ....
The alpha layer in the spec map affects the gloss on the whole plane. You're thinking about the alpha layer in the color scheme.

Last edited by technoid; 03-08-2018 at 08:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 03-08-2018, 08:25 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,328
asj5547

I just uploaded a Special Beta of the Yak 55m where I Removed the Alpha Layer from the Spec Map to see what it would do since DDawgs PRO had some gloss in RF-X but his CS for the Big Red didn't have any gloss. Anyway I tested the special Yak beta in RF-X and it did seem to have a fair amount more gloss than the normal beta. Here's a link to the post.

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...&postcount=144
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 03-08-2018, 09:59 PM
DDawg's Avatar
DDawg DDawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockton, CA.
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoid View Post
The alpha layer in the spec map affects the gloss on the whole plane. You're thinking about the alpha layer in the color scheme.
Ah ... there goes my brain getting in the way of thinking again ...
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 03-08-2018, 10:22 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDawg View Post
Ah ... there goes my brain getting in the way of thinking again ...
You were just testing me to see if I knew the difference
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 04-05-2018, 12:25 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,328
I just uploaded Big Red Mk II to the Swap Pages.. Enjoy!
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 04-05-2018, 12:32 PM
DDawg's Avatar
DDawg DDawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockton, CA.
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoid View Post
I just uploaded Big Red Mk II to the Swap Pages.. Enjoy!
You are the MAN ...

I think half of all the planes in the Swap Pages are from TECHNOID AVIATION INC.




Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.