Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight 7
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2014, 10:43 AM
2400rdr 2400rdr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 10
RF7 crashing during import of custom models

When I import certain custom models from the Swap Pages, RF7 generates an error message, asks if I want to send a report to KE and then closes itself. This happens with the Kasama Srimok 90E, for instance, and a few others. Most models import correctly and run fine.

The crash usually happens during the "creating DDS" phase.

Any ideas of fixes for this? The OS is WinXP, and I recently did the upgrade from 4.5 to 7. When it runs, it runs fine.

Thanks

PS- why does KE feel that it has to use these d*mned Captchas? I post on numerous other forums that seem to get by fine without having to confirm that I'm human, which is open to debate at times anyway if you ask my friends or wife LOL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2014, 11:03 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2400rdr View Post

PS- why does KE feel that it has to use these d*mned Captchas? I post on numerous other forums that seem to get by fine without having to confirm that I'm human, which is open to debate at times anyway if you ask my friends or wife LOL
It's there to prevent spam on the forum which has been a problem here for a long time. Usually 3-5 spam accounts sign up every day. I for one am glad they are putting in these steps for the new accounts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2014, 11:11 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,479
What graphics card are you using? I have found that the creation of the DDS files have a lot to do with this. The best way to import files is to make sure that you are on a photo field like evergreen or sod farm, close RF7 and open again on the photo field so it's freshly open, then import and create the DDS files.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2014, 12:03 PM
2400rdr 2400rdr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 10
My card is an Nvidea GeForce 9800 GTX+. Admittedly a little dated, but it worked brilliantly well with 4.5, and seems to run 7 just fine. All of the add-ons and built in models run without issue, and so do most of the custom models I've imported successfully.

I'll give the suggestion about import from a photofield a whirl. Thanks....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2014, 03:47 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Yup DDS texture generation is in part handled by your video drivers and video card.

There are a lot of threads on this subject here.

As CSGILL75 suggested, a workaround is to get Realflight to use a minimum amount of memory, by loading up a photofield at startup, staying within the photofield and loading the errant model.

Updating your video card drivers and re-installing DirectX9.0c will sometimes help too.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2014, 10:22 PM
2400rdr 2400rdr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 10
What finally worked for me was Maj. Numbskully's dds error workaround.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.