Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G3
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2010, 06:37 PM
Airwaves Airwaves is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Unhappy realflight controller USB CABLE PROBLEM

Hello every one,

I am a newbie here and need some help,

I have the realfligth g3.5 controller which is loosing connection when i am using the software. while flying i get the warning no controller found, to solve this problem i have to move the cable around for a while then the software icks it up again.

The main problem i have now is that it is ttaking longer and longer and some times i simply cannot get it to work.

some told me that it is a broken wire in the cable and it is caused when putting the controller away and rapping the cable around the controller.

Has any one had the same problem and how did you solve it. Some on suggested that i should tape the cable to the controller so it does not move about. would this be the only solution.

I need help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2010, 06:52 PM
phrank's Avatar
phrank phrank is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 4,682
Call tech support to see if they can swap your controller with a new one, they should be able to work something out.
If you're out of warranty or they can't help you, then I suppose you can solder-in a new USB cable if you're handy with tools.
Your LHS may have an expert if you don't know how to solder.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2010, 07:44 PM
Chris McVey's Avatar
Chris McVey Chris McVey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Corvallis Oregon
Posts: 717
Do you have a lot of other stuff plugged into other USB ports? If so it could be your power supply dying. Try unplugging all unnecessary stuff and see if the problem continues.

Chris McVey
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2010, 08:34 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Also, do not plug the controller into a hub. Plug it directly into a USB slot on the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2010, 01:49 AM
HX3D014's Avatar
HX3D014 HX3D014 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 1,622
I have a USB port that is almost worn out. I do not plug into that one anymore. To many ins and outs has made her ....... well......... not so tight. and I frequently get a message of some sort or another, seems the device just loses contact for a moment.

Try another port to see if this is the case for you.

Bryce
__________________
AKA HX3D014 on the WattFlyer Forums RC Groups Forums
AKA BGRing on the ARCHeli Forums
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2010, 10:09 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by HX3D014
Try another port to see if this is the case for you.

Bryce
preferably one on the motherboard itself ....don't use a "Hub"
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-16-2010, 10:51 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maj. Numbskully
preferably one on the motherboard itself ....don't use a "Hub"
Or do what the guy said in post #4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2010, 11:00 PM
rcplanefubar's Avatar
rcplanefubar rcplanefubar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 941
Send a message via Yahoo to rcplanefubar
ROFLMAO!..... hate when they get that way

Quote:
Originally Posted by HX3D014
I have a USB port that is almost worn out. I do not plug into that one anymore. To many ins and outs has made her ....... well......... not so tight. and I frequently get a message of some sort or another, seems the device just loses contact for a moment.

Try another port to see if this is the case for you.

Bryce
__________________
Kick the tires and light the fires!
Fly fast take chances!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2010, 01:20 AM
HX3D014's Avatar
HX3D014 HX3D014 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 1,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcplanefubar
ROFLMAO!..... hate when they get that way


Yup she's an old puter my one
__________________
AKA HX3D014 on the WattFlyer Forums RC Groups Forums
AKA BGRing on the ARCHeli Forums
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2010, 04:48 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcplanefubar
ROFLMAO!..... hate when they get that way


Isn't there a surgical proceedure for that?
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-30-2010, 04:10 PM
DC_Spd DC_Spd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcplanefubar
ROFLMAO!..... hate when they get that way

Isn't there a surgical proceedure for that?


Thats just too funny

But actually ..there is... most usb ports that get unreliable are usually bent and/or dirty. The contacts can be cleaned with any metal cleaner applied to a small cotton swap on the end of a toothpick, be sure to clean out any residue. Or NEVR-DULL works well and is sold in many hardware stores. The outer metal casing(the port on the pc) can be easily tightened up with very slight pressure applied to the outside of the case with small needlenose pliers or small screwdriver. MAKE SURE THE POWER SUPPLY IS TURNED OFF.

To avoid the issue I use a short usb extension cord with the port end being mounted just under the edge of the desk top. This keeps the cables off the desktop and when it starts to get goofy I just replace the extension, saves wear and tear on the actual pc port.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-30-2010, 04:37 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Do we have a new tech guru here?
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-31-2010, 06:30 PM
DC_Spd DC_Spd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
no guru here, just an old fart too cheap to replace anything I might be able to fix

Being into RC for many years I have plenty of micro tools and a bit of experience with small electrical devices. I enjoy working on pretty much anything from 1/12 rc cars to my full size Bronco II, PC's included. Recently finished an HO scale train layout for my grandson, and soon need to figure out something to build for the grandaughter.

I spent a couple days reading after joining the forum, this seemed the only thread I could chime in on with any relevance.

I did notice one guy having trouble with an intel 945 which surprised me until I saw it was a laptop. I just put a D945GNT in this pc about two weeks back and it runs RF Basic real nice, fps rarely drops below 60. I picked up the m-board with a 512 nvidia video card for $65 at a pc scrap shop, just needed new ram sticks

More related topic, had the CPv3 out yesterday, three batt packs and came home with all intact, still using the training landing gear but still it was a good day, RF is definatelty a usefull tool
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-31-2010, 06:52 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Cheers
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:43 PM
td9cowboy's Avatar
td9cowboy td9cowboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 1,206
Congratulations, Three packs on a CP v3 without a crash
is a new world record!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 AM.