Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 8 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Old 06-19-2019, 02:50 PM

Looking for freelancers

Hello all,

I am new to RF8 and I do not know how to use 3ds max. I am looking to get help in modelling our design. The configuration is a octarotor tailsitter, I will use Arduplane SITL to run the simulation on RF8.

I need a 3ds max file of our model which looks something like the attached design here. Please respond here and I can share more details of the design. Also, please feel free to quote charges for the work.

#In immediate need

Thanks a lot in advance
-Yeshwanth
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Octahawk_ISO_1.jpg (332.8 KB, 13 views)
Old 06-20-2019, 08:57 AM

If your goal is to use RF to test fly your design, you don't need to have a model created. There are two parts to aircraft design in RealFlight - the visual model (what you see on screen), which does require 3D modeling. But there is also the included "aircraft editor" where you input/adjust all the physical parameters, starting from a base visual model of something that is sort of close to your design. You can add/subtract/resize/reshape motors, wings, booms, fuselages, airfoils or anything else as desired - the end result is a model that mimics the flight of the intended design very closely. Within the editor, you can see all the items you added/subtracted/changed. The catch is - when you go to fly it, it will still look like the base model you started with - but it will behave much differently.
I use it frequently to prototype an existing "real" model, and then interactively make changes until the one in RF flies the way I want. Then I go to the real model, and make the changes to that - and they bear out the flight behavior that was predicted.