Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G4
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2010, 01:31 PM
mschulz531 mschulz531 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Great Planes Revolver 70" (larger model)

I've searched the forums and the swap pages, but I don't see the Great Planes Revolver 70" anywhere. Does anyone know if a model exists, or if not, who might create one? Everything I've read about the larger revolver says that it flies much differently than the smaller one. I'm considering purchasing the larger Revolver, but I'd love to fly it on G4.5 first.
-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2010, 01:40 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
The smaller Revolver already exists, so it is not difficult to scale the existing plane up.

The scalling is within the 200% range so there is no problem doing so.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2010, 01:40 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
There is a GP Revolver in Expansion Pack 4
Here are a couple AVs that could be scaled up
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...o=file&id=4209
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...o=file&id=4038
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...o=file&id=6200

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 01-21-2010 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2010, 03:57 PM
mschulz531 mschulz531 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
scaling up the Revolver

Being a newbie at the whole modeling thing (read: I've never done it) I wouldn't know where to begin. I'm guessing there is probably an entire forum related to the modeling side of RealFlight?
Anyone want to give me a few links?
Anyone want to scale up the plane?
Will scaling up the plane result in a plane that flies like the bigger one?
What things would be important to consider when "scaling up" a model like this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:22 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
You would not be "making a whole new model''
just giving an existing model different physics in the Aircraft Editor(creating an AV) to more closly match that of a larger model I.E. weight ,CG etc.
both of these may be useful:
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...rging+aircraft
and the tutorial referenced in the above link:
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...ight=tutorials

if done properly ...yes it will fly like the bigger one

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 01-22-2010 at 12:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:37 PM
mschulz531 mschulz531 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
OK - I'll give it a try!

Maj. Numbskully,
Given that I design and develop computer applications in the business environment by day, I figure I can probably figure out how to use these tools to scale up the Revolver 59 to the Revolver 70...maybe even experiment with a four stroke engine on the bigger one. Thanks for the direction and encouragement...now I just need to find the time!
Regards,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:50 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
The aircraft editor is pretty easy to use
make sure that you have a check mark next to "Display Advanced Properties" under options in the editors tool bar

The best way to see what you are doing is to use the "wireframe" option under "View"

The best way to learn is to dive right in! (No pun intended)
You will be forced to change the name of any stock model (creating an AV) that you are editing ....there fore you can't mess any thing up
If you plan to edit an EA or AV from the swap page” Save As" and rename it FIRST

You'll be amazed at how many things there are available for you to add to...
or to change parameters on existing components when editing an existing aircraft

Keep in mind that you will NOT SEE any added components (like spoilers or a different 4-stroke engine for example) in the sim..... although they will alter the aircrafts physics in the sim and be completely functional you won't SEE them operate
FYI.....
The only things that will change how the aircraft "looks" are
the Color Scheme, Props, Heli Blades and Tail Rotors or "engine to show"
HAVE FUN!

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 01-21-2010 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2010, 12:41 AM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
It is well worth the effort to read through the links he gave and give it a try yourself.

You'll learn a lot about aerodynamics, RC aircraft, and Realflight.

After that you'll join the ranks of the ...

"oh, that seems off a bit, let me give it a quick tweak!" types...
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2010, 04:04 PM
mschulz531 mschulz531 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
How to model and import new engines

I couldn't find a 90 sized four stroke engine anywhere...I was able to expand the standard Revolver, but I'd really like to put the same engine in the model that I'm planning to put in my Revolver 70...a Magnum .91 four stroke. I couldn't even find an OS 90 four stroke to select...I ended up putting an OS 1.20 four stroke into my experiment.
Any guidance on how to find/create new engines?
Thanks for all the help so far.
-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2010, 04:57 PM
mschulz531 mschulz531 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Revolver 70 (experimental) ready to try

I've uploaded the Revolver 70 that I made from the stock Revolver 59.
If anyone has a chance to look at it, I'd appreciate any feedback...how does it fly? does it seem to be accurate? I'll put a .91 on it as soon as I figure out how to do that. For now, it has the OS 1.20.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-23-2010, 05:52 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,650
Lightbulb

You are limited to the engines that it shows on the engine list

If You can find the specs for the .91 you're planning to use

You can edit the 1.2's weight and torque curve to more closely match that of a .91

EDIT:
I see at the swap page you found a .90
you can even edit it to more closely match yer .91

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 01-23-2010 at 06:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-15-2012, 05:31 PM
fishingships's Avatar
fishingships fishingships is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Has anyone created a "new" version of the Revolver WITHOUT using the Exp. Pack #4, as I am really not interested in BUYING the whole friggin' exp. pack for ONE plane, the Revolver 70"?

Thank you in advance.

Don
__________________
We do not quit playing because we grow old, we grow old because we quit playing.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-15-2012, 05:33 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
We're generally not interested in wasting time modeling something that's already available. You're asking somebody to invest anywhere from 50-200 hours to model something in their free time because you don't want to spend $30. How much is your time worth? Personally, I'd be more inclined just to buy you the Expansion Pack. (But that's not likely to happen, either.) That's a hard sale for you.

Last edited by jeffpn; 12-15-2012 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-15-2012, 05:41 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishingships View Post
Has anyone created a "new" version of the Revolver WITHOUT using the Exp. Pack #4, as I am really not interested in BUYING the whole friggin' exp. pack for ONE plane, the Revolver 70"?

Thank you in advance.

Don
Of course you don't get just one plane in the Expansion Pack.

Those who purchase the packs tend to find them well worth the expense.

I've purchased a few real world planes after "discovering" the RF planes in the packs.... which flew identically btw.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 AM.