Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 9
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2019, 06:34 AM
TomC TomC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 441
Bad RF9 DVD - Solution

I bought the RF9 combo DVD version (2x DVD's) w/ InterLink DX controller from HH. I tried multiple times to install this but it always hangs after a partial installation. I never actually got to where it would ask me to insert Disk #2. I did notice a slight blemish/bubble on this disk. I gave it a good clean with a microfiber cloth but this did not make any difference.

I finally ended up following the quick start instructions for people without DVD drives. This required downloading the RF9 download version from the RF website shown on the quick start manual that was included with the DVD's.

To make a long story short, this worked fine and I was able to register and update RF9 no problem using my DVD serial #'s.

I contacted RF support and ask them for a replacement disk and they told me I needed to ship the damaged DVD's back to them and they would replace them. I told them;

Hmm, not really too happy about needing to do this, esp. shipping back from Australia. Probably easier for me to just download and burn the RF9 Download version to a DVD or USB Key drive.

The download version installed/registered ok with my DVD serial numbers and everything seems to work fine. I really like the new Spektrum Interlink DX controller btw.

I have not heard back from them yet. Probably no big deal imho.
__________________
Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti (from my previous Alienware AGA), 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd. Asus ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus vg248qe 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors.

Last edited by TomC; 09-11-2019 at 07:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2019, 10:18 PM
fgibson fgibson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 13
Interesting. One thing I've noticed about a lot of retailers in this hobby is that they seem to believe we are all out to rip them off.

Long story but I lost an airplane because the antenna wire on my brand new Futaba radio was never soldered to the pc board. The folks at the Futaba service center said they didn't know how that happened. Really? Well, I'm pretty sure it happened when they assembled the radio! But they were convinced it was not their fault implying I must have messed with it, etc.

It's funny cause most modelers I know are honest people. But I guess it only takes a few bad apples...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2019, 12:11 AM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,222
Ummmm, did you do a range check with the new radio.???? that`s something that can be easily overlooked and/or t taken for granted. sorry too hear about the wreck though.
__________________
Why do today, what you can put off `till tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2019, 01:12 PM
fgibson fgibson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 13
Yes I did a range check so I don't know why it didn't fail that.

What happened was one of the receiver antenna was torn off in the crash so I sent it in for repair. When I got it back the transmitter wouldn't bind to the receiver. So I sent the receiver and radio in for service. That's when they found the antenna wire was "never soldered"...their words. Not sure how it worked to begin with unless it was inserted in the pc board but never soldered. IDK but that's what they said. Has worked fine ever since.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 AM.