Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G4
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-18-2009, 04:48 PM

MSI video card and voice echo in virtual flight instruction

Hello. I'm new to RealFlight and fancy video/sound cards. Just for realflight, I had a computer built from a local recommended guy. After reading a bit of stuff here, I determined that it would be good to get a 512Mb Nvidia card or and ATI (?) card. I told the guy this specifically and he said no problem. What the invoice says when I got the comp is "msi pciex12 nvidia 8400gs w/512 Mb ram video card." Did he give me some cheap knock-off? Or does MSI make Nvidia? Should I complain and make him put an Nvidia in there?

It seems to work fine (but the second start-up (of like 10 start-ups now) I there was a glitch and I hit "reset defaults" (though I never changed anything previously).

Also, the virtual flight trainer voice has an echo/skip, no matter which one I choose. I clicked on the little sound icon at the lower right of my computer "Realtek HD Audio Manager" and made sure that all effects are turned off. Is RF known to have and problem with the voices on trainer? Did the guy sell me a crap sound card? I think he said it is integrated into motherboard- asusp5gcmx133333.

Thanks for any info you can provide.
Old 01-18-2009, 05:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonemachine
I determined that it would be good to get a 512Mb Nvidia card or and ATI (?) card. I told the guy this specifically and he said no problem. What the invoice says when I got the comp is "msi pciex12 nvidia 8400gs w/512 Mb ram video card." Did he give me some cheap knock-off? Or does MSI make Nvidia? Should I complain and make him put an Nvidia in there?