Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RF-X
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2016, 11:09 PM
N8LBV's Avatar
N8LBV N8LBV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ann Arbor, MI USA
Posts: 405
RAM requirement seems like B.S.

How much ram does it really use?
And need?

I'm guessing right now if you have between 8GB-32GB it makes virtually no difference.

And they are "supporting" 4GB.

I see a lot of people reporting poor performance and they are not upgrading their to 32GB to fix anything.


If we could please get some real info on this that would be great.

Thanks!
__________________
Seriously (srsly):
I feel more like I do now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2016, 11:17 PM
jbourke's Avatar
jbourke jbourke is offline
Knife Edge Software Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Corvallis, OR, USA
Posts: 712
There is not much difference in performance between 8 and 32 GB.

The most important component is the video card.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2016, 05:49 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,497
On my 8gb ram pc it's using anywhere from 70% to 90%. On my 16gb pc I'm getting 40% to 60% usage. This is total usage not just what the program is using. I have a meter on the screen of my keyboard that shows processor and memory utilization.

It really depends on the field your flying, the quality of the textures and the aircraft to how much your using. 8gb should be the minimum amount of memory you should have though. 16 is definitely enough

Last edited by csgill75; 11-01-2016 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2016, 03:00 PM
N8LBV's Avatar
N8LBV N8LBV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ann Arbor, MI USA
Posts: 405
Thanks!
__________________
Seriously (srsly):
I feel more like I do now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2016, 04:26 PM
Prop_Washer2 Prop_Washer2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 148
My Video card has 8GB, and 32GB on the CPU side. I did see someone running 128GB DDR4 (the fast stuff) and a GTX1080 Video card I believe. Radeon has a double CPU R9 390x I believe, complete with water cooler built in for both GPU's and 16GB of DDR5 Video Ram.

I am converting my 8GB Video Card this afternoon to water cooling as the R9 390 does get a wee hot, 90 to 100c when loaded. A Corsair H55i will fix that puppy.

I think 16BG on RAM, and maybe 4GB on the video GPU should be okay...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.