Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 8
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2019, 12:15 PM
richrfl richrfl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 30
Aircraft design for RF8

Hi, gents.
I have been doing some work designing planes for RF G5, and now I am migrating to RF8.
I remember that there some simplifications or different requirements when designing for RF8 than G5, but I cannot find where I read about that.
Can someone give me a lead on that, please?
Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2019, 01:02 PM
legoman's Avatar
legoman legoman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW, Florida
Posts: 1,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by richrfl View Post
Hi, gents.
I have been doing some work designing planes for RF G5, and now I am migrating to RF8.
I remember that there some simplifications or different requirements when designing for RF8 than G5, but I cannot find where I read about that.
Can someone give me a lead on that, please?
Thanks a lot.
check out this thread we coverd some of the major changes
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33938
__________________
Even pigs and bricks will fly with enough thrust.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2019, 01:11 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by richrfl View Post
Hi, gents.
I have been doing some work designing planes for RF G5, and now I am migrating to RF8.
I remember that there some simplifications or different requirements when designing for RF8 than G5, but I cannot find where I read about that.
Can someone give me a lead on that, please?
Thanks a lot.
Basically you use 3ds Max like normal to create the plane but export it as a FBX file and import the FBX file into RealFlight 8. During the import RealFlight will create a KEX file in your project directory so the KEX file still exists but you use the FBX export instead of KEX.

During the FBX import you'll be presented with a new import box where you need to setup a few parameters the first time but they will be remembered from then on. The import is basically the same as for RF-X so here's a cut and paste of what Ryan said to do there.

Quote:
FBX Export Settings

The following settings should be set when exporting an FBX from 3ds Max:
Smoothing Groups
Units - Automatic
Version - 2014/2015

The following should definitely not be set:
TurboSmooth
Split per-vertex Normals

FBX files generated in 3ds Max are the only ones we are currently supporting. Unexpected behavior may occur using FBX files generated through other tools.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2019, 08:34 AM
richrfl richrfl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 30
Thanks a lot legoman and technoid!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.