Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Old 07-26-2007, 06:31 PM

"Cutting Control Surfaces" Step by Step in Wings3D

Okay I feel that after ALL the help that all the veteran modeler's on here gave me when I was starting out and learning (actually I am STILL learning every day I model) There was one particular modeler that went above and beyond what he needed to. I would have been feed up with all of my questions if I were him, but he kept helping no matter how dumb my questions were! THANKS you know who you are!

So long story short......I feel like I should also give back and help people trying to learn the basics of 3D models (especially those that will be using Wings3D)

I read on this forum all the time about: How do you make a "cut" more so how do you make a control surface. I myself could not understand this in the least when I first started. I am very bad a reading and learning...but if I "see" it done once I'll catch on just like that.

So here is a step by step process of cutting a simple Aileron out of a basic wing shape. Please follow along and read each explination for the coresponding picture.

I hope the pictures upload in order.........

#1. In this picture I have the wing with the aileron edges in the correct spots (I have the wing "see through" and the red indictates every line is selected (this was so you could clearly see each line)

#2. Have the "line triangle" selected on the upper middle menu (see the 4 different triangles to choose from. Select the second from the left) At this time select ONLY the outer edges of the aileron DO NOT select the trailing edge or any line segments inside of the aileron. Make sure you select both the TOP and Bottom