Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G2
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-29-2009, 10:10 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Update: in my boredom, I called tech support concerning your issue. She told me that support for G2 has been dropped, and the MP and registration servers have been shut down.

I do know that the latest version of G2 would be on AddOns 5.

Last edited by jeffpn; 07-29-2009 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-29-2009, 11:22 AM
js3862 js3862 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 728
np, it's the same for newer versions as well. No updates or MP until you register.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-29-2009, 11:27 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
I only meant that you could still obtain the latest release of G2 by installing AddOns 5. MP via the list server is not possible. I suppose you could still arrange a mp session privately with someone else, from time to time. It's a dead product now. Registering the product would be a moot point.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-01-2009, 03:13 PM
Mucaro's Avatar
Mucaro Mucaro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
MP is completely blocked until the software is registered. That means that not even private sessions can be started. I made the mistake of buying G4.5 before knowing about the registration/MP fiasco in G2. I hope Knife Edge/Greate Planes do not do the same dirty trick in G4.5 because I swear I will not buy ANYTHING from them again.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-01-2009, 03:28 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
So what happens when you enter someone else's IP address for a private session? What kind of error do you get?

On a side note, the G2 software was replaced by G3 5 years ago. I got my copy of G2 seven years ago. That is ancient history for software. Don't take it out on KE/GP, they have 2 main products newer than that. They can't support it forever.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-01-2009, 05:26 PM
js3862 js3862 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 728
Manual Registration of G2

Mucaro, you're making a big jump there. There's no dirty trick involved. G2 has been out of support for years. The fact that the registration server is down is more or less just bad luck at this point. That's why I was asking if there was a way to trick G2 into thinking it was registered.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-03-2009, 09:25 PM
Mucaro's Avatar
Mucaro Mucaro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
I don't think that's a big jump. I have tons of old games and most are still playable on-line. I know this is not a game (and it's not priced as one either), and for that same reason I take it more seriously. In the end, it's my money and I spend it any way I want. If I feel they didn't provide a good deal, I have the genuine right to face the other way. Don't you think so?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-03-2009, 09:45 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Nobody can tell you how to spend your money, if that's what you're asking. But you're also one of an extreme few who have not upgraded RF by now. G4.5 has a very low demand to it, compared to the games you're talking about. Imagine how much less demand there is now for G2? Next to none.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-03-2009, 09:58 PM
Mucaro's Avatar
Mucaro Mucaro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Jeff, I'm not in the extreme few. Read posts #10 and #19. I also own G4.5. I just expected more for my money.

I'm pretty sure Knife Edge is in this market for the money (like any other fine enterprise would). I don't care if they sell or not, it's not my problem. All I care about is spending my hobby money wisely. Now, if they don't want to corrode their customer base, they should care about what we say. One reason for writing our opinions here is to let them know how we feel so they can change their tactics and we all benefit.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-03-2009, 10:02 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
My mistake. I forgot you have 4.5 as well. But I still maintain that you can't expect support for a program as old as G2, given the narrow customer base the RC sim software industry has as a whole. Remember, you can update G2 to the latest available release by Installing AddOns#5. I know mp won't work, but even G4.5 documentation says MP may not always be available.

Last edited by jeffpn; 08-03-2009 at 10:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 PM.