Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight 7
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2014, 05:39 PM
Oops! Oops! is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Turnigy 9x radio

If there is nay one using this radio could you please send me the profile and what radio do you choose in RF7 since Turnigy radio is not there among the selection.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2014, 11:47 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
First I DO NOT have that radio.

But I know it uses DSM2 making it JR/Spektrum compatible.

Try a JR/Spektrum profile. You'll likely have to adjust it a bit.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2014, 07:42 AM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,995
If you read one or two of the setups, you will find that it is not all that hard to create your own setup. I say this after writing up a couple of them, so the experience carried forward.

If you do get it going, it would be much appreciated if you would write up the settings and add it to the thread for others to use.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2014, 02:57 PM
kirby_ kirby_ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oops! View Post
If there is nay one using this radio could you please send me the profile and what radio do you choose in RF7 since Turnigy radio is not there among the selection.
Isn't the Turnigy 9x an OpenTx radio? If so, I may be able to help. I have the Taranis X9D, which is a FrSky radio with OpenTX. It was pretty easy to get mine working.


On the transmitter, setup a model and turn off internal RF and external RF. For "trainer mode" turn on "slave" mode. Then channel range "1-8". I left the PPM frame settings at the defaults. In RF, In the "select controller" dialog, I selected "Spektrum2" and immediately did "Save As". This gives you a new profile to work with. Name yours whatever you want, maybe "Turnigy 9x"? The rest is just regular calibration and tuning. I turned off software radio. I want all the mixing and such done on my TX. That's a personal choice though and not required.

If you're having trouble, please post your exact steps and hopefully I can help you through it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2014, 01:11 PM
N8LBV's Avatar
N8LBV N8LBV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ann Arbor, MI USA
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
First I DO NOT have that radio.

But I know it uses DSM2 making it JR/Spektrum compatible.

Try a JR/Spektrum profile. You'll likely have to adjust it a bit.
The Turnigy 9X *itself* does not do DSM2.
It uses JR style RF modules there is a module for it that does do DSM2/DSMX.

On the back of this TX is a standard trainer port which gives you the PPM composite
output signal you need to plug it into either the Realflight TX interface or the PPM
*INPUT* on the back of your Interlink controller.

Also NOTE: you normally would leave the TX switched off when using it this way.
It comes on in the right mode when you plug a cable into the trainer port.
ALSO: I usually have to REMOVE the RF module when using it this way..
Some RF modules re-route or otherwise KILL the PPM signal from making it to the trainer port, not sure why but I have noticed this..
Some modules are okay to leave in some are not.
The stock "flysky" module (included with some of the 9X transmitters), is one of the ones I have to pull out when using it in trainer/SIM mode.

And start out with a simple standard aircraft profile. (they are build in and can easily be loaded.
I also highly recommend getting ER9X firmware flashed on to your 9X if it isn't already.. you can buy a $30 board that makes it easy with no soldering..
Do what you have to do to get ER9X on there it's very worth the work or the $30.

ENJOY!
__________________
Seriously (srsly):
I feel more like I do now.

Last edited by N8LBV; 06-08-2014 at 01:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2014, 03:32 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8LBV View Post
The Turnigy 9X *itself* does not do DSM2.
It uses JR style RF modules there is a module for it that does do DSM2/DSMX.

On the back of this TX is a standard trainer port which gives you the PPM composite
output signal you need to plug it into either the Realflight TX interface or the PPM
*INPUT* on the back of your Interlink controller.
That's specious, akin to saying that all module based radios do not use their own protocols because they use modules.

e.g. the new JR DSM2/DSMX/DMSS radios all have modules so the radio itself does not "DO" DSM2.

Splitting such hairs serves no purpose for the novice.

The point is that the radio uses the Spektrum/JR configuration and that is what the OP needs to focus on.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2014, 05:59 AM
bosshawg's Avatar
bosshawg bosshawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Norfolk,England
Posts: 76
Lightbulb Bog Standard 9x Set-up

Ooops!
You Don't Say what firmware!The v2 that it comes with or ER9x &
OpenTX?.
Try unplugging the Module if running Orig firmware and you haven't done resistor Modification.
Brand New Turnigy9x straight out of Box with v2 Firmware & NO Module plugged In.
Set-up a new Model just for Simulator
System Menu 3rd Option Down(TYPE SELECTION) select "ACRO" Option
FUNC Setting Menu 2nd Page (PROG.MIX) Change To:
MIX1:
STATE=ACT
MASTER=GYR
SLAVE=AUX(2nd Aux Option)
OFFSET=000
UPRATE=100
DNRATE=-100
SW=NOR

MIX2:
STATE=ACT
MASTER=GYR
SLAVE=AUX(2nd Aux Option)
OFFSET=000
UPRATE=-100
DNRATE=100
SW=ID2

FUNC Setting Menu 2nd Page (AUX-CH) Change To:

CH5=Gear
CH6=Throt Hold
CH7=Pit Trim
CH8=Null
CH9=Null

Ensure Tx Switched OFF B4 inserting 3.5mm Jack Plug.
In RF under Controller menu "Select Controller" choose Interlink Elite Transmitter 8 channel
Then Calibrate Controller & Furtle Channel Mapping 2 suit!
Job Done.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:09 AM.