Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G5
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2018, 01:20 PM
r1derbike's Avatar
r1derbike r1derbike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 1,305
RF G5.5 issues new Dell G7

Bought new Dell G7 laptop (GTX1060, hex-core i7H, 16GB RAM, SSD, HDD ... yadda yadda) and at stock settings (RF G5.5), suffers from very slow fps (24). Let it install its ancient DirectX 9 when prompted. Tried full-screen, no v-sync. Checked settings and all parms are very minimal, which ran great on on dual-core i7 Dell laptop. This while plugged-in.



Any quick fix? TIA

Charles
__________________
"Sometimes, I run out of altitude and airspeed...at the same time!"

Last edited by r1derbike; 07-03-2018 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2018, 02:14 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1derbike View Post
Bought new Dell G7 laptop (GTX1060, hex-core i7H, 16GB RAM, SSD, HDD ... yadda yadda) and at stock settings (RF G5.5), suffers from very slow fps (24). Let it install its ancient DirectX 9 when prompted. Tried full-screen, no v-sync. Checked settings and all parms are very minimal, which ran great on on dual-core i7 Dell laptop. This while plugged-in.



Any quick fix? TIA

Charles
I always recommend upgrading to RealFlight 8 it's a lot better sim in my opinion. So if you can grab it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2018, 04:35 PM
adrenoline 60 adrenoline 60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 643
Have you checked in RealFlight Settings, to see if RealFlight is utilizing your Nvidia GPU or just running off the Intigrated chip?
Check Main menu: Simulation>Settings>+Graphics>Hardware>Graphics Adaptor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2018, 04:39 PM
legoman's Avatar
legoman legoman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW, Florida
Posts: 1,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1derbike View Post
Bought new Dell G7 laptop (GTX1060, hex-core i7H, 16GB RAM, SSD, HDD ... yadda yadda) and at stock settings (RF G5.5), suffers from very slow fps (24). Let it install its ancient DirectX 9 when prompted. Tried full-screen, no v-sync. Checked settings and all parms are very minimal, which ran great on on dual-core i7 Dell laptop. This while plugged-in.



Any quick fix? TIA

Charles
Are you sure realflight is running on the video card not the integrated cpu graphics. You can find it in the settings I forget which sub category it is in. You should be getting 100+ fps from the gpu. your 24 fps sounds like cpu speed
__________________
Even pigs and bricks will fly with enough thrust.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2018, 11:27 AM
r1derbike's Avatar
r1derbike r1derbike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 1,305
Well ... I don't know what was wrong. I uninstalled RF G5.5, reinstalled, fired it up and it worked fine at over 300 fps. Set parms where I liked and got around 125 fps average. Big mystery. Sigh. Thanks for all the suggestions!

Luckily, got the AUO display (luck of the draw) which may be bumped to around 100Hz. refresh...
__________________
"Sometimes, I run out of altitude and airspeed...at the same time!"

Last edited by r1derbike; 07-04-2018 at 11:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 PM.