Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 9
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 08-21-2019, 02:16 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,959
It would be nice if just his once they made it so people on RF8 and RF9 could fly together considering the short amount of time between releases.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-21-2019, 04:14 PM
flip flip is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgill75 View Post
It's possible that it might work as a general game controller, since RF8 has that capability that previous versions didn't have.
Well that would leave out the reset button and menu controls, right?

Being a software engineer this would be an "extremely" easy thing to do, that is make the new Interlink controller work with RF-8. There's no reason not to except the extra money to buy the software. I would gladly buy the new software if there was anything new in it. (more planes for entry level people doesn't count)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-21-2019, 05:46 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by flip View Post
Well that would leave out the reset button and menu controls, right?

Being a software engineer this would be an "extremely" easy thing to do, that is make the new Interlink controller work with RF-8. There's no reason not to except the extra money to buy the software. I would gladly buy the new software if there was anything new in it. (more planes for entry level people doesn't count)
It would be easy but has knife edge ever updated a older version of RealFlight to work with a newer controller?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-21-2019, 06:08 PM
RoryTRc RoryTRc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: UK MK
Posts: 6
WOWOWOWOWO im so impressed it incredible
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1566424019.jpg (315.3 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1566423784.jpg (349.5 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1566423320.jpg (349.2 KB, 24 views)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-21-2019, 06:40 PM
TomC TomC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 441
I just got a HH notice that my RF9 combo (incl Interlink DX) is now on its way to their International processing facility so it should be shipped to me within a couple of days. Nice thing with HH is that they do not charge your card/paypal until it is shipped.

Really looking forward to getting this!
__________________
Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti (from my previous Alienware AGA), 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd. Asus ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus vg248qe 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-21-2019, 06:42 PM
flip flip is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgill75 View Post
It would be easy but has knife edge ever updated a older version of RealFlight to work with a newer controller?
Doing the right thing is always the right thing to do, whether you've done it in the past or not. Don't punish the ones that got you where you are. Honestly RF-8 pretty much equals RF-9 for anyone beyond the beginning phase. I didn't want to start anything but I think my view is reasonable, just enable the new Interlink in RF-8 so it works the same as the older versions (no new channels).

For the record I'll buy the full package to get the new Interlink controller. (But I shouldn't have too)
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-21-2019, 07:01 PM
TomC TomC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 441
Maybe you shouldn't have to but I'm sure you'll be glad you did, lol!
__________________
Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti (from my previous Alienware AGA), 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd. Asus ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus vg248qe 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-21-2019, 07:38 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,481
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by flip View Post
Doing the right thing is always the right thing to do, whether you've done it in the past or not. Don't punish the ones that got you where you are. Honestly RF-8 pretty much equals RF-9 for anyone beyond the beginning phase. I didn't want to start anything but I think my view is reasonable, just enable the new Interlink in RF-8 so it works the same as the older versions (no new channels).

For the record I'll buy the full package to get the new Interlink controller. (But I shouldn't have too)
I'll purchase RF9 as well but from a business standpoint it makes business sense to keep the new interlink in RF9 and future products. If not they would not sell new copies of their latest software. Many people are still using 7.5 because it's pretty much the same as RF8... And it's pretty much the same software as RF9. Anyone who has been using realflight for any amount of time know that. Supporting people who don't purchase the latest software doesn't make them any money.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-21-2019, 07:41 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokeDad View Post
It would be nice if just his once they made it so people on RF8 and RF9 could fly together considering the short amount of time between releases.
Physics changes as well as feature differences between versions of realflight would prohibit this from working. Even different builds of the same version of RealFlight do not play together. It's been discussed many times here.

RF8 was released in 2017 so it has been a couple of years since we had a new version of RealFlight.

Last edited by csgill75; 08-21-2019 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-21-2019, 07:43 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoryTRc View Post
WOWOWOWOWO im so impressed it incredible
Looks like every other version of RealFlight except RF-X which does look better since it's on a modern game engine. It's a shame that it was discontinued
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 08-21-2019, 09:07 PM
Rc51dude Rc51dude is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 37
Just got my notification from Tower that my RF9 shipped today, Champagne Ill, is only about 60 miles away so hopping I'll have it tomorrow!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 08-22-2019, 06:02 AM
wvynck wvynck is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 18
I get a free version of the Realflight 9 because i buy’d the 8 on july 30 with the Interlink® X-controller.

My question is, with Realflight 9 i going to use my Spektrum DX6i controller. So i don’t need my Realflight 8 and Interlink controller any more.

Is it OK and legal to sell the package?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-22-2019, 06:49 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvynck View Post
I get a free version of the Realflight 9 because i buy’d the 8 on july 30 with the Interlink® X-controller.

My question is, with Realflight 9 i going to use my Spektrum DX6i controller. So i don’t need my Realflight 8 and Interlink controller any more.

Is it OK and legal to sell the package?

Thanks
You can simply contact tech support and have them unregister your copy of RF8. Then go ahead and sell it.

Last edited by csgill75; 08-22-2019 at 10:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-22-2019, 11:35 AM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,980
I would suggest that the DX6i is not a great choice for the new RF9 software. You need more channels to do things with the new aircraft.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-22-2019, 12:03 PM
wvynck wvynck is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12oclockhigh View Post
I would suggest that the DX6i is not a great choice for the new RF9 software. You need more channels to do things with the new aircraft.
I’m just a beginner to fly with drones. So i think that the channels of the DX6i would be enough to start? What kind of Spektrum DX would be the ‘best’ for later on?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 AM.