Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:06 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,464
If you want to use my method, create the whole wing. No need to create each individual rib at the moment. Granted, you will use way more polys than if you bumped it, but if you would like some help, let me know. Ill also look at your file if you want to send it. Just let me know and Ill PM you my email addy.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:35 PM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
FYI, RF doesn't have an RAF 14 in its airfoil database. It does have a RAF 15. If you can find the rest of the specs (or data points) for the RAF 14, I'll see if I can find a closer match.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-10-2012, 01:16 AM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by abaser View Post
If you want to use my method, create the whole wing. No need to create each individual rib at the moment. Granted, you will use way more polys than if you bumped it, but if you would like some help, let me know. Ill also look at your file if you want to send it. Just let me know and Ill PM you my email addy.
No need yet but thanks for the offer.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-10-2012, 01:18 AM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhk79 View Post
FYI, RF doesn't have an RAF 14 in its airfoil database. It does have a RAF 15. If you can find the rest of the specs (or data points) for the RAF 14, I'll see if I can find a closer match.
The Raf 15 is a pretty close match.

The coordinates for the RAF 14 are:

http://www.ds-cats.com/~kurisawa/aer...1/OO0153_A.txt

and the graphic of the shape:

http://www.ds-cats.com/~kurisawa/aer...1/OS0153_A.png

and for the RAF 15:

http://www.ds-cats.com/~kurisawa/aer...0/OO0003_A.txt

and the graphic of the shape:

http://www.ds-cats.com/~kurisawa/aer...0/OS0003_A.png

Last edited by Madratter; 04-10-2012 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-12-2012, 10:08 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
I know this doesn't look like much progress, but I have created the lower left wing. I was having some problems getting this to be smooth. When I would smooth, the coloring of the wing tip got much worse. It turned out I needed to redo some of the normals. Anyway, I think I now have it. Also, although it isn't obvious, the ailerons are actually ready to cut out. I have edges where I need them for that.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FE2bLowerWing.jpg (142.1 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-15-2012, 04:52 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Here is the latest. I now have both the upper and lower wing done, with the ailerons cut out. Progress continues to be slow, both because I need to learn to do things that were irrelevant with the flat foam planes I have done before, and because I am currently building a real Telink 44" Edge 540. I kind of sneak some modeling in, when I'm waiting for glue to dry on the Telink.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FE2bWingsAilerons.jpg (243.0 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-15-2012, 05:14 PM
willsonman's Avatar
willsonman willsonman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,953
I'm not sure how blender does edge specification but in wings it is referred to as hard and soft edges. In Max its called crease. You may want to look into it to help resolve the irregular shading you are seeing especially around the ailerons and wing trailing edge. Looking great though!
__________________
RF loading quote of the day:
Loading: Gerfiburlating Wonkevators ( have a screen shot to prove this one)
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-15-2012, 05:39 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,464
The word, in Blender, you are looking for is sharp.

MR, if you get stuck on something, give me a shout.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-15-2012, 05:53 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by willsonman View Post
I'm not sure how blender does edge specification but in wings it is referred to as hard and soft edges. In Max its called crease. You may want to look into it to help resolve the irregular shading you are seeing especially around the ailerons and wing trailing edge. Looking great though!
Quote:
Originally Posted by abaser View Post
The word, in Blender, you are looking for is sharp.

MR, if you get stuck on something, give me a shout.
Thanks guys. Yet more stuff to look up.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-15-2012, 06:02 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,464
Ill save you a little trouble here. Highlight the edges you want to have a defined edge, hit control E for edge options and hit mark sharp. You will not see any changes until you add an edge split modifier though. In that option box, only check the marked as sharp option. Ill post some screenys in the tip thread to show what I mean.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 04-15-2012, 06:05 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,464
Better yet, see post #4.

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...018#post226018
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-15-2012, 07:10 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Thanks again. Here I have added in the edge split modifiers with some sharp edges.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EdgeSplitModifiers.jpg (218.9 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04-15-2012, 09:22 PM
willsonman's Avatar
willsonman willsonman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,953
Much much better. As you use it more you will learn what edges will need it and what ones will not.
__________________
RF loading quote of the day:
Loading: Gerfiburlating Wonkevators ( have a screen shot to prove this one)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-24-2012, 10:19 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
I got a chance tonight to work on the Horizontal Stab and Elevator.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HorStabElev.jpg (237.2 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-28-2012, 08:52 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
This modeling stuff can be quite frustrating at times. Here is the really messed up rendering within RF6. Compare it to the rendering in Blender. I tried reassigning normals. It did not help. The colors are assigned (baked) not mapped, other than the box fuselage.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1335660467.jpg (493.6 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg OKColorAssigns.jpg (96.2 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 AM.