Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G4
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #136  
Old 07-14-2009, 05:22 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
yup ...........it all depends on "whats under the hood"
good analogy jeff
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:00 PM
crazy1's Avatar
crazy1 crazy1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
how many GB do you need to run rf smoothly? does it make a difference if its a desktop or laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:29 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Much of the performance is determined by the capability of your video card. But also, the message that you refer to shows up on everyone's installation.
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 07-14-2009, 06:32 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
How many Gigabytes your hard drive can store
does not really have as much bearing on the performance of your pc
It really depends on the speed of your Processor ,
The Graphics Card(and the size of its memory)
and system Ram

Desk Tops
dollar for dollar
have better performance than do
Lap Tops
Your graphics card is the main thing that determines "Quality"
when running a Graphics intense program

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 07-14-2009 at 06:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 07-14-2009, 07:18 PM
crazy1's Avatar
crazy1 crazy1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
can you change the graphics card in a lap top? i know very little about computers.
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 07-14-2009, 07:20 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Graphics cards in laptops are usually built into the motherboard. Desktop PCs are much more suited for gaming, and changing out parts.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 07-14-2009, 07:47 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Post the stats of your laptop.
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 07-14-2009, 08:30 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
You can find the components of you PC here:
Start\Control Panel\System\Hardware \Device Manager

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 07-14-2009 at 10:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 07-14-2009, 08:49 PM
crazy1's Avatar
crazy1 crazy1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
it has 4GB memory and 320 GB hardrive is there more you want to know about it
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 07-14-2009, 08:59 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Most important is the video card. Is it integrated in to the mother board? Any info on it would help alot.
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 07-14-2009, 09:25 PM
crazy1's Avatar
crazy1 crazy1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
where can i find this info on my pc its windows vista if that makes a difference
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 07-14-2009, 10:08 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy1
where can i find this info on my pc its windows vista if that makes a difference
See post #146
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 07-14-2009, 11:03 PM
crazy1's Avatar
crazy1 crazy1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
i searched everywhere and found nothing. i even searched for the words ''graphics card'' in several places and it came up with nothing. is a video card the same thing?
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 07-14-2009, 11:20 PM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Yes they are the same.

You want to got to start, control panel, system then the hardware tab, down to device manager and finally look up ( Display adapters). That is your video card....
__________________
I'd like to see a 2 file per day upload limit.

TN..
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 07-14-2009, 11:43 PM
crazy1's Avatar
crazy1 crazy1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
under display adapters it says mobile intel(r) 4 series Express Chipset Family does that sound right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 AM.