Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2007, 04:20 AM
maxkop's Avatar
maxkop maxkop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 775
Exclamation Gmax and Deep-Exploaration: Discussion Thread

Hello, and welcome to the Gmax and Deep-Exploaration Discussion - Thread
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2007, 04:57 AM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Thumbs up Maxkop.

This is to all that may want to try 3DSMAX 9. Autodesk offers a 30 day free trial with no water marks and resrictions at this url,

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...112&id=5972446


I still have 5 days left on my trial but luckily my buddy down in Silicon Valley gave me his FTTP addy and i now have a full copy of his to mess with.

The free trial is almost 600 mbs, so be ready for a fairly big download and it is for noncommercial use!

Never the less, I'll be following your tutorial very close.
Can't wait to learn. TN.............

Last edited by tnorton12000; 01-02-2007 at 05:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2007, 05:06 AM
maxkop's Avatar
maxkop maxkop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 775
In the tutorial we will firstly work with the demo version of Deep Exploration, so that every designer can test it directly on their computer. Of course the 3dsmax 7 or 8 demo works perfectly with the .kex plugin. But if you model a complicate aircraft, you really need more than 30 days. 3dsmax 9 doesn't work with the .kex plugin, which was mentioned by another user (don't know which designer posted this very important fact, before someone is buying a 3500$ software). Whatever software you use, it's clear that you will pay really less money, than for 3dsmax, no matter which version of Deep Exploration or program bundle you take
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2007, 06:06 AM
Norton's Avatar
Norton Norton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CA,
Posts: 3,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkop
In the tutorial we will firstly work with the demo version of Deep Exploration, so that every designer can test it directly on their computer. Of course the 3dsmax 7 or 8 demo works perfectly with the .kex plugin. But if you model a complicate aircraft, you really need more than 30 days. 3dsmax 9 doesn't work with the .kex plugin, which was mentioned by another user (don't know which designer posted this very important fact, before someone is buying a 3500$ software). Whatever software you use, it's clear that you will pay really less money, than for 3dsmax, no matter which version of Deep Exploration or program bundle you take
I guess it's good my friend sent me version 8 then. Want me to delete that version 9 post so as not to make confusion?

TN..........
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2007, 06:20 AM
maxkop's Avatar
maxkop maxkop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 775
No, no. I think it would be a good idea to let it be here. If others are thinking on 3dsmax 9 and want to ask the same question, or using the search function of the forum to find out if version 9 of 3dsmax is useable with the .kex - plugin

If you are searching for a 3dsmax demo, which is not hundred of MB big simply take version 7 from here

The size is only 85,1 MB and works with the .kex - plugin very well

Last edited by maxkop; 01-02-2007 at 06:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2007, 11:22 PM
JCHarrist's Avatar
JCHarrist JCHarrist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 161
Great tutorial Max! I followed it step by step all the way to the end . The only step I'm not sure about is applying the texture in Deep Exploration.

I went ahead and tried to convert and I got "The model uses too few bitmaps. Please reconfigure the model to use exactly one bitmap.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2007, 09:09 PM
blademaster2444 blademaster2444 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkop
3dsmax 9 doesn't work with the .kex plugin
do you now if there is a way to get .kex to work with 3dsmax 9 or how to change it to something that will work with 3dsmax 9?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:26 PM
maxkop's Avatar
maxkop maxkop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 775
As I said before, I only read here in the forum somebody saying the .kex - plugin will not work with 3dsmax 9. In fact, I haven't tested it with the demo version. Perhaps the command - line .kex - exporter can handle the .3ds - file generated by 3dsmax 9. It's not clear. Probably I will download the demo and test this stuff.

I'm testing also Blender at the moment. The generated .3ds - file from the integrated .3ds - exporter make a .3ds - file you can also edit under Deep Exploration. This file is looking much better, but there are no Pivots or Nodes generated. While the Pivot - Problem can be solved, the Node - Problem can only be solved by changing the code of the .kex - exporter or the code of the blender .3ds - exporter. I must work deeper in some blender tutorials and see what blender does, when it converts it's own file format to a .3ds - file.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:33 PM
koo_04 koo_04 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to koo_04
Ok. I got it to work on this laptop. But now Deep Exp. isnt installing =/ It did on the other one.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:22 PM
maxkop's Avatar
maxkop maxkop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 775
Ok Do you have problems with the installation routine of Deep Exploration, or do you simply not find it in the Program's menue? Like I said in the tutorial: DE has problems generating the right shortcuts under winxp. You should find it on your system under C:\Program Files\Right Hemisphere\Deep Exploration\Deep Exploration.exe
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:37 PM
koo_04 koo_04 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to koo_04
The set up. After the agrement i pres next and it goes blank and stays that way. it MIGHT me cause its a lap top. But I donno for shure. On the other comp its still giveing me weird problems. When I can get ahold of my third comp Ill try it asn see wat happen's.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:58 AM
maxkop's Avatar
maxkop maxkop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 775
What type of windows system you are using at the moment?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:58 AM
koo_04 koo_04 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to koo_04
XP. Hopfally vista in a few weeks. On the laptop it is XP also
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-13-2007, 01:49 PM
koo_04 koo_04 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to koo_04
Time of this report: 1/13/2007, 09:46:51
Machine name: LAPTOP
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: IBM
System Model: 27222JU
BIOS: Phoenix FirstBIOS(tm) Notebook Pro Version 2.0 for IBM ThinkPad
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1300MHz
Memory: 766MB RAM
Page File: 319MB used, 1556MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

Thats all of the dxdiag info.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:53 AM
airman122469 airman122469 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
?????

I still get that error message, I have a picture in a word file attached so you guys can look at it. I don't understand why I'm still getting that error.
Attached Files
File Type: doc Doc2.doc (77.0 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.