Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 8
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-07-2020, 07:41 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle twist View Post
It`s possible that my editor is different, I`m in RF6, SO, I don`t know if the editor changed between RF6 and RF8 versions, it`s possible..???, but to my knowledge, it didn`t change, but the basics should still be the same, even if the layout is different.....
The editor layout changed in RF7. It has the Same features but it's laid out differently.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-07-2020, 01:48 PM
downwindleg downwindleg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 16
O.K. thanks for the input uncle twist. Also thanks to asj5547 for the P-38 Lightning Heavy and all the input. I will check it out tonight for sure. So the actual P-38 model I hope to fly this spring/summer has a 100" wingspan and is mostly fiberglass and balsa covered foam wings with light fiberglassing over them. Actual all up weight is about 38lbs. however Mike(ragtop 70) said I should set the RF 8 to about 50- 55lbs. to get the simulater P-38 to fly more like the real one. Props are 20" 3 blade vario pitch with hefty electric motors @160 kv on 10s bateries(two 5s each). As mentioned before, you can see the plane being built with some taxi and brake tests being conducted towards the end of the thread. It is in RC Groups- Yellow Aircraft P-38 rebirth and conversion. Mine is the second plane built from a kit instead of rebuilt from a crashed gas P-38 like the earlier one.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-09-2020, 02:51 PM
downwindleg downwindleg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 16
Hi asj5547, I tried P-38 heavy last night. Still haven't gotten the flaps to work yet but it flies O.K. Any way to just make the whole plane heavier without doing it one part at a time? I wish there was a P-38 out there that already fit the parameters I mentioned but I'll keep plugging away. BTW thanks for everyone's help.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-09-2020, 03:18 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by downwindleg View Post
Hi asj5547, I tried P-38 heavy last night. Still haven't gotten the flaps to work yet but it flies O.K. Any way to just make the whole plane heavier without doing it one part at a time? I wish there was a P-38 out there that already fit the parameters I mentioned but I'll keep plugging away. BTW thanks for everyone's help.
You can add weight masses in the editor to the plane and place them where you want.
For example while in the editor click and highlight the fuselage. Then above click on Component - Add - Mass
You can then move it around, size it, and adjust the weight.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-10-2020, 10:37 AM
asj5547 asj5547 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 868
Flaps are on the knob control, rotate clockwise for flaps down.
As BrokeDad quite rightly says, you can add weights or increase weights of any parts to fine tune flight physics to your liking.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-10-2020, 02:00 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,455
Something to try might be creating a MASS and then moving the MASS object to the CG shown on the plane in the editor then it seems you could add weight without affecting the CG from that MASS object. I haven't tried it before but it seems it would work that way.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01-10-2020, 03:14 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoid View Post
Something to try might be creating a MASS and then moving the MASS object to the CG shown on the plane in the editor then it seems you could add weight without affecting the CG from that MASS object. I haven't tried it before but it seems it would work that way.
I`ve used that method quite a few times, it works real good...
__________________
If you are not a part of the solution, you ARE.... part of the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 AM.