Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 8
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2019, 08:37 PM
PilotAt6 PilotAt6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mich - Lower
Posts: 44
Migration Tool Needed

Lot's of work has been accomplished on custom aircraft privately and on this forum.
I'm disappointed that a migration tool has not yet been developed. I'm thinking that it needed to be available at launch. It's a pain to transfer files manually, and sometimes does not "take" the first time, and files need be over-written.
Will we see one soon ???
My $0.02
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2019, 12:54 PM
PilotAt6 PilotAt6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mich - Lower
Posts: 44
Is a Migration Tool in RF9 ???

Does Realflight 9 include a migration tool?
Are we still waiting to migrate Realflight 7 to RF8 or 9.

Anyone using RF9 see differences worthy of purchase ???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2019, 01:40 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 488
The DX controller is major, IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2019, 03:15 PM
PilotAt6 PilotAt6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mich - Lower
Posts: 44
Just took a look, and yes the controller is the upgrade. Hadn't checked that out . Nice marketing approach though.

So I take it we are still waiting for the migration software ???
No updates on editing or developing features !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2019, 04:50 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 488
Adding more textures would be nice.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2019, 06:23 PM
PilotAt6 PilotAt6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mich - Lower
Posts: 44
I'm waiting for a "IF This Then That" argument in their plane editor.

or

"If Then Else" statement
or

The" Multi Mixer" with more options other than "ADD"

and

More variables being readily available ( current altitude, current attitude, current speed, current rpm, etc.) accessible with the" IF" statement. That would open up some easier editing. Wishful thinking and, I would agree, from the minority of users.

I'd settle on a Easy Airplane editor/creator specifically designed for Real Flight

my $0.015 worth.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2019, 04:09 PM
PilotAt6 PilotAt6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mich - Lower
Posts: 44
Anyone having success with migration.
I take it that a program for transferring files was not included with the RF9 "Upgrade". Just the new controller interface!

Are we still waiting, or has someone figured it out.
I was exporting each plane as .rfx then importing one by one, but have over 100 custom aircraft to transfer, and my RF 7 controller is gone so I cannot do that now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2019, 05:18 PM
legoman's Avatar
legoman legoman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW, Florida
Posts: 1,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotAt6 View Post
Anyone having success with migration.
I take it that a program for transferring files was not included with the RF9 "Upgrade". Just the new controller interface!

Are we still waiting, or has someone figured it out.
I was exporting each plane as .rfx then importing one by one, but have over 100 custom aircraft to transfer, and my RF 7 controller is gone so I cannot do that now.
It can be done in 20 or 30 minutes if you copy the vehicles folder from RF7 to RF 9 the open all the .colorscheme files and .bse files and change all the Realflight 7 occuracnes with Realflight 9. I recommend notepad++ it can handle a coulpe hundred files at once and using CTRL+F and using the replace function. it can be done in as short as 5 minutes
__________________
Even pigs and bricks will fly with enough thrust.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2019, 08:04 PM
PilotAt6 PilotAt6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mich - Lower
Posts: 44
Thanks for the info Legoman !!
I will try that … better than what I was doing.

Bet it will take me longer though … until I get the hang of it.
Don't have notepad++ that I know of, but will search for it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2019, 12:05 AM
PilotAt6 PilotAt6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mich - Lower
Posts: 44
Migrating RF7.5 to RF8

Legoman …
Downloaded notepad++
Went thru the process several times … no success.

The files do not show up in "Real Flight 8's" aircraft list.

What I did find was:
1.) The .bse files are not in the director I thought was being used (see item 2). Using explorer/find … I can find them, but they don't list .

2.) I moved the vehicle files to: ThisPC/Documents/Realflight8/vehicles
From: ThisPC/Documents/Realflight7/vehicles

3.) The .bse files are located:
ThisPC/DriveC/users/owners/documents/realflight8/vehicles/custommodels ( do not list and are not read only or hidden)

4.) I also have a realflight 7 directory as above.
5.) Not sure why I have two Realflight 8 (and 7) directories
6.) Checked the colorscheme and bse files (opened thru explorer/notepad) and realflight 8 appears in the file(s), so they were changed.

Did I move the "vehicles file" from/ to the wrong directory? There are 5700+ files !

Last edited by PilotAt6; 12-15-2019 at 12:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-15-2019, 01:12 AM
legoman's Avatar
legoman legoman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW, Florida
Posts: 1,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotAt6 View Post
Legoman
Downloaded notepad++
Went thru the process several times no success.

The files do not show up in "Real Flight 8's" aircraft list.

What I did find was:
1.) The .bse files are not in the director I thought was being used (see item 2). Using explorer/find I can find them, but they don't list .

2.) I moved the vehicle files to: ThisPC/Documents/Realflight8/vehicles
From: ThisPC/Documents/Realflight7/vehicles

3.) The .bse files are located:
ThisPC/DriveC/users/owners/documents/realflight8/vehicles/custommodels ( do not list and are not read only or hidden)

4.) I also have a realflight 7 directory as above.
5.) Not sure why I have two Realflight 8 (and 7) directories
6.) Checked the colorscheme and bse files (opened thru explorer/notepad) and realflight 8 appears in the file(s), so they were changed.

Did I move the "vehicles file" from/ to the wrong directory? There are 5700+ files !
No....I think you did it right. I may have forgot something

Are you saying you have two RF8 and two rf7 directories?

Did the colorschemes (.colorscheme, .tga, and .dds), custom models(.bse and Folders of models), and Custom vehicles(.rfvehicle) folders have every thing moved.

Did you accedenally edit the rf7 folder?

It has been covered before near the start of a version. sorry not really sure what I forgot
__________________
Even pigs and bricks will fly with enough thrust.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-15-2019, 02:51 PM
Bill Stuntz's Avatar
Bill Stuntz Bill Stuntz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 407
Send a message via ICQ to Bill Stuntz
It's been a while, but if I recall correctly you should have RF7&8 directories under your documents directory and also under program files (x86) - there are some files you need from both places. And some of the files contain hard links to the rf7 directories that need to be changed to point into the rf8 directories instead.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-15-2019, 05:27 PM
PilotAt6 PilotAt6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mich - Lower
Posts: 44
Thanks for the reply's!

Yes I have two RF7 and RF8 directories. ( and RF6 … plus a backup file I created before I started all this … just in case)

* The .bse files are in both directories and have RealFlight 8 updated.(just confirmed) I did use a space after Realflight as it was with the Realflight 7 in the files.

* C:/owner/users/documents/rf8/vehicles/custommodels was listed as a subdirectory of the other and I was denied direct access when I tried a replace function, but it was updated somewhere along the way.

* I have a Realflight 8 directory in C:Programs(x86) also that seems to contain all the launcher files

However, none of the aircraft files are accessible in the program.

The only way I have been successful, is creating an .RFX file and importing.

Last edited by PilotAt6; 12-15-2019 at 05:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.