Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 8
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2019, 06:21 PM
Dan F Dan F is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Harrison, Maine, USA
Posts: 16
RF 8 Physics

I want to edit the location of the flight battery on some electrics in RF8 in order to change the flight characteristics. I can see that there are "X"," Y" and "Z" values that I can change, but the manual doesn't describe what each of these do. Which value do I change to move the battery forward /aft; and do I increase or decrease those values to accomplish this ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2019, 06:50 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan F View Post
I want to edit the location of the flight battery on some electrics in RF8 in order to change the flight characteristics. I can see that there are "X"," Y" and "Z" values that I can change, but the manual doesn't describe what each of these do. Which value do I change to move the battery forward /aft; and do I increase or decrease those values to accomplish this ?
That would be Y. You can click on it and use the mouse wheel and you will see it move in the model above. You can also type in values. Z is up/down and X is side to side.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2019, 06:51 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 488
Positive Y to move it forward.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2019, 12:01 PM
Flapper Flapper is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 210
For any of these measurements, I have to always remind myself. Doesn't seem intuitive to use the "Y" axis for front to back. Easiest is to pick some major aircraft component, and note its current position, then change one value by a large-ish amount - see where it moves to in the wireframe view. Undo the change, or exit without saving. Then you'll know.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2019, 07:19 PM
Cloud9 Cloud9 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
It's kind of set up like you were running a CNC machine, or using something like Autodesk 360 on a computer, with regard to X Y and Z planes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 AM.