Go Back   Knife Edge > Inactive forums > RealFlight Swap Pages > RealFlight G3 > Aircraft
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2006, 01:10 PM
Teisco Teisco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 91
Byron B-25J "Old Hawk Nose"

Here is another version of the Byron B-25J. This is a seperate model from the first version and has a solid nose rather than windowed. This bomber was a favorite in the Striking Back show and was eventually involved in a midair with another B-25.

This G3 model fly's very similar to the Byron B-25 and looks great in Realflight.

No addon needed, this model will work in standard G3 with latest updates.

Beautiful B-25 model and conversion by InkyOO, flight dynamics by Paul Grubich.

Download custom rcwarbird Byron B-25 to your desktop. There should now be a GX3 file on your desktop for the Byron B-25. Go into G3 program and select "Import" from the file list. Select the B-25J_EA.g3x file you have on your desktop. Go into the Custom aircraft select section to find it. Make sure your Realflight controller throttle trim is all the way up or you will not have full power.



Link to video of the real Byron B-25J in action: http://www.veoh.com/videoDetails.html?v=e67749tCBcR8sg
Attached Files
File Type: g3x B-25J_EA.g3x (1.88 MB, 603 views)
__________________
www.rcwarbirds.com
  #2  
Old 05-26-2006, 05:54 PM
ozzy8211978 ozzy8211978 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
modfing b25

put a DA150 320 FOR TORQUE POWER 129 PROPSCALE 70 OUNCE TANK IT FLYS A LOT BETTER
  #3  
Old 05-26-2006, 05:55 PM
ozzy8211978 ozzy8211978 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
modfing b25

Happy Flying :d
  #4  
Old 05-26-2006, 06:02 PM
Teisco Teisco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 91
Sure, you can put a jet engine in it also. The plane was tweaked to fly like the original Byron B-25J and gives you the chance to fly something you never could in real life.

It takes a bit of skill to fly this plane correctly. Maybe you should try a smaller, easier plane.
__________________
www.rcwarbirds.com
  #5  
Old 05-26-2006, 06:07 PM
ozzy8211978 ozzy8211978 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Talking I Hear That

I Now A Pearson That Bult A B25 That Sise And That What He Had In It Thas Why I Did The Modif It
  #6  
Old 05-27-2006, 11:10 AM
El Capitan El Capitan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
That is a GREAT plane, nice job building that one! I like scale aircraft now. How can I add wheel brakes?
  #7  
Old 05-27-2006, 12:57 PM
harv's Avatar
harv harv is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: surrey B.C.
Posts: 392
i put 2 turbo props on it, flys just like it used to(like the stock version)
  #8  
Old 05-27-2006, 11:44 PM
r1derbike's Avatar
r1derbike r1derbike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 1,303
Just a note, from an old fart:

Model airplanes of old airplanes are flown at meets, just like their full-sized counterparts. Very scale-like, and true to their brethren.

It takes skill and restraint (because if horsed-around, the scale models will crash) to fly these models in that manner. It is a way of flying diametrically opposed to the overpowered, light-as-a-feather aerobats we have today, and most of us who fly these planes have become jaded, expecting this level of performance from ANY airplane we encounter.

I'm old enough to have seen many of the "old" WW airplanes fly, if only at air shows and exhibitions, in some cases. Seeing models flown like their full-size counterparts, is profound, to say the least.

I can only imagine the experience actual pilots of the long abandoned military aircraft have, upon flying, or seeing flown, the lead-sleds of days gone by.

It should remind us of where we are today, and those days should not be forgotten...

Charles
__________________
"Sometimes, I run out of altitude and airspeed...at the same time!"

http://photobucket.com/albums/v402/r1derbike

Click on sub albums at right sidebar.
  #9  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:07 AM
Teisco Teisco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 91
Very well stated.
__________________
www.rcwarbirds.com
  #10  
Old 05-28-2006, 02:20 PM
P-Diddy P-Diddy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Agreed. Well said.
  #11  
Old 05-28-2006, 03:42 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Capitan
That is a GREAT plane, nice job building that one! I like scale aircraft now. How can I add wheel brakes?
Add a brake servo.

(add a new servo and rename it to "brake servo" to make things obvious.)

Assign the Brake servo to each of the wheels.

Assign a braking percentage (how much braking effect is applied...) use a value of about 60-80%.

Add another radio channel. e.g. channel 8

Set Channel 8 to have a "complex" input.

Set the "input" to get it's reading from the throttle.

Edit the Curve so that it has 5 or 7 "points" on the curve.

Set point 1 to 140% and all the others to -100. In other words you want the throttle feed to the brake servo to have the INVERSE effect, but only be active fully down.

Now with the throttle pulled fully back you will have brakes.

There are many planes on the swap pages with brakes already that you can use as an example.

Last edited by opjose; 06-15-2006 at 06:19 PM.
  #12  
Old 05-28-2006, 07:25 PM
Kmot's Avatar
Kmot Kmot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy8211978
I Now A Pearson That Bult A B25 That Sise And That What He Had In It Thas Why I Did The Modif It
__________________
It's a simulator, not a video game! err.... umm....
  #13  
Old 05-28-2006, 08:03 PM
WingsWest328's Avatar
WingsWest328 WingsWest328 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Send a message via AIM to WingsWest328
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy8211978
I Now A Pearson That Bult A B25 That Sise And That What He Had In It Thas Why I Did The Modif It
.....hmm
__________________
FLY NAVY
  #14  
Old 06-14-2006, 09:37 PM
El Capitan El Capitan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Hmmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose
Add a brake servo.

Assing the Brake servo to each of the wheels (this is obvious). Assign a braking percentage (how much braking effect is applied...) use a value of about 60-80%.

Add another radio channel. e.g. channel 8

Set Channel 8 to have a "complex" input.

Set the "input" to get it's reading from the throttle.

Edit the Curve so that it has 5 or 7 "points" on the curve.

Set point 1 to 140% and all the others to -100. In other words you want the throttle feed to the brake servo to have the INVERSE effect, but only be active fully down.

Now with the throttle pulled fully back you will have brakes.


There are many planes on the swap pages with brakes already that you can use as an example.



When I go to add a servo there is no brake servo in the list of servos to choose from.
  #15  
Old 06-15-2006, 06:17 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
You have to add one...

See: http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13105
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:46 AM.