Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 8
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2018, 12:43 PM
gibsonlane gibsonlane is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
Taranis setup for Realflight 8

Has anyone figured out how to get the X9D+ to work correctly with 8?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2018, 12:59 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,896
I am not sure that this link will help but give it a look; http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30487

Also, it might help to list in this thread the version of the software you purchased so someone might help you better.

After everything is working, it would be a lot of help if you would post what you did in the thread mentioned above.

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2018, 11:04 AM
gibsonlane gibsonlane is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
I have the digital download of RealFlight 8. I have followed the instructions for RealFlight 7 in the link and all the channels seem to be mixed up gonna play with it and see if I can figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2018, 01:24 PM
gibsonlane gibsonlane is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
What I have so far for RF8 channel inputs
Ch 1 - makes camera look down slightly
Ch 2 - brings up quick menu side bar
Ch 3 - navigate menu up
Ch 4 - no idea....thought it would be navigate menu down
Ch 5 - Ailerons
Ch 6 - Elevator (needs to be reversed in radio output)
Ch 7 - Rudder
Ch 8 - Throttle (needs to be reversed in radio output)

Past that I'm not sure. It's the bare minimum to fly but at least I'm flying.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2018, 10:45 AM
Flapper Flapper is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 146
I just tried with my Taranis Plus. Using 2.2.1 software, both on the TX and Companion. RF 8.

I followed these instructions which work well: http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...hlight=taranis

Some notes:

Make sure under Setup for the model, it is set for "slave" mode, and channels 1-8.

Make sure under Inputs, I1=A, I2=E, I3=T, I4=R
Nope, there will be no more than 4 channels possible here.

In the Mixes tab, the above should track: CH1 = I1:Ail Weight(+100%), etc.
For channels 5-8 in mixes, make sure the source is the switch/slider you want to use, with a weight of 100%. (You'll assign what it does in RF). Just set it as the source, leave the "switch" line blank.

I have mine cabled from the Taranis to the Interlink using the buddy box cord from RF.

In RF, choose the new TX - use the Futaba profile to start. Calibrate the sticks. Edit the profile, reversing what needs to be reversed (mine needed none). Assign what you want ch 5-8 to control (flip your switches while in the Edit screen to see which line is active, and then select whatever Realflight channel you want for that one).

Check the "Enable Radio Mixes" and "Enable Dual Rates and Expo" boxes IF you want to do those tasks in RF and not on the Taranis.

Go fly.

Taranis does have a "Joystick" mode, that may be an alternative to the above, but I haven't played with that at all.....

Last edited by Flapper; 01-22-2018 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2018, 12:47 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,896
Nice Job Flapper, I will post this in the radio setup thread.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2018, 12:18 AM
Flapper Flapper is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 146
Silly Taranis - there is always another way to do something.

Referring to the previous setup instructions for details, you can instead skip making the TX a slave. Keep both RF modules turned off - no need to transmit, and it saves battery. With it as a Master, you can define channels 1-8 for your sticks and sliders. In the mixer, do the same for 1-8, and then you can continue on, defining as many as 24 additional switches as before, for controlling functions in RF. In this variant, the order of the channels is not important, as long as the order listed on the input tab for ch1-8 match the order for 1-8 on the mixer tab.
Burn your model (assuming you are using Companion), unplug and turn off the TX.

Now, turn on the TX, and select your new model. Just plug a normal USB into the Taranis (the same that you use for Companion). No need to get into bootloader mode, like you do for Companion. The TX screen will prompt for Joystick or Mass Storage. Pick Joystick. Windows will detect it and set it up as a joystick/gamepad. No need to have any RF interface box (wired or wireless) at all.

Open RF. Go to "Select Controller". You'll now see a new Gamepad device. Pick Configure, and you are given a screen to tell RF what channel to map to what RF function. Wiggle your sticks and assign A,E,R,T as appropriate. Flip your switches and assign which ones are smoke, reset, etc., etc. Note that in RF you can have 8 proportional channels, and 24 buttons/switches - same as the Taranis.

So now you can have as much control over RF as the Interlink sold with it - probably more, as you have more buttons, switches and sliders available.

From here, as above, you can start exploring either doing mixing/dual rates/expo etc., etc. on the Taranis, using the RF software radio in the Airplane Designer, or a combination of both.

Last edited by Flapper; 01-23-2018 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2018, 12:27 AM
Flapper Flapper is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 146
And, to circle back to the original post - this may be where the issue is. Go into Realflight, and check the configuration mappings for your Taranis (or whatever generic name Realflight gave it). You very well may have the functions you listed assigned to inappropriate channels coming from the Taranis. Just juggle things around to get it straightened out in RF.

Last edited by Flapper; 01-23-2018 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2018, 06:04 PM
DumbThumbs's Avatar
DumbThumbs DumbThumbs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5
RF8 on Taranis plus with 2.2.1

Hi all ... brand new to this
Just stumbled through it and thought I'd share .

. Set up new model named RF8 or whatever
. accept most defaults .. except ...
. Internal RF Mode OFF
. External RF Mode OFF
. Trainer Mode Slave/Jack
. Channal Range 1-8

I know these seem backwards.. but.... this is what RealFlight 8 wanted.
Works perfect with planes and Helicopters


INPUTS
1 100 SwitchD name equals AUX2
2 100 SC Aux1 gear
3 100 SB Flap
4 100 SA Rates
5 100 Rud Rudder
6 100 Thr Throttle
7 100 Ele Elevator
8 100 Ail Aileron

MIXER
1 100 SD
2 100 SC
3 100 SB
4 100 SA
5 100 Rud Rudder
6 100 Thr Thrittle
7 100 Ele Elevator
8 100 Ail Aileron

OUTPUTS
1
2
3
4
5 Rud
6 Thr
7 Ele
8 Ail

These settings applied directly into Real Flight 8 when I chose Interlink as the controller in RF8.
In RF* controller setup ... reverse the channels 5 7 8
The 4 switches on Taranis corrispond to Realflight 8 .....
SA = Rates
SB Flaps
SC Aux1 - Gear - smoke
SD Aux2 - canope

I needed to Use the Zadiq script to install correct windows usb drivers .

TX Companion works fine using the 3 finger boogie.. then plug in usb cord.

IMPORTANT FOR REAL FLIGHT 8
Turn on Taranis Plus the regular way (just turn on the switch) ... clear all alarms .....
Choose the RF8 Model (or whatever you named your sim model) that you created.
Plug in usb cable.
choice of Joystick(HID) or USB Storage (SD) ..........CHOOSE JOYSTICK.
Turn on Real Flight 8 ..... enjoy.

When using the usb cable this way... Taranis does NOT ask you to hit the "safely eject media" button .....
.... but .... I would anyway.

hope this helps.

Kit

Last edited by DumbThumbs; 03-19-2018 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2018, 12:02 PM
TrueBuild TrueBuild is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flapper View Post
Silly Taranis - there is always another way to do something.
Is it possible to mimic the action of the reset button that is on the RF interface by using a switch on the Taranis?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-13-2018, 01:12 PM
flexible2g's Avatar
flexible2g flexible2g is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: arlington, texas,76015
Posts: 687
The space bar
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-13-2018, 04:03 PM
Flapper Flapper is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueBuild View Post
Is it possible to mimic the action of the reset button that is on the RF interface by using a switch on the Taranis?
Yes - using the USB connection I detailed above, you can assign any RF function to any switch. I'm using the momentary switch "SF" for reset.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-13-2018, 04:14 PM
adrenoline 60 adrenoline 60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 644
Does the reassigned reset also allow the rewind capability?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-14-2018, 11:34 PM
Flapper Flapper is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenoline 60 View Post
Does the reassigned reset also allow the rewind capability?
Yes.

But you have to program a separate switch for the "seek" function during rewind, like the up/down arrows the Interlink-X has, if you want to use that also.

It would be kind of entertaining in the Taranis to write a logical function to allow one of the switches to be normally used for some flight function, but when you hold the defined reset switch to activate rewind, the second switch automagically becomes the up/down "seek" button in RF instead. Should be pretty straight forward.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-04-2018, 07:20 PM
digata digata is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
same prob

Hi ive setup the x9d plus and i can not calibrate it so can not use it in rf8 as no way to set the trim
Look
rccal.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 PM.