Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2005, 06:32 PM
tofuComputer tofuComputer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
How Do I Get Started With Editing Graphics for Aircraft?

I know this question must have been asked and answered many times but I am unable to find the post.
Can someone please tell me (or paste in the thread) how I can make my own color schemes for aircraft?
Thanks,
TC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2005, 09:28 PM
vitek's Avatar
vitek vitek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 942
I believe you need to have version 3.00.366 [the helicopter update] for the color schemes support. Most likely you already have this, but I'm just checking...

Load up the aircraft that you want to make a color scheme for. Click Aircraft | Save Color Scheme As... from the menu bar. You will be prompted for a color scheme name. Enter a name and click OK.

Now open up Windows Explorer and browse to your RealFlight installation directory [probably C:\Program Files\RealFlightG3] and open the ColorSchemes subdirectory. You will find a .tga file in there. That is the file that you need to edit.

You will need image editing software to do the rest. Lots of guys use Paint Shop Pro or PhotoShop. You can use other freeware or shareware tools too, I just don't know the names of any...

Travis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:14 PM
Rick Delten's Avatar
Rick Delten Rick Delten is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 147
Heres an example...

tofuComputer heres an example of what a user modified .tga file looks like, then in the second pic what it looks like on the plane. You'll notice that in some cases you'll need to reverse or mirror your graphics or text or it will show up backwards on the plane. Its been my experience that the best method for editing schemes is to have your PaintShop (or Photoshop) open and G3 running at the same time using dual monitors (or alt-tab if your using single monitor). That way you can see your changes almost instantly on the aircraft as you go by saving your file in PaintShop then refreshing the colorscheme in the G3 aircraft editor. Youll also want to create a folder to keep all the various logos and vector graphics that you create so that they can be re-used on other projects and so that you only have to create them once! (see attached pic of some of the vector graphics I have created). Finally try to work in multiple "layers" some of the colorschemes I made have dozens of named layers like "red stripe", "blue star" or "airtronics logo" etc.

Good Luck!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Yak-54~EXAMPLE.jpg (191.5 KB, 108 views)
File Type: jpg Image3.jpg (196.3 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg Image4.jpg (214.7 KB, 90 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:05 PM
tofuComputer tofuComputer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Hey, thanks for the pointers! I"m glad to know that this will be possible for me.
I work as a graphics designer and have a Mac, duel monitors and Photoshop CS2, so all the toys are available to me.
If you don't mind, would you send me your Photoshop file? My address is (without the spaces, etc): d o u g l a s at netsolis dot com.
Thanks!
DC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:49 PM
Rick Delten's Avatar
Rick Delten Rick Delten is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 147
Which file, the yak scheme? The .tga file is over 16megs for the Yak, I could send you the files so that you could get G3 to spit out a new .tga file on your PC instead.

Last edited by Rick Delten; 11-15-2005 at 12:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:53 PM
tofuComputer tofuComputer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Doesn't matter. I'd just like to have the layered .psd file.
Thanks,
DC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:55 PM
Rick Delten's Avatar
Rick Delten Rick Delten is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 147
Sorry I don't keep the layered files after paintjob is finished, just the .tga file. I also use .psp (paint sho pro) files..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:57 PM
tofuComputer tofuComputer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Ok, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2005, 01:02 PM
Rick Delten's Avatar
Rick Delten Rick Delten is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 147
I just sent you a psd file of a colorscheme that I was working on but never finished.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 PM.