Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 08-03-2013, 01:32 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
Your avatar is very accurate today !....good choice
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 08-03-2013, 01:36 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
I suppose so.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:32 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Cessna is in holding pattern

Ok as you may know I have been having strange issues with 3ds max throughout this cessna project.

I have been trying to reinstall 3ds max alllll daaaay loooong and I keep getting the same error message right at the very end of the install (see screen grab).

I have re-downloaded the 3ds max install file 3 times now from 2 different browsers and that didn't help. I disabled UAC and windows defender and still no go. I am running on windows 8 pro 64.

Anyone able to help?
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (18.0 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:35 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Is this a new installation file you have recently downloaded or is it on physical media?
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:37 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Hey wonder your sig should read "There are 0010 types of people in this world. Those that understand binary and those that don't"
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:38 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boof69 View Post
Is this a new installation file you have recently downloaded or is it on physical media?
Downloaded from autodesk.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:38 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Have you redownloaded the file?
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:43 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Yes 3 times.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:46 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Well now I got another error?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (75.1 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:57 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Ok. I think that prior installs are not being thoroughly removed from your computer. I've had this problem before. First you need to uninstall the standard way. Then you should go to "folder and search options" and check "Show hidden files,folders, and drives". Then go to your boot drive:Users/(Your user name)/AppData/LocalLow and delete the Autodesk folder. Assuming it is the only autodesk product you have. Then go to boot drive:Users/(Your user name)/AppData/Roaming and delete the autodesk folder there.
Once that is done I clean my registry of any traces. Go to your registry editor and go to HKEY_CLASSES_USER/Software and delete the autodesk entry. then also at HKEY_USERS/Software. Then reboot and try to re install max. It's what worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 08-03-2013, 03:00 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Ok will try that thanks.

BTW I did finally get it to install but it gave me the 64bit (useless) version argh!
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 08-03-2013, 03:09 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Ok it finally installed 32bit version before I could try boof's suggestions. The software is acting worse than the previous install already. I opened my 3D model and the screen "artifacts" started happening immediately instead of minutes later like it was doing before re install. I took a screen-grab of the problem.

Note this only happens with 32bit versions of max I can run 64bit all day long with zero issues?
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (359.9 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 08-03-2013, 03:16 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Have you tried the Direct 3D viewport driver to see if it still happens?
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 08-03-2013, 03:30 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boof69 View Post
Have you tried the Direct 3D viewport driver to see if it still happens?
Just tried direct 3d, still happening. Also updated my nvidia card driver and zero change.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 08-03-2013, 03:31 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Every time I select an object then click "hide selection" it leaves the artifacts behind.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (128.8 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43 AM.