Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 7 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2018, 09:38 AM
TrueBuild TrueBuild is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
How do I increase the mass of a plane?

I would like to give the yak more mass.
How do I adjust it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2018, 10:41 AM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueBuild View Post
I would like to give the yak more mass.
How do I adjust it?
Is it the Yak I created? If so how much more do you think it should have weighed?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2018, 04:40 PM
TrueBuild TrueBuild is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoid View Post
Is it the Yak I created? If so how much more do you think it should have weighed?
I do not think so.
I'm looking what I think is the standard YAK for 7.5 RF.
The full name is Yak-54 (3D) Stream.

Please point me to your YAK.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2018, 05:28 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueBuild View Post
I do not think so.
I'm looking what I think is the standard YAK for 7.5 RF.
The full name is Yak-54 (3D) Stream.

Please point me to your YAK.
I have two of them now, one is released and a larger one ready for release this weekend. I just tried to get to the swap pages but couldn't so I think the link is down right now. But the Yak I released is 'Yak 55m' and the new one I'll be releasing this weekend is an improved and larger version. ' Yak 55m 37%. The first one has a 93 inch wingspan and the second is 115. So do a search if you can get to the swap pages for 'Yak 55m' and you should find my first one. There's also lots of color schemes released for it too. Oh.. it's in the RF-8 swap pages but it works fine for RF 7.5 too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2018, 07:23 AM
TrueBuild TrueBuild is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoid View Post
Oh.. it's in the RF-8 swap pages but it works fine for RF 7.5 too.
Thank you.
Your comment about the plane being in the RF-8 section and that it will work ok in RF7.5, begs the question.
What is difference regarding the plane physics in RF-8 to RF-7.5 if any?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2018, 08:55 AM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueBuild View Post
Thank you.
Your comment about the plane being in the RF-8 section and that it will work ok in RF7.5, begs the question.
What is difference regarding the plane physics in RF-8 to RF-7.5 if any?
From my understanding the plane physics in RF-7.5 and RF-8 didn't change so the plane will fly the same in both. BUT.. since RF-8 increased the triangle count allowed the model can be more detailed but will still import and work in RF-7.5 okay. The first Yak 55m I released didn't go beyond the triangle count allowed by RF-7.5 but the new one I'll release tomorrow morning breaks the 27k triangle limit of RF-7.5 a little, it's a bit over 29k but adds several nice features the smaller wingspan first release didn't have.

1. Full Cockpit
2. Detailed Gauges
3. Stick and foot pedals move with flight controls
4. Canopy Retracts
5. Oil cooler on bottom of fuselage
6. 115 inch wingspan 37% scale
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2018, 12:24 PM
Moto-Guzzi Moto-Guzzi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: East Coast
Posts: 285
If you add mass to a Technoid creation, make sure to evenly support the wing tips on Saw Horses or something like that, so the plane is fully off the ground.

Then keep adding weight to the fusalage until you get the Dihedral your looking for

It wont fly as well as it did before, but it'll look more (say it! Just say it!)

"scale"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2018, 01:04 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto-Guzzi View Post
If you add mass to a Technoid creation, make sure to evenly support the wing tips on Saw Horses or something like that, so the plane is fully off the ground.

Then keep adding weight to the fusalage until you get the Dihedral your looking for

It wont fly as well as it did before, but it'll look more (say it! Just say it!)

"scale"
No you shouldn't say it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 AM.