Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G4
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:56 PM
HeliG HeliG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Remove Throttle clicks from InterLink?

Hi. I'm new here... as a matter of fact, I've had my G4 for about 1.5 hours and have flown with it for half an hour. I must say that it's better to press the red button than rebuild my T-rex 450SE V2 regularly.

Anyway, I would like to remove the clicks on the throttle of the InterLink controller. Is there a way to do it?

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:01 PM
Blade Scraper's Avatar
Blade Scraper Blade Scraper is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,741
No, if you take off the ratchet on an airplane radio there will be no tension, therefor if you put you're radio at a 90* angle, the throttle stick will go down with no input by you.

I wish the company would make a helicopter version.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:02 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Yes there is a way. It's been covered here before. I know it uses fuel tubing. Try the search function and see if you can find it. Welcome to the forums!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:29 PM
sfrcpilot's Avatar
sfrcpilot sfrcpilot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sioux Falls South Dakota
Posts: 64
throtle clicking

actually i put a response to someone about that very same thing:
1 Open the case
2 loosen the screw on the mettal tension bar on the throtle stick
3 Take a piece of fuel tubing and place it over the tension bar
4 tighten the screw that holds the tension bar so that it is just snug
and that there is a little resistance
5 Replace the back of the controller and your done

It's a 5 Minute job Easy!!!

Last edited by sfrcpilot; 03-26-2008 at 10:30 PM. Reason: miss spelled it's
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:32 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
sfrcpilot: You also misspelled misspell. PS The system does not require a reason for editing. It's optional ,if you didn't know that.

Last edited by jeffpn; 03-26-2008 at 10:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:37 PM
HeliG HeliG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfrcpilot
actually i put a response to someone about that very same thing:
1 Open the case
2 loosen the screw on the mettal tension bar on the throtle stick
3 Take a piece of fuel tubing and place it over the tension bar
4 tighten the screw that holds the tension bar so that it is just snug
and that there is a little resistance
5 Replace the back of the controller and your done

It's a 5 Minute job Easy!!!
sfrcpilot. Thanks for the help!

jeffpn. Thanks for the "search" suggestion. I did try it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:30 AM
rccardude04 rccardude04 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 697
Send a message via AIM to rccardude04
Wow... The fuel tubing is ghetto. I've found that it makes the throttle really 'sticky.'
Just turn the ratchet upside-down. Open case, loosen screw, turn upside-down. Done.
That's how heli radios are if you look at them. If you flip it over in a heli radio, you have an airplane ratchet. At least the ones I've seen anyway.
-Eric
__________________
Asking for help? Please follow the instructions here:

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9663
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:15 PM
r1derbike's Avatar
r1derbike r1derbike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 1,305
Just release some spring tension on the ratchet leaf. You could try putting fuel tubing over the leaf in combination with releasing its tension.

Whatever works for you!

Charles
__________________
"Sometimes, I run out of altitude and airspeed...at the same time!"

Last edited by r1derbike; 03-27-2008 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2008, 07:46 PM
DirtyHarry3033's Avatar
DirtyHarry3033 DirtyHarry3033 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by rccardude04
Wow... The fuel tubing is ghetto. I've found that it makes the throttle really 'sticky.'
Just turn the ratchet upside-down. Open case, loosen screw, turn upside-down. Done.
That's how heli radios are if you look at them. If you flip it over in a heli radio, you have an airplane ratchet. At least the ones I've seen anyway.
-Eric
Eric thanks for that tip! Just did it and it works great - no more "notches", collective is silky-smooth and I've got much finer control of it now

HeliG, you outta try it that way instead, I bet using fuel tubing does make it sticky and binding. Eric's way doesn't, and you can screw the ratchet down tighter or looser to get the amount of tension you want.

DH
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2008, 10:36 AM
leezaal's Avatar
leezaal leezaal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
This is how i removed throttle click.

open up the back of the elite controller, you will see a thin strip of metal screwed in
above the throttle stick. Simply unscrew it, turn it over and screw it back in.
This eliminates the ratchet effect and still gives you the right amount of tension.
Worked for me and took all of 2 mins.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-28-2008, 02:15 PM
David Robert Wright David Robert Wright is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 143
I've never understood the use of the racheting throttle control, even on airplanes. The instant that I found out one of my co-workers had a heli InterLink, I asked him if we could trade.

Out of curiosity, could somebody please tell me what the allure of the racheting throttle is?
__________________
David Wright
Knife Edge product testing
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-28-2008, 02:47 PM
Sirus Sirus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 64
Racheting

With a racheting throttle, you cannot land a helicopter smoothly
- as Murphy's law states

"The position you need to get to for a soft landing is between the rachet points - thus eliminating the possibility of a smooth landing unless you have thumbs like superman able to hold it SMOOTHLY between the rachets".

This is not an issue with normal fixed wing flying as you do not need that fine amount of throttle control which is necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:09 PM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
The solution is to fly more.

My 9C has been used to fly so much that the ratchet is worn smooth. It might as well be a heli model.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-28-2008, 04:02 PM
Sirus Sirus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 64
Fly More

That's ok for you veterans....

I have only 3 hours R/C in total under my belt - 15 minutes on a Blade CX2 (which I managed to hover) and just over 2.5 hours on G4

It may be some time before that rachet is worn...

However, I can confirm that the Interlink mod stated about 5 posts previous by leezaal and rccardude04 where you simply turn the metal spring the opposite way and screw it back in works really really well.... It's quite stiff enough for normal hovering without the collective moving, but allows that finesse needed for smooth landings. It's a 3 minute job with a jewellers cross headed screwdriver... 4 Screws for the back of the case, then 1 screw for the silver curved blade type of spring.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:08 PM
Spareparts Spareparts is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 436
I tried flipping the spring over and just didn't care for the feel. I couldn't make it as tight as I wanted, and the throttle tension wasn't consistent (it still "clicked" near the throttle end stops as well).

The sping on mine is not symmectrical and obviously wasn't designed to be mounted "flipped over". Perhaps there are different variations of the Interlink controller.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.