Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-23-2012, 02:10 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,332
What are you using for your gloss? I had the same issue with refract/reflection. In the settings, instead of auto detect, I switched to only reflect. In my case, that cleared it up.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:50 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
This could be a tough answer, what are you using to render?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:10 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,332
Im following Boof's render tut. In the maps settings, I selected refraction>raytrace. In the raytrace options (I guess that's what it is) I selected reflection instead of auto detect. Look at the render in THIS post. You can see the ribs look terrible along the front edge, as well as a similar problem to what you have on the canopy.

Here is another render with refraction turned off.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg zzz.jpg (164.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg zzz1.jpg (165.3 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg NS2.jpg (88.3 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:22 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneder View Post
This could be a tough answer, what are you using to render?
He's using the default scanline renderer.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:29 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boof69 View Post
He's using the default scanline renderer.
Ok then I really can't be of any help, I am using a a max plugin called vray and its very different then the scanline renderer.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:48 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,332
I have no experience with that, so my suggestion may not be of use. Just sharing what worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:53 PM
Mikeymike21's Avatar
Mikeymike21 Mikeymike21 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 484
Send a message via AIM to Mikeymike21
Renders look good (⌒▽⌒)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:35 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Thanks!

Here's a head on shot with some bokeh. And a gaggle of Ultras
Attached Images
File Type: jpg render04.jpg (134.9 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg render06.jpg (278.1 KB, 23 views)

Last edited by oneder; 09-23-2012 at 07:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:36 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Those scoops look nice!!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:35 PM
Mikeymike21's Avatar
Mikeymike21 Mikeymike21 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 484
Send a message via AIM to Mikeymike21
Really inrested in paint for this, with your mapping this scheme would be possible right?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg J_Agostini.jpg (220.2 KB, 19 views)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:51 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Should be a piece of cake? You can take a look at this reduced version of the map and see if there is any problems.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Red Silver Black.jpg (155.7 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:56 PM
Mikeymike21's Avatar
Mikeymike21 Mikeymike21 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 484
Send a message via AIM to Mikeymike21
ah perfect, looks very easy to work with

could you possibly make the wing tanks a transparent material? This way if one wants/doesnt want them it can be removed with alpha channel
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:57 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneder View Post
Thanks!

Here's a head on shot with some bokeh. And a gaggle of Ultras
I love the gaggle. That is one very sweet looking render.
__________________
Brought to you one triangle at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-23-2012, 09:07 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneder View Post
Ok then I really can't be of any help, I am using a a max plugin called vray and its very different then the scanline renderer.
I used the scanline in the tutorial to keep it simple and I'm not too good with vray or MR. If you had the time do you think you could do a vray tutorial? Your renders are very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-25-2012, 10:06 PM
oneder oneder is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 567
Anybody wanna help with tweaking the flight model? I cant seem to get it just right.
Attached Files
File Type: rfx BVM Ultra Bandit_EA.RFX (1.01 MB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 PM.