Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-13-2012, 05:38 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle twist View Post
Andy, (or anyone) as you know, you turned me on to Gadwin ages ago. What I would like to know is, how do I set it up to take screenshots of progress shots in Gimp, such as your shot above, without a file showing up on the thread page, that you have to open, in order to see that shot.
When I DL`d Gadwin, all is default. (I`m using rec. select instead of full screen for screen/shot capture however).
What should I be saving the shots as, and where to. currently, they are being saved into a "print-screen" file.
save them as jpg and on the desktop if you will delete after upload. If you want to keep them its up to you where you save them.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-13-2012, 07:45 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madratter View Post
That is one highly annoying aspect of Gimp. If there is a way to turn it off, I would like to know it.

I mostly use Photoshop CS6, but I do use Gimp for my normal maps, and I hate this behavior although I can see why some would consider it a feature.
If you have CS6.....WHY are you even messing with Gimp?
...I only do because with my version of PS I can't edit Alpha
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-13-2012, 07:59 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maj. Numbskully View Post
If you have CS6.....WHY are you even messing with Gimp?
...I only do because with my version of PS I can't edit Alpha
That certainly deserves an answer. Originally I got the nvidia normals plugin for photoshop. I was working with it, but I just could not get the results I wanted. Boof then suggested I try the normals plugin built into Gimp. If I recall correctly, he said that he felt that he could get more detail with that plugin. Even better, he had a bunch of settings for the plugin that he used that he gave me.

They work, and I have stuck with it. Now that I have more experience with bump mapping, I might be able to find settings with the nvidia plugin that I would be happy with. But I'm interested in getting the job done, and the plugin in Gimp does what I want.

Fortunately, other than actually running the plugin, all the hard work of doing the bump mapping is still done in Photoshop where I am far more comfortable.
__________________
Brought to you one triangle at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-13-2012, 09:13 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
Ya I do all my "prep" work in PS
I have a normals plug in for my version of PS........ but it crashes PS every time I've tried to use it
so its the gimp plug in I use for _ntga's well

let me say that I really dislike gimp in many ways ....... but for me its a necessary evil
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB

Last edited by Maj. Numbskully; 11-13-2012 at 09:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-13-2012, 10:02 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,449
It might be a little late, but I posted this in the TOTD thread a while back.

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...2&postcount=48
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-01-2012, 04:50 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,835
Can someone please DL this file , and let me know what CS you get
Attached Files
File Type: rfx RF6 FokkerD8_AV.RFX (26.9 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Why do today, what you can put off `till tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-01-2012, 04:54 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
Upon Import I get "Based on an aircraft I don't have......yada yada
is that base EA from swaps?
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-01-2012, 05:09 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,835
Thanks for looking Maj. Yes, it is the D8 that Brent created. I`m not sure, but I think THIS is the EA
__________________
Why do today, what you can put off `till tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-01-2012, 10:26 PM
Maj. Numbskully's Avatar
Maj. Numbskully Maj. Numbskully is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gatesville Texas
Posts: 7,653
After getting the Ea everything imported fine but when I load the EA and your AV
I get the following warnings


It flies ..................what were you checking for?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1354414906.jpg (342.5 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1354415043.jpg (342.0 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Photography MegaryT [[;]
(aka Maj. Numbskully)
https://plus.google.com/collection/IPvFbB
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-01-2012, 11:16 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maj. Numbskully View Post
After getting the Ea everything imported fine but when I load the EA and your AV
I get the following warnings


It flies ..................what were you checking for?
Just a test, to see what CS would come with the AV, my bad
__________________
Why do today, what you can put off `till tomorrow
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 PM.