Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46  
Old 12-05-2012, 10:48 PM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by willsonman View Post
Did'nt you do a model from Rhino as well Doug?
Yes, it was a royal PITA but doable.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12-05-2012, 10:58 PM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpn View Post
Once again,
THERE ARE NO HURDLES BUILDING MODELS IN WINGS!!!
Oh, the hurdles are so absolutely daunting that I have about 150 EAs on the swaps that have been created with Wings and brought into Max. But miraculously this was managed without inducing errors.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:02 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Never implied you ever had a problem. Others definitely have had issues though. I know because I helped with their issues.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:37 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,464
My opinion, good models can be made in either program. Wings has a few extra steps, but the results can be achieved as it has been proven time and time again. I personally have had issues going from wings to max, so I have changed over. Jeff and Doug have been using wings for some time with few/no issues, so why fix what isnt broken for them.

For the new, unlearned rookie modeler, Id recommend learning max. Fewer beginner mistakes during the import process is a good reason, but the main one for me, you gotta learn max to a degree anyway, so why not go all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:52 PM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
I'm not disagreeing with the general recommendation, just commenting that the software should not be blamed for operator error. There is no problem going between the two programs or even going back and forth between them multiple times. Those various errors you saw and helped with were in fact made by the modelers, even if they didn't know what they did to cause them.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 12-06-2012, 12:23 AM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Again I never once blamed the software. Just that those who are new to modeling may encounter issues when going between software as I have been witness to on several occasions. If they were to have these issues it would be an unneeded problem to have to help with. If KE had chose to go with Wings3D as it's in house software and made a kex exporter for it, provided wings had the full capability to do all of the required steps, then I would be advocating Wings3D and the Max guys would think I'm bashing that software. Wings is awesome for modeling. I've watched Jeff do some stuff first hand and it seemed easy for him too. I can see why you guys like it. It's just more simple to learn the free program that is all inclusive.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-06-2012, 12:34 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Let's eliminate all of their hurdles, and just build their models for them!

Seriously, building a model in Wings and importing it into Max isn't a hurdle.

That said, I strongly recommend newbies avoid Wings. That would leave me more time for my own modeling.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-06-2012, 10:35 AM
noah410's Avatar
noah410 noah410 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Hampshire U.S.
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madratter View Post
Get 3ds max. You can get the student edition from auto desk for free.

If money is no object, get Photoshop CS6 for doing the color schemes. If money is an object, then you can get Gimp for Free.

Third, even if you do get photoshop, get Gimp. Some of us use the normal plugin from Gimp despite have Photoshop.

The bigger cost is time. Making a model is a big undertaking. You can easily spend 100-200 hours on a model, and when you are learning, it will probably be on the high side. I have spent even more time than that on one of mine.
Thanks Madratter, I already have photoshop cs6 and may be getting the full edition of 3ds.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-06-2012, 10:43 AM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,464
The student version is the full version. The only difference is the files are labled as such so you can't sell your files. Unless you plan to go into business, no need to spend 3500 on it.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-06-2012, 10:47 AM
noah410's Avatar
noah410 noah410 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Hampshire U.S.
Posts: 27
Ok everyone. I'm going to get 3ds student version and wings. whichever one I like better I'll keep using.
I'm learning alot of stuff right now like 3D animation, java, airbrushing, and R/C Heli aerobatics so I may not be on all the time.

Thanks for all of your help guys,

Noah
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 12-06-2012, 10:50 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Use Max.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 12-06-2012, 10:57 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
As long as money is no object, can you buy each of us modelers our own copy of Max, please? None of us can justify buying Max just for doing RF models. You're in a very fortunate position.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-06-2012, 11:04 AM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,902
I am learning MAX. Concerned with a 3 year limit. Is that true??
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-06-2012, 11:15 AM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
I'll tell you in about two and a half years.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12-06-2012, 11:17 AM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,464
It is a 3 year license, but I think you cab just DL another license after that expires.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.