Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 8 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2019, 10:03 PM
TedBull TedBull is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Eflite Viper with As3X & Safe.

Can someone model up the Viper with AS3X, Safe, working flaps, and a close representation of the E-flite Viper color scheme? It does not seam that RF8 and Horizon are going to add any more models anytime soon. Or are they?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2019, 12:36 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 378
I started work on this one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ViperWIP.jpg (119.4 KB, 20 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2019, 08:10 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 378
Update on the E-flite Viper EDF.

Ready for texturing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Viper update.jpg (87.7 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2019, 08:17 PM
uncle twist's Avatar
uncle twist uncle twist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,334
That`s looking real nice Donamy
__________________
If you are not a part of the solution, you ARE.... part of the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2019, 12:27 AM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,414
Very nice for sure !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2019, 07:19 AM
asj5547 asj5547 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 832
The Viper looks great.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2019, 08:55 AM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,136
It's nice to have another person making models. Thanks !!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2019, 02:27 AM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 378
Texturing finished. Now to put it into MAX.

Can anyone tell me, how to join objects together, in MAX, that were split up in the import process ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg update2.jpg (69.5 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2019, 04:01 AM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donamy View Post
Texturing finished. Now to put it into MAX.

Can anyone tell me, how to join objects together, in MAX, that were split up in the import process ?
The way I attach objects is select the base object in vertex mode then look for the Edit Geometry section in the side bar menu and select the Attach button. The Attach button stays selected then select each object you want to attach to the base object one at a time and they're attached. Once you're finished attaching objects select the Attach button again to turn it off.

Last edited by technoid; 08-05-2019 at 04:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2019, 04:51 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 378
Thanks that did the trick.

I've attached the LG and RG to the MW(main wing) and the SG to the Fuselage, but the gear won't retract. Any ideas ? Do I have to have a left and right wing ?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-05-2019, 06:09 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 378
Never mind. Forgot to set the object properties.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-2019, 07:13 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,414
OPPS.. I was going to make that post longer to explain better. You don't need to 'attach' the landing gear parts like that for RF you attach them in the schematic to the same parts but they aren't really connected they're just children of the wing and fuselage. What I was explaining is something like this.

You want a Radio Object and have a rectangle for the body, and two cylinders for the tunning knob and volume control. But if you want the Radio to only be one Object instead of three (body, tunning knob, volume knob) you would do what I explained which connects all three objects as One Object.

But you normally connect the main parts of the plane in the Schematic not make them One Object like the Attach command does.

Have you read this basic tutorial on the KE site?

https://www.knifeedge.com/KEmax/plane_tutorial.php
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-05-2019, 07:32 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 378
Yes I have read that, it's very helpful while I'm still learning.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-2019, 09:17 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 378
Having a problem with the As3X mode1. It won't allow rolls and it rolls while trying to loop.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-05-2019, 10:21 PM
Donamy Donamy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 378
Basically it will not go inverted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 AM.