Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RealFlight 9
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 10-12-2019, 03:53 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgill75 View Post
Good to know because I recall that it doesn't work the other way around.
Yeah .. that kinda sucks it doesn't work both ways.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-13-2019, 01:09 AM
Capt FunFly Capt FunFly is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Earth - North America - Nevada - Las Vegas
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgill75 View Post
If you purchased RF9 from Steam then it only runs from the Steam library. However multiplayer for realflight is the same either way as it uses knife edge servers to connect everyone.
I'm not sure I understand this correctly. IF using a STEAM version or initiating RF9 from the STEAM Library Game List, the Multiplayer servers are only KnifeEdge?

I would expect STEAM to facilitate ... but if not, then running RF9 through STEAM seems a waste of time.

I have had connections as far away as Australia thinking it was STEAM doing the facilitation, but if STEAM isn't needed, it's easier to just invoke RF9 from my start menu.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-13-2019, 02:04 AM
legoman's Avatar
legoman legoman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW, Florida
Posts: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt FunFly View Post
I'm not sure I understand this correctly. IF using a STEAM version or initiating RF9 from the STEAM Library Game List, the Multiplayer servers are only KnifeEdge?

I would expect STEAM to facilitate ... but if not, then running RF9 through STEAM seems a waste of time.

I have had connections as far away as Australia thinking it was STEAM doing the facilitation, but if STEAM isn't needed, it's easier to just invoke RF9 from my start menu.
I have a digital copy (non steam) and I have been on your multplayer server before. all versions of rf9 connect to the same server for multiplayer
__________________
Even pigs and bricks will fly with enough thrust.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-13-2019, 06:31 AM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,090
Both the Steam and non-Steam version connect to the same server at KE for multiplayer sessions so it doesn't matter what version you are running.

There was another thread where a guy was having trouble with the Steam version. I pointed him at the download and he used it without issue.

Here is a link to that thread:

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33970

Last edited by BrokeDad; 10-13-2019 at 06:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:25 AM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,512
Realflight does not use any of the multiplayer features that steam provides, it's only used for sale and distribution of the software. Everyone connects to the knife edge servers for multiplayer. Since you have a steam version of the software, you will still go through their software to use realflight. It won't launch without going through Steam.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-14-2019, 01:54 PM
Capt FunFly Capt FunFly is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Earth - North America - Nevada - Las Vegas
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by legoman View Post
I have a digital copy (non steam) and I have been on your multplayer server before. all versions of rf9 connect to the same server for multiplayer
Hi,

That's really good to know!

I hope I'm flying sometime this week. I'm waiting for a new radio from Horizon Hobby.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 PM.