Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RF-X
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2016, 02:15 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,951
Pre-Order and discount

You can pre-order this now from Tower Hobbies. If you use the discount code 51052 you will get $15 off (Software version) when it ships. Billing is not until it ships.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXGFRC&P=ML

These codes are good until Oct. 31st :

$20 $10* 51051
$99 $15 51052
$149 $20 51053
$199 $26 51054
$299 $39 51055
$399 $52 51056

Already placed my order and am waiting .. OK Ryan ??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2016, 03:34 PM
Bill Stuntz's Avatar
Bill Stuntz Bill Stuntz is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to Bill Stuntz
I just placed my order, too. THANKS for the info!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2016, 01:54 AM
Robert Willis Robert Willis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston, Texas USA
Posts: 144
Just placed my order with Tower. Thanks for producing another update to a best flight simulator on the market!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2016, 11:26 AM
Bill Stuntz's Avatar
Bill Stuntz Bill Stuntz is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to Bill Stuntz
FYI, my Tower backorder estimates late October delivery.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2016, 01:57 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
New Interlink Version - Ordered!

$23.00 off via on-line coupon code given when you log in (under "orders"), bringing the sim with the Interlink down to $157.00 w/free shipping.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2016, 05:46 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,126
I pre-ordered the software only version at Tower Hobbies so it should be 85.00 once it ships. I wanted the new interlink but ended up getting the software only version since I didn't want to use a different controller all the time. And if I continue to develop planes for RF 7.5 that's what I'll fly most, but I want the new version to see all the cool stuff they put in it. And if they end up adding the ability to create user aircraft I'll just buy the new interlink then and end up spending 10 more bucks for it. But I'm not holding my breath for that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2016, 11:25 AM
fbarbas fbarbas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Realflight x controller

That is what I am doing as well. I will keep my R7.5 install till I see what is available for RF X. I would have bought the controller version if it would work with 7.5, might be losing some sales there I would think.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2016, 12:24 PM
12oclockhigh 12oclockhigh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,980
Shipping restrictions

Did you see the list of countries excluded from receiving RF-X? WOW, lots of allies in there. I wonder if this is considered arms export? But I guess that Iraq, Iran and Syria are OK.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...R=E&I=GPMZ4540

Great Planes RealFlight RF-X Software w/Interlink-X Con
Main shipping note, if any:
Cannot ship to the following: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia Republic of, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Last edited by 12oclockhigh; 10-13-2016 at 12:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2016, 02:13 PM
BrokeDad's Avatar
BrokeDad BrokeDad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,951
WOW That's a lot of countries. I hope it's just their ability to ship and not a content based restriction.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2016, 07:58 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,126
I hate to say this but I just went to Tower Hobbies and canceled my pre-order. Since I finished the plane I'm releasing tomorrow I had lots of time to play around so I went in and started playing with the stock planes from RealFlight 7, and I'm sorry to say this but after developing my own planes they just don't work for me anymore. I'm not saying my planes are better I'm just saying I don't like the way they fly and no amount of improved graphics is going to make them work for me. So I guess I'll be sticking with RealFlight 7.5 and continue developing my own planes to fly. Actually that's why I've created so many because I fly them the whole time I'm modeling them. So I'll sit on the side lines and watch what happens with RF-X. Hopefully they'll announce a developer toolset and I can get it because I'd really like to see what they've done. But like I said the majority of the planes from the stock RealFlight 7.5 install just isn't something I'd actually spend any time flying, and playing around with the new graphics for a short time and then quitting isn't worth nearly a hundred bucks to me. So let me know what I'm missing because I'm sure they improved it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-14-2016, 03:29 AM
GregB GregB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Russia, Vladimir
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to GregB
Looks strange. Only shipping of RF-X controller and Software with InterLink-X limited. Software only can be shipped without restrictions. I checked other radios, they are have no restrictions.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-18-2016, 03:40 PM
Prop_Washer2 Prop_Washer2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
New Interlink Version - Ordered!

$23.00 off via on-line coupon code given when you log in (under "orders"), bringing the sim with the Interlink down to $157.00 w/free shipping.
Does anyone know if it is DX11 or DX12 on RFX..?? I have a new Radeon R9 390 water cooled GPU Card with 8GB of Ram on it that should handle it if DX12...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-18-2016, 04:03 PM
Bill Stuntz's Avatar
Bill Stuntz Bill Stuntz is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to Bill Stuntz
The specs say DX11. I'm 99% sure it means (at least) DX11. I'm running 5.5 with an oldish 2G GT430 DX12 card, so I don't think you should have any problems. I'm hoping my card will be adequate for X.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-20-2016, 04:24 PM
N410DC N410DC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prop_Washer2 View Post
Does anyone know if it is DX11 or DX12 on RFX..?? I have a new Radeon R9 390 water cooled GPU Card with 8GB of Ram on it that should handle it if DX12...
The R9 390 is comparable (more or less) to the GTX 1060 that is "recommended" by Knife edge. I am guessing it will have little, if any problem running RF X at maximum settings, or close to it.

R9 390 vs. GTX 1060 Comparison

I am an NVIDIA guy myself, but I have heard a lot of good things about the R9 390.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Stuntz View Post
The specs say DX11. I'm 99% sure it means (at least) DX11. I'm running 5.5 with an oldish 2G GT430 DX12 card, so I don't think you should have any problems. I'm hoping my card will be adequate for X.
The new graphics engine that is used in RF X is far more demanding that any previous versions. The GT 430 in your computer may support DX 12, but it does not meet the minimum specifications for RF X. You might have to upgrade the card to run RF X, unless your turn the performance settings down signifiantly.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-25-2016, 04:50 PM
Prop_Washer2 Prop_Washer2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by N410DC View Post
The R9 390 is comparable (more or less) to the GTX 1060 that is "recommended" by Knife edge. I am guessing it will have little, if any problem running RF X at maximum settings, or close to it.

R9 390 vs. GTX 1060 Comparison

I am an NVIDIA guy myself, but I have heard a lot of good things about the R9 390.



The new graphics engine that is used in RF X is far more demanding that any previous versions. The GT 430 in your computer may support DX 12, but it does not meet the minimum specifications for RF X. You might have to upgrade the card to run RF X, unless your turn the performance settings down signifiantly.
Funny, I was an Nvidia guy but went the Radeon route..haha. My R9 is getting converted to Water Cooling this afternoon, waiting for my VRM Heat Sink to arrive, using a Corsair H55i, it will run stable at 1250 MHz, which is 20% faster than stock clock of 1050 MHz. The MSI R9 390 is stable at 1270 MHz with stock Twin Frozer Cooling, water cooling mod just keeps it more cooler. Should be faster than a 1070 and close to the 1080 as the R9 390 has a 512-bit Bus Width compared 256-bit for the 1070 and 1080, and even less 192-bit for their lower cards. Those folks out there with light Video GPU's and 32-Bit Windows are probably going to struggle running RFX. Time to come into the 21st Century. $200 to $275 will by a hell'uva video card from NVIDIA or AMD is about to release their high end "Zen" cards soon which will drive the price down on these mid range cards...
BTW... Running a Water Cooled (H100i) AMD FX9370 8-Core at 5.4 GHZ with 32GB of RAM and EVO 850 SSD drives of course. I gotta' 3TB 7200 rpm for storing slow junk. Machine runs great and has run everything of every game on Ultra or Maxed Out Settings at 60 FPS or better...
It is currently being transferred from a TT Level 10GT Case into a CM HAF XB Cube Case as we speak. The Level 10GT Snow Edition is huge and too heavy for me to lift or move around, (bad back).

Last edited by Prop_Washer2; 10-25-2016 at 04:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 PM.