Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Current Products > RF-X
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-23-2016, 03:09 PM
NigelR NigelR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 39
System
I7 6700K
16GB Ram
GTX1070

General performance seems improved, much better for 3D heli flying where frame rates of 60fps are required.

I would like to run 2560x1440 resolution (too much load to run 4k) but this drives my TV to 1440p @30 Hz. Another Sim I use (uses the Unity graphics engine) with a desktop resolution of set at 2160p, selecting 1440p in the sim results in a scaled up full screen still running at 2160p 60Hz.

When flying a heli, the model image does not seem to be well defined, the tailboom and supports look to have poor anti-aliasing. The heli image looks clearer on 7.5.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-23-2016, 03:23 PM
Andre Medeiros Andre Medeiros is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Yes. In a first view there are improvements in performance. No doubt about it.
I dont know there was a bug related to foreign customers like me.

With beta rfx, The asus tweak graphic about GPU use shown intensive activity. CPU and
memory in windows task manager shown system resources demand.

Interlink control input delay was reduced, FPS increased significantly.

Keyboard input show some delay yet when invoking console and input data by keypress at console.

I live in Brazil. Keyboard and windows system is PORTUGUESE language, The console is invoked
keypressing CTRL + ALT + ' (the key above key TAB). ~ does not work with my keyboard.
A similar issue has ocurred with RF 7 was relesead.

Last edited by Andre Medeiros; 11-23-2016 at 03:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-23-2016, 03:28 PM
Andre Medeiros Andre Medeiros is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Someone said that flying away there is possible see a lake. When I fly in Real flight school airpórt it is not possible fly away. All flight is around rf school site. It is not possible to go far away.

How could to lly away from take off runaway?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-23-2016, 04:27 PM
xxtimmaaxx xxtimmaaxx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Much Improved but still some issues

I was getting very low FPS with game before the beta. The updated helped with practice flying and some other modes.

I am still having issues with the racing modes with the gates. Getting shutter and very low FPS.

Also I have tried to see console commands but the command "Is" does not work for me.

I am able to use console and use show_fps 1 and 2 and a few other commands but I cant seem to find all the commands.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-23-2016, 05:56 PM
con_lambrou con_lambrou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 35
improved performane

Some performance improvements in the beta version, hopefully we see further performance improvements in the formal update, a good feature would be if RF can interrogate your PC to advise of the most appropriate settings to suit your PC.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-24-2016, 10:33 AM
GregB GregB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Russia, Vladimir
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to GregB
RF crashes when I input cyrillic symbol (by mistake) in console.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-24-2016, 01:22 PM
U-Bird's Avatar
U-Bird U-Bird is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 377
1.00.034 public beta feedback

Shots of my first water landing in RF-X. I can't tell for sure, however the water does not seem to be as buoyant as in RF-7.5. There is much more surface action on what I will call the south Sea Shore and with that in mind, visually it could be misleading.
The plane is Legoman's DC-3 on floats, the CS is mine and has not been posted as yet. It's a Looooong flite to get to the sea shore, an airport editor would have been a blessing!!!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Legoman's DC-3 On Floats, My CS.jpg (314.3 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg My 1st Water Landing .jpg (176.1 KB, 29 views)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-24-2016, 02:03 PM
Boof69's Avatar
Boof69 Boof69 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Swartz Creek,Michigan
Posts: 5,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre Medeiros View Post
Someone said that flying away there is possible see a lake. When I fly in Real flight school airpórt it is not possible fly away. All flight is around rf school site. It is not possible to go far away.

How could to lly away from take off runaway?
Hit the "C" key to change cameras and fly in the cockpit or chase mode. Fly a jet to get there faster.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-24-2016, 02:33 PM
Andre Medeiros Andre Medeiros is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by U-Bird View Post
Shots of my first water landing in RF-X. I can't tell for sure, however the water does not seem to be as buoyant as in RF-7.5. There is much more surface action on what I will call the south Sea Shore and with that in mind, visually it could be misleading.
The plane is Legoman's DC-3 on floats, the CS is mine and has not been posted as yet. It's a Looooong flite to get to the sea shore, an airport editor would have been a blessing!!!!!

What does airport/field have this lake?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-24-2016, 04:07 PM
adrenoline 60 adrenoline 60 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre Medeiros View Post
What does airport/field have this lake?
I think this may be, what you are looking for: http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...2&postcount=14
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-24-2016, 04:30 PM
U-Bird's Avatar
U-Bird U-Bird is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 377
From Flight School turn South, Fly 180 to 205 degrees until you get to South Coast Line. This location is not one of the inland lakes.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-24-2016, 06:05 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by U-Bird View Post
From Flight School turn South, Fly 180 to 205 degrees until you get to South Coast Line. This location is not one of the inland lakes.
How long does it take to get there? I found a large lake about 9 minutes out.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-24-2016, 08:23 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,281
I have not tried the water in the latest update, but in the initial version, water acted like concrete for me. I landed the x29 on it and took off from the water with the wheels. I believe that Jim mentioned that the physics for water wasn't there yet. Maybe it is now, I can tell until I get home on Sunday.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-24-2016, 08:31 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgill75 View Post
I have not tried the water in the latest update, but in the initial version, water acted like concrete for me. I landed the x29 on it and took off from the water with the wheels. I believe that Jim mentioned that the physics for water wasn't there yet. Maybe it is now, I can tell until I get home on Sunday.
Yes Jim talked about that I remember it. I wish I had tried to land on the lake I found but I just flew over it and took a picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RF-X Lake.jpg (277.1 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-24-2016, 09:04 PM
Andre Medeiros Andre Medeiros is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenoline 60 View Post
I think this may be, what you are looking for: http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...2&postcount=14
Yes, thank you. When flying with align trex 500 helicopter, it looks like heli dont go away from rc flight school runaway even heli head is setup to it away from rc flight school. It look like a a RF 7.5 photofield behavior. I will try with a rc plane.

Last edited by Andre Medeiros; 11-24-2016 at 09:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:38 AM.