Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight 6 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:16 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Wings 3d Newbie Questions

I have been attempting to use Wings 3d to build a simple foam aircraft. Even doing that I have run into some trouble (I have essentially no 3d modeling experience).

I have attached a screenshot of my admittedly woeful attempts to build a fuselage. Four questions and whatever advice you might care to share:

1) How do you avoid the problem of perspective when lining things up with the 3 view. From the angle I was working, things looked like they matched up nicely. Once you rotate the camera, it is beyond obvious the match is poor at best.

2) I obviously failed to pick the pair of points at times and this resulted in the front of the slab not matching the back. Is there a good way to bring them back into perfect alignment so the points differ only in the correct amount of x (9mm front to back).

3) I have discovered how to free rotate the camera to look at my attempt from any angle. However, I have not discovered how to freely move my viewpoint along an axis. In this case, if I was able to move my viewpoint along the z axis so I am essentially looking directly over the points I want to move, it would really help with the perspective problem. How do you do this?

4) When I use Shift-Tab to get a quick smoothed preview, things are an utter mess. What is going on and should I worry about that?

TIA
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fuse01.jpg (121.4 KB, 24 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:29 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Welcome to Modeling!!

1) Click the box I pointed to or Hit O (not zero) to set up orthographic view. That gives you alignment regardless of viewing angle.

2) Not quite sure of your question, but if you select 2 vertices, it will show you the distance between them, in our case, inches.

3) If you mouse over a vertex, edge, face or object, it will turn green. Hit a to center your view to the moused over object. If you've selected something, it'll be red. Hit Shift-a to center you view on everything selected.

4) Do not hit Shift Tab. (I fell into the same trap). Hit Tab. That will show you a decently rendered image that you can use to gauge what it will look like in RF.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fuse01.jpg (181.1 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by jeffpn; 01-07-2012 at 05:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:35 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpn
1) Click the box I pointed to or Hit O (not zero) to set up orthographic view. That gives you alignment regardless of viewing angle.

2) Not quite sure of your question, but if you select 2 vertices, it will show you the distance between them, in our case, inches.

3) If you mouse over a vertex, edge, face or object, it will turn green. Hit a to center your view to the moused over object. If you've selected something, it'll be red. Hit Shift-a to center you view on everything selected.

4) Do not hit Shift Tab. (I fell into the same trap). Hit Tab. That will show you a decently rendered image that you can use to gauge what it will look like in RF.
Thanks Jeff. So that is what orthographic view is for!

What I was trying to get at with my 2nd question, is now that I have 2 points that don't line up correctly (I moved the front but failed to have the back point selected, how do I get the back point in the correct position with the front point. The only way I can think of is to just delete both points, add points back in, and realign with the 3 view.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:46 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
You can use absolute commands to snap the second vertex to the same location. As the first vertex. Then Move|z or whichever direction you need to move it from there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:50 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpn
You can use absolute commands to snap the second vertex to the same location. As the first vertex. Then Move|z or whichever direction you need to move it from there.
Got it!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2012, 06:20 PM
flexible's Avatar
flexible flexible is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: na
Posts: 2,263
Send a message via ICQ to flexible Send a message via AIM to flexible
Loop select the Verts you want to move, as the image hides those the verts behind the image, or select those on the front, then type the letter I, for identical, which selects those on the back as well.
__________________
Fly it like it is made out of rubber
Victory or Death
"Ineptocracy"

Wings 3D for dummies
Mapping in Wings 3D for Dummies
Pivots in Max for Dummies
Linking the Hierarchy in Max for Dummies
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2012, 12:23 AM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by flexible
Loop select the Verts you want to move, as the image hides those the verts behind the image, or select those on the front, then type the letter I, for identical, which selects those on the back as well.
Thanks Flexible. The problem was since I wasn't in orthogonal view, I missed the back ones selecting a few times. I have been doing the i for identical on edges, but didn't even think about the fact I could do the same things for vertices.

Last edited by Madratter; 01-08-2012 at 12:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2012, 07:57 PM
a4magic's Avatar
a4magic a4magic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cottonwood CA
Posts: 285
Since the thread is open, I will take advatage of it for some help.
At school a kid asked me to build a plane model for him to get some renders off of. I am very happy with how the model ended up, except for the cockpit has bloches on it, where the matterial looks diffrent. I have changed it several times but it still won't change to look normal.

p.s. I do have a new computer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Jet.jpg (167.1 KB, 29 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2012, 08:01 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Put your file in a .zip folder and post it here. I'll look at it. Do you mean the dashed line appearance?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2012, 08:12 PM
flexible's Avatar
flexible flexible is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: na
Posts: 2,263
Send a message via ICQ to flexible Send a message via AIM to flexible
You have inter and outer Faces fighting, tell him the fix jeff, then I will know how also.
__________________
Fly it like it is made out of rubber
Victory or Death
"Ineptocracy"

Wings 3D for dummies
Mapping in Wings 3D for Dummies
Pivots in Max for Dummies
Linking the Hierarchy in Max for Dummies
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-08-2012, 08:14 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
I'm not sure what his issue is.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-08-2012, 08:17 PM
a4magic's Avatar
a4magic a4magic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cottonwood CA
Posts: 285
Yeah. That is one of the only things I need to fix or finish, other than the cockpit and wing detail.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Jetex.zip (292.2 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-08-2012, 08:25 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
It's a shading error. I can tell you that much. You could flatten|Normal the sides after connecting a couple pairs of verts. Depends on what you want the finished canopy to look like
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-08-2012, 10:26 PM
Madratter's Avatar
Madratter Madratter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,471
Latest Progress

Well, I think I got my fuselage corrected to the drawing using the orthographic view. I now have added in the top view for creating the wings. It was something of a struggle getting this (hopefully) right as the image wasn't quite exactly square and I also needed to scale it and move it to get things all lined up with the side view and what I had already done.

My plan is to do the wings, cut it in half, and then duplicate it so the two sides are identical since there is a strong likelyhood I didn't get the drawing perfectly lined up.

Attached is an image of my current progress. The bottom of the fuselage is also done; it just cannot be seen.

Is it better to do the ailerons at the same time as the wings and then cut them out somehow, or is it better to just model them separately from the start?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fuse02.jpg (167.1 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by Madratter; 01-08-2012 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-08-2012, 10:35 PM
jeffpn's Avatar
jeffpn jeffpn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 18,386
Move your 3-view down below your bounding box. That way you can see your whole model. Lately I've been duplicating my 3 view in Wings. That way, in a perfect world, you only have to scale it one. 3 copies facing each way you need it.

This shot is from early in my last build. It has cross sections, so I had several copies. Only my cross sections are in the bounding box. The other 3 are not.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (412.1 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 AM.