Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight 7
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2016, 02:39 PM
nadt770 nadt770 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
7 (7.5?) or X and which video card?

I am going to dedicate the following system to the RealFlight sim. I'm guessing I should stick with version 7 (7.5?) using this hardware. What video card would work well with this set-up? I want one with HDMI output. Will I need to upgrade my PS as well?
I want to dedicate the following pc to a sim system:
OptiPlex 990 Mini Tower
i5-2500, 3.3 GHz QuadCore
4G RAM
32 bit WIN 7 Pro OS
250G HD
240 G SSD
265W Power Supply

This system has the Dell onboard video chip but it does have a PCI Express X16 and AGP slots available. What video card would you sim pros recommend for this system to run 7.5?

Thanks much,

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2016, 06:00 PM
rick500 rick500 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Im new to this site also, having recently purchasing 7.5. Tons of advise and previous postings on just about everything. Your system looks capable of meeting the 'Minimum recommended...' except for a stand a lone graphics card (onboard graphics not recommended).

However, as you surmised, a new power supply would be needed for a 3D accelerated video card. Minimum based on reading (both graphics sites and this one) would be 400(+)W.

I have an HP150 elite with an i7CPU 860, 8gb of ram and a old ATI Radeon HD 5450 GPU. Also running win 10 and directX 12. RF 7.5 is working with this system with decent frame rates (80+) but then again I have only tried a couple of planes/ap's in basic aerobatic mode.

While I was looking at upgrading my graphics to an Nvidia Geforce 1060... would also have to upgrade my PS. However, Im glad I tried the existing system first. Reminds me a bit of buying a bigger trailer, then needing a bigger truck etc..

Good luck,
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2016, 06:35 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,526
Your system is adequate for RealFlight 7.5. A Nvidia 760 would be a great video card for you and aren't that expensive but it will still work with the integrated gpu.

That system is not adequate for RF-X though. You will need a 64-bit version of Windows since RF-X is a 64-bit application. For it to run well, 8 GB of memory should be the minimum and you will need to purchase a video card. RF-X will not run on a integrated gpu. Go for a 1070-1080 Nvidia card. You really should have a fairly recent I7 processor too but we are soon to be receiving a update that will help lower end computer systems.

My advice is to stick with 7.5. It works great and you don't have to put much money into that computer which really isn't adequate for RF-X. Purchase a new computer with a I7 like a 6700 skylake, 1070 or 1080 video card, 16gb ram and a 64-bit version of Windows for RF-X.

Last edited by csgill75; 11-20-2016 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2016, 08:05 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,495
I agree with csgill75 your computer is okay for RF 7.5 but not something you want to try upgrading for RF-X. You need a new computer with very strong performance for RF-X and the i7 6700 with 16 GB memory Minimum with a GTX 1070 is where you want to go. A GTX 1060 will work as we've seen from one of the fellows on the forum but it's not ideal.

The one area I feel you should upgrade if you decide to stick with RF 7.5 is your graphics, although built-in graphics will run it you'll get much better frame rates and be able to turn on more features in RF 7.5 if you have a dedicated graphics card. So if you decide to stay with RF 7.5 and don't intend to get a new computer for RF-X I'd recommend the GTX 1050 you can get one from 110-150 and it will do MUCH better for RF 7.5. But don't waste money on a GTX 1050 if you plan to move to RF-X because it won't work for it, you need a GTX 1060 minimum and a GTX 1070 is what you REALLY want. The GTX 1050 is a good card for your system most of them do not require an extra power cable so plug it in and go.

EXAMPLE: ZOTAC GTX 1050 $110.00

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-412-_-Product
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2016, 12:20 PM
nadt770 nadt770 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Thanks fellows

Thanks for they replies gentlemen. I will be sticking with 7.5. Going to upgrade graphics and psu.

John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2016, 10:12 PM
lilsinker lilsinker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 4
I'm wondering if my onboard GPU is fairly stout. I'm running 7.5 on a fairly high-end Azus mb, with a i7-4790K, 16GB ram, Win 7 Pro 64 bit, and getting frame rates well over 200. Is this odd (good?) for onboard graphics?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2016, 11:23 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsinker View Post
I'm wondering if my onboard GPU is fairly stout. I'm running 7.5 on a fairly high-end Azus mb, with a i7-4790K, 16GB ram, Win 7 Pro 64 bit, and getting frame rates well over 200. Is this odd (good?) for onboard graphics?
The on board gpu of the newer I7's are more than adequate for 7.5. They will not work with RF-X though. You would need a fairly high end video card for RF-X.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2016, 06:09 PM
nadt770 nadt770 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
2gb or 4gb?

"The one area I feel you should upgrade if you decide to stick with RF 7.5 is your graphics, although built-in graphics will run it you'll get much better frame rates and be able to turn on more features in RF 7.5 if you have a dedicated graphics card. So if you decide to stay with RF 7.5 and don't intend to get a new computer for RF-X I'd recommend the GTX 1050 you can get one from 110-150 and it will do MUCH better for RF 7.5. But don't waste money on a GTX 1050 if you plan to move to RF-X because it won't work for it, you need a GTX 1060 minimum and a GTX 1070 is what you REALLY want. The GTX 1050 is a good card for your system most of them do not require an extra power cable so plug it in and go.

EXAMPLE: ZOTAC GTX 1050 $110.00"

Would going to a 4gb card get me anything in 7.5 or is the 2gb card plenty?

John
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2016, 06:41 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,526
with 7.5 a 2gb video card is fine. with RF-X the Minimum should be 4gb. I myself have 2 970's w/4GB each. I have an application that tells me how much video memory is being used at any given time and its using 6GB of the available 8GB at any given time. It uses a lot more than 7.5. The same Program shows me using just 400-500mb of Video ram for 7.5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2016, 06:55 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadt770 View Post
"The one area I feel you should upgrade if you decide to stick with RF 7.5 is your graphics, although built-in graphics will run it you'll get much better frame rates and be able to turn on more features in RF 7.5 if you have a dedicated graphics card. So if you decide to stay with RF 7.5 and don't intend to get a new computer for RF-X I'd recommend the GTX 1050 you can get one from 110-150 and it will do MUCH better for RF 7.5. But don't waste money on a GTX 1050 if you plan to move to RF-X because it won't work for it, you need a GTX 1060 minimum and a GTX 1070 is what you REALLY want. The GTX 1050 is a good card for your system most of them do not require an extra power cable so plug it in and go.

EXAMPLE: ZOTAC GTX 1050 $110.00"

Would going to a 4gb card get me anything in 7.5 or is the 2gb card plenty?

John
I'm in the process of building a new system right now but here's a link to the card I used until now and it ran great, of course it's probably faster than the 1050 but it only had 2 GB of Video RAM. My monitor is 1920x1200 and for me the 2 GB was fine, but if you can afford the difference an extra 2 GB of Video RAM is okay too. Hopefully someone else will chime in on this but to me for RF 7.5 and no more than 1920x1200 2GB is fine. Now if you're playing at a higher resolution then 4 GB would be better.

http://www.evga.com/Products/Specs/G...8-D7F28452A769
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-15-2016, 07:08 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoid View Post
I'm in the process of building a new system right now but here's a link to the card I used until now and it ran great, of course it's probably faster than the 1050 but it only had 2 GB of Video RAM. My monitor is 1920x1200 and for me the 2 GB was fine, but if you can afford the difference an extra 2 GB of Video RAM is okay too. Hopefully someone else will chime in on this but to me for RF 7.5 and no more than 1920x1200 2GB is fine. Now if you're playing at a higher resolution then 4 GB would be better.

http://www.evga.com/Products/Specs/G...8-D7F28452A769
I use a EVGA application called Precision X that comes with my video cards. One of the things it can tell me is memory usage of the video card. On just a single 970 7.5 uses less than a gig of video ram and most of the time it's only about 500mb. It does not require a whole lot of video memory. I'm running at 2560x1440 at that usage.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-15-2016, 10:46 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by csgill75 View Post
I use a EVGA application called Precision X that comes with my video cards. One of the things it can tell me is memory usage of the video card. On just a single 970 7.5 uses less than a gig of video ram and most of the time it's only about 500mb. It does not require a whole lot of video memory. I'm running at 2560x1440 at that usage.
I've used both EVGA Precision X and MSI Afterburner, they both work great. But Afterburner is what I'll be using now since my new card is an MSI GTX 1070 Quick Silver edition. I got it for $399.00 during the Black Friday time frame. I was going go with the 1080 but that's when I was going to move to a 1440P monitor but I decided to stick with my 1920x1200 so the 1070 should be fine for that resolution. But yeah the memory usage for RF 7.5 is good to know, thanks. I got 100+ fps all the time in RF 7.5 so the GTX 760 did great. BUT I only added that link to show what I was using, NOT to recommend that card. It's old and if the OP bought the 1050 2 GB or 4 GB he would be fine with RF 7.5.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-17-2016, 04:59 PM
nadt770 nadt770 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
I should have mentioned...

My plan was to use HDMI to connect to my 4K TV. Does this change anything?

Thanks again to all for your assistance.

John
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-17-2016, 06:18 PM
technoid's Avatar
technoid technoid is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadt770 View Post
My plan was to use HDMI to connect to my 4K TV. Does this change anything?

Thanks again to all for your assistance.

John
Yes 4K changes things but I'm not the guy to speak on that since I still use a 1920x1200 monitor and a standard HDTV. I'm sure there are guys here than can speak on that better than me. But a guess if I were going to use a 4K TV for a monitor for RF 7.5 is I'd want a GTX 1060 just to make sure I had the horsepower for it and make sure the 1060 is the one with 6GB of memory, not the 3GB version, the 6GB version is faster it has more CUDA cores. A GTX 1050 might be okay but I tend to always go to the next step on graphics.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:56 AM.