Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Discontinued Products > RealFlight G3
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 4.33 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:21 PM
david_r2ese david_r2ese is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
2 weeks and no reply? Did you even look at the error msg?

Just currious.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:03 PM
ghidora ghidora is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Dave, just so you know, you're not the only one getting that error. I just started getting it. Very strange. I know I tried a week or two ago and didn't get it. I wonder if it is a timing issue or if their server is flakey?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-02-2006, 04:14 PM
foxflier's Avatar
foxflier foxflier is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Hey Ryan or whomever,

A machine I use for G3 the most is at work behind a corp firewall that won't allow me to update via the web... and we don't have modem lines inside.

It's a PITA as without a downloadable update the only way to do it is for me to haul my machine home & use my DSL.

Seems like now and then an update will make its way to a downloadable. How come all the updates aren't offered as downloadables? The code isn't much good without an Interlink anyway...

Thanks,

Ted

Last edited by foxflier; 06-05-2006 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-02-2006, 06:45 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by david_r2ese
Here is the error I get when I try to DL the update.
That's not a G3 error per-se.

It's your proxy firewall which is basically telling you that the client cannot authenticate to the proxy.

You'll need to use something that removes the onus from the applications directly supporting proxies (which for the most part "breaks" a lot of programs and conventions... I bet you have a lot of problems with internet aware software as a result...).

One way would be to tunnel out, a VPN setup, etc, to get past the firewall or to move the TCP handling to an intermediate level, e.g. a socks type arrangement handled by the stack instead of the application...

But this is all I.T. stuff and not really related to G3.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:24 PM
HighAlpha HighAlpha is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 3
Bad URL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Douglas
The Launcher from version .410 is now available for direct download. The file is a self-extracting setup that will copy the latest Launcher to the correct location for you.

This version of the Launcher fixes several problems that kept some customers from performing online updates. The problems affected users with a Direcway satellite internet connection and some users inside a network. The usual KEError in this case was 12228.

Of course, if you can't connect for updates in the first place, you can't download the Launcher that will fix your problem, so now you can download it here. Just save it to your local drive somewhere convenient and then run it. You won't need to change any settings during the installation.

When finished, run the Launcher and attempt online registration and updates. Please let us know your results with this version of the Launcher! If you still have problems, please tell us what happens and exactly what error messages you receive.
I am reinstalling G3 on my machine (My install disks are v.366). After receiving the 12228 error, I found the link above for a new lancher that's supposed to work. However, I am unable to get to the launcher via the link above. Substituting this for the URL above causes it to work. Is connecting this way going to get me the correct Launcher? Is there a way to get the launcher from the .430 update instead?

Last edited by HighAlpha; 07-17-2006 at 12:44 PM. Reason: unintended formatting
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-18-2006, 03:41 AM
goldenboy goldenboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Help

when i try to update I got this error:

KEError 21010: Version check failed: Server response is missing required information.

also sometimes I got same 3 errors that was mentioned in post 17 by (spoons).

My internet connection is wireless(512kb).

I updated this software about 2 months ago, and it updated nicely but today I don't know what to do.

Thanks for your help.
Attached Files
File Type: txt info.txt (87.2 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-18-2006, 06:22 AM
guest_jo's Avatar
guest_jo guest_jo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 380
At least last night there seem to have been some server problems, see one of the last threads. Don't know if they are up again.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-18-2006, 06:24 AM
artshack artshack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
help me too

I am having the same probs as goldenboy is there a fix

Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-18-2006, 12:05 PM
50%plane's Avatar
50%plane 50%plane is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 210
Send a message via AIM to 50%plane Send a message via MSN to 50%plane
I had trouble yesterday as well, but I'm up and hosting right now.
__________________
The secret of Happiness is Freedom, and the secret of Freedom, Courage.

Thucydides
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-18-2006, 01:28 PM
guest_jo's Avatar
guest_jo guest_jo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 380
Itīs 5.30pm GMT and I canīt host, I see 4 online sessions with names Iīve never seen and I canīt connect to any of them ?!?
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 07-27-2006, 07:17 PM
Ryan Douglas's Avatar
Ryan Douglas Ryan Douglas is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 2,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldenboy
when i try to update I got this error:

KEError 21010: Version check failed: Server response is missing required information.
Re-register the software. You'll need to use the same password as when you originally registered. Then it should work for you.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 07-29-2006, 03:17 PM
Bruheli Bruheli is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Help!

Only had this since Thursday and fed up with it already

Trying to register and update I get
Keerror 12218 Error reading from socket etc
12228 HTTP response missing expected header
21023 unable to register

I've enabled the launcher and the main program in my firewall program and also tried turning firewall and virus protection all off without result (except exposing my PC to infection/ attack).

I've downloaded and installed the new launcher without result

I've e-mailed support without result

This is an expensive piece of software to be unregisterable and incapable of up upgrade. Looking on this board I'm not alone in having these problems and although the comments about people using their Pc on a network (gasp) or a firewall(two gasps) might have been tenable in 1999 they really don't fly today.

Can anyone throw light on this issue, provide a work aroud to register/download the latest version or do I take it back and warn everyone I know?

B
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-16-2006, 10:56 PM
kctrading kctrading is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Douglas
The Launcher from version .410 is now available for direct download. The file is a self-extracting setup that will copy the latest Launcher to the correct location for you.

This version of the Launcher fixes several problems that kept some customers from performing online updates. The problems affected users with a Direcway satellite internet connection and some users inside a network. The usual KEError in this case was 12228.

Of course, if you can't connect for updates in the first place, you can't download the Launcher that will fix your problem, so now you can download it here. Just save it to your local drive somewhere convenient and then run it. You won't need to change any settings during the installation.

When finished, run the Launcher and attempt online registration and updates. Please let us know your results with this version of the Launcher! If you still have problems, please tell us what happens and exactly what error messages you receive.
Ryan is there a reason I can never connect to your server? http://12.156.2.54/downloads/LauncherSetup.exe I've tried at different times and it always says server is down on your end.

Can I get this somewhere else?

Thanks,

Ken
kctrading

BTW I use cable internet with the firewall off

Last edited by kctrading; 08-16-2006 at 11:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:03 PM
vitek's Avatar
vitek vitek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 942
The IP address of the server changed a while back. You should be able to get that same file here.

Travis
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:08 PM
jbourke's Avatar
jbourke jbourke is offline
Knife Edge Software Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Corvallis, OR, USA
Posts: 705
I've just updated the URL in the first post. Sorry about that.

Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 AM.