Go Back   Knife Edge > Inactive forums > RealFlight Swap Pages > RealFlight G3 > Aircraft
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:41 PM
gerby gerby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 18
Mistral on a winch (almost)

Hi all
This is my solution for the missing glider winch in G3. I put a small turbine engine into the mistral. If you like soaring from flat grounds, just hand-launch this Mistral into the wind. Make sure to put the throttle forward to full and off you go. Pull hard to simulate a winch start. The engine runs for about 4-5 Seconds. Make sure to set unlimited fuel to "no". Otherwise you'll have to kill the engine with the "k" key for soaring.
Have fun - gerby aka CH aka Daniel
PS: this version is for G3 Beta .430 only
PPS: of course you'll have to enable some thermals within the G3 settings "Settings - Wind and Weather - thermals"
PPPS: some smoke is built-in too
PPPPS: If the Mistral is to nose-heavy for you, take out some ballast. I like it to fly "hanging" on the elevator.
Attached Files
File Type: g3x Mistral autostart_AV.G3X (17.3 KB, 133 views)
File Type: zip Mistral autostart_AV.zip (17.2 KB, 63 views)

Last edited by gerby; 02-28-2006 at 03:55 PM.
  #2  
Old 02-28-2006, 04:27 PM
vitek's Avatar
vitek vitek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 942
Here is a Mistral and two airports for flying gliders. One uses a bungee type launch from the ground, and the other starts with the aircraft at 250 ft.
Attached Files
File Type: g3x Mistral 3m Glider_AV.G3X (5.5 KB, 125 views)
File Type: g3x Sod Farm Bungee_AP.G3X (177.9 KB, 166 views)
File Type: g3x Sod Farm Airborne_AP.G3X (177.9 KB, 111 views)
  #3  
Old 03-01-2006, 12:57 PM
md98677 md98677 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenville, Ohio
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitek
Here is a Mistral and two airports for flying gliders. One uses a bungee type launch from the ground, and the other starts with the aircraft at 250 ft.


The Sod Farm Bungee comes in all blurred. How do you fix this?
Same goes for the other Sod Farm as well.
  #4  
Old 03-01-2006, 05:10 PM
3DEflight 3DEflight is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitek
Here is a Mistral and two airports for flying gliders. One uses a bungee type launch from the ground, and the other starts with the aircraft at 250 ft.
Works great for me...Thanks Vitek! 1600 x res.
  #5  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:11 PM
vitek's Avatar
vitek vitek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 942
The two airports are just modified versions of the Sod Farm airport that ships with G3. If the airport looks blurry, you might check your Texture quality setting in Simulation | Settings | Graphics.

Travis
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:30 PM.