Go Back   Knife Edge > Inactive forums > RealFlight Swap Pages > RealFlight G3 > Aircraft
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2006, 03:03 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
F/A 18Z Blue Angels

I've modified the glaring errors in the flight models on this plane.

It's a hand launch 3 Channel EP.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f18hornet.jpg (8.7 KB, 1653 views)
Attached Files
File Type: g3x FA18Z_EA.G3X (564.7 KB, 688 views)

Last edited by opjose; 05-13-2006 at 03:13 PM.
  #2  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:00 PM
efinkg's Avatar
efinkg efinkg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 435
Where is the original

I gotta ask, did you make this plane, or if not, where is the original.
  #3  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:30 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Nope. came off another site....

The orignal had a somewhat "damaged" physics model.
  #4  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:34 PM
efinkg's Avatar
efinkg efinkg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 435
Do you have any idea what site, I like the model alot, thanks for posting.
  #5  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:36 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
RC-SIM.DE

There's nothing else there that was not posted here first.
  #6  
Old 05-13-2006, 09:40 PM
r1derbike's Avatar
r1derbike r1derbike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 1,303
This thing is a hoot on high-rates with tip-smoke on! Thanks, Op!
__________________
"Sometimes, I run out of altitude and airspeed...at the same time!"

http://photobucket.com/albums/v402/r1derbike

Click on sub albums at right sidebar.
  #7  
Old 05-14-2006, 07:43 PM
efinkg's Avatar
efinkg efinkg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 435
Turbine Powered F/A 18

I took the EP powered F/A 18, and replaced the EP engine with a turbine. It is incredibly fast. Low rates, I only suggest for when the engine is on fairly high, high rates, the plane is much more mauverable. Also I dont thnk that low rates are a good choice on final approach. You need full left rudder trim to keep the plane flying straight, and I highly suggest using smoke, it is alsomt impossible to keep track of the plane otherwise. For those who don't like planes quite as fast, you can easily decrease the thrust of the turbine, I have it at 30 pounds of thrust. If you like, you can skywrite if you increase the time the smoke is visible for. I hope you like the plane, and I would also like it if someone could add landing gear. It would make the plane easier to fly.
Attached Files
File Type: g3x FA18 Turbine Powered_EA.G3X (564.9 KB, 196 views)
  #8  
Old 05-14-2006, 08:22 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
This is supposed to be a hand launched model based upon a real plane equipped with the battery pack as in the original post.

Adding landing gear is impossible w/o the original 3D Studio file.

It's also a bit pointless, as this is not a scale model.

I hope that someone does a true "scale" F/A 18 instead.
  #9  
Old 05-14-2006, 08:29 PM
efinkg's Avatar
efinkg efinkg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 435
Ok thanks for telling me. I only made it turbine powered because I like flying fast planes, as shown by my edit of the Double Whammy available here. I would make a scale F/A 18 but i am still working on my Bell X-1, and after that i am going to make a Zero.
  #10  
Old 05-14-2006, 11:50 PM
bighead93 bighead93 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 78
I can't get it to work!! I downloaded the file and try to import G3X and it does not show me the plane. This normally works everytime....did something change?
  #11  
Old 05-15-2006, 12:18 AM
efinkg's Avatar
efinkg efinkg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 435
Which model?
  #12  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:42 PM
MikeF MikeF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Very cool!

This is great. Thank you. This model flies almost exactly like my Het F-18. With the throttle trim all the way down the speed seems just about about right. And just like my real one it gets real small, real fast! Great practice for a plane I seem to always be a little behind.

Is it possible in G3 to set it up with tailerons rather than aileron/elevator? The difference is small but noticable. I think that would make it dead on the real model.

Thanks again,
Mike
  #13  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:07 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Hmmm... A somewhat simple change...

I'll look into it over the weekend.

So no aileron movement what-so-ever.

Just the two tail planes as elevons?
  #14  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:34 PM
Kmot's Avatar
Kmot Kmot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by efinkg
after that i am going to make a Zero.
Kewl...
  #15  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:35 PM
MikeF MikeF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Yes, That's how many EDF jets are controlled. Just the tailplanes mixed to elevator/aileron.

Mike
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 AM.