Go Back   Knife Edge > Inactive forums > RealFlight Swap Pages > RealFlight G3 > Aircraft
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2006, 04:25 PM
inky00's Avatar
inky00 inky00 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1,108
Thumbs up Concorde

My Concorde is now ready for download.It has retracts on the top right switch and the nose moves with the 3pos switch.3pos switch away from you is no wheel brakes with nose down,middle pos is nose down with wheel brakes and towards you on 3pos switch is nose up with wheel brakes.I warn you now that it is one fast plane and if you dive it at full throttle the engines will cut and you will fall sideways to your doom with no chance of recovery.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1148675069.jpg (140.6 KB, 166 views)
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1148675074.jpg (140.8 KB, 88 views)
Attached Files
File Type: g3x Concorde_EA.G3X (412.0 KB, 1406 views)
  #2  
Old 05-26-2006, 04:45 PM
John R Oglesbee's Avatar
John R Oglesbee John R Oglesbee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Howell MI
Posts: 24
Send a message via Yahoo to John R Oglesbee
Take off Problem

Hi inky00

Great looking plane, but having a little problem. It will not leave the ground. By the way are there flaps. OK I see no flaps.

Please let me know how to resolved.-----I have pretty much got it working for me, still a little long on take off , but all else seems good.

Thanks for the great work you have been doing on all the planes.

Jack MI
__________________
Jack MI

Last edited by John R Oglesbee; 05-26-2006 at 10:49 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-26-2006, 05:15 PM
thenextcujo thenextcujo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Yes I am having a similar problem, the plane really wants to stick to the ground.
  #4  
Old 05-26-2006, 06:49 PM
Dicey Dicey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
I don't see the .g3x file in the file i downloaded from that link
  #5  
Old 05-26-2006, 07:00 PM
flightpro's Avatar
flightpro flightpro is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
it seems it just needs a REALLY REALLY long takeoff roll.

heres what i do: go full throttle and dont touch any of the controls except the throttle(the plane is very top heavy on the ground and will tip over if its at anything more than a crawl), then once the plane has reached around 360mph, apply full back elevator (make sure to apply ONLY elevator, if you input ailerons or rudder the plane will tip over and crash). the plane should hesitate, then leap into the air. once you get airborne its the same old same old.

you might not get it on the first try, but eventually you'll get airborne

good luck

btw great plane, seems to fly very realistically (minus the mile long takeoff roll)

also, heed inky00's warning, this is a fast plane! its not easy to overstress, but it is easy to overspeed, even in level flight. If you do, you lose all control input, so you cant deadstick it.

EDIT: here is a recording of me taking off
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1148683864.jpg (121.1 KB, 142 views)
Attached Files
File Type: recording concorde_takeoff.recording (224.6 KB, 107 views)
__________________
Don't ya just hate it when ya can't think of a good signature...

Last edited by flightpro; 05-26-2006 at 07:28 PM.
  #6  
Old 05-28-2006, 05:58 AM
inky00's Avatar
inky00 inky00 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1,108
I have the same problems with taking off but have got around it by doing this.
Throttle all the way up including full trim up,when it gets to the end of the runway retract the undercarriage and pull up about half elevator at the same time and it should unstick and your away.
  #7  
Old 05-28-2006, 01:26 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Hmm... a couple of tiny edits and this thing lifts immediately.

It is WAAAY too overpowered for a scale Concord.

I'll have to visit this.
  #8  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:50 AM
Kmot's Avatar
Kmot Kmot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,790
Inky00's method works everytime. Just a normal amount of runway needed. The trick is, as he mentioned, pulling up the gear first.

This plane is wicked fast, OMG!! In the virtual airport mode, I flew it in Chase and could maintain 449-452 mph for quite some time. But then without any apparent reason it gets unhappy and the engines quit and you're done for.

Flying around at half throttle gets around 330 +/- mph and it is a hard speck to follow!

It gets altitude stupid fast too! hah-hah!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot1148864005.jpg (245.0 KB, 113 views)
__________________
It's a simulator, not a video game! err.... umm....
  #9  
Old 05-29-2006, 02:19 AM
Robert Willis Robert Willis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston, Texas USA
Posts: 134
Retract and Nose Problems

I imported the plane into RealFlight G3 and cannot get either the Retracts or the Nose / Brakes to function properly. The brakes appear to be activated all the time based on how fast the plane will stop. Any ideas how to fix this issue?
  #10  
Old 05-29-2006, 03:06 AM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Willis
I imported the plane into RealFlight G3 and cannot get either the Retracts or the Nose / Brakes to function properly. The brakes appear to be activated all the time based on how fast the plane will stop. Any ideas how to fix this issue?
Turn the knob.
  #11  
Old 05-29-2006, 04:28 PM
r1derbike's Avatar
r1derbike r1derbike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 1,303
Op:

Work your magic on this thing!
__________________
"Sometimes, I run out of altitude and airspeed...at the same time!"

http://photobucket.com/albums/v402/r1derbike

Click on sub albums at right sidebar.
  #12  
Old 05-29-2006, 08:40 PM
Brian8474's Avatar
Brian8474 Brian8474 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Burleson,TX
Posts: 773
Well i made it much easier to take off and a little bit slower..Let me know if it helps ya.
Attached Files
File Type: g3x Concorde_AV.G3X (18.1 KB, 203 views)
__________________
I currently have a serious addiction to Helicopters!
  #13  
Old 05-29-2006, 09:34 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1derbike
Op:

Work your magic on this thing!
I'm almost there.

I have a model that flies perfectly to scale.

Take off speeds are about 38mph and the nose lifts like the real thing.

What is delaying this is that I have the nose cone and windscreen modeled as well. When I lower the nose the downward force of the new cone, is too pronounced. So I need to compensate throught it's movement.

Needless to say on a plane with elevons things get complex very quickly.

But it flies OOOH so nice.

If I get it finished tonight I'll post.

I've got several fixes in the works for various models.

And someday I'll get back to inky00's (can't say yet) model, that is oooh so cool.
  #14  
Old 05-29-2006, 10:38 PM
efinkg's Avatar
efinkg efinkg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 435
Just wondering, why do different parts of the rudder turn during right and left turns?
  #15  
Old 05-30-2006, 09:35 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Ok, here's what I got.

This is NOT a fighter plane.

The intent is to make it behave like a SCALE RC model.

IMHO this has too much pitch authority at speed.

At approach speeds you have almost NO pitch authority like the real thing!.

At touchdown you SHOULD be pulling the stick to your lap.

Takeoff speed is about 80mph. Stall speed is about 31mph. Approaches should be kept to about 50mph.

DO NOT let the nose drop on approach, and be lined up way before you hit approach speeds.

Brakes are automatically and only partially applied at throttle down for that scale deceleration.

The nose cone aerodynamics is modeled. G3 doesn't have it quite right so the plane tends to pitch down too much upon dropping the nose (it should drop a bit, but the on board flight computer compensates on the real deal...)

So the input system is fairly complex, check it out.

It needs an input that is speed dependant... if only G3 had this...

Before takeoff drop the left shoulder switch fully down. Turn the knob fully clockwise. The plane will lift off the runway by itself at speed.

Left shoulder drops the nose and raises elevator to compensate.
Right knob adjusts pitch, consider it the "leveling" knob.

Hmmm... maybe turbine smoke is needed and tip turbulence like the X-29 physics model I put up...
Attached Files
File Type: g3x Concorde_Fixed_physics_EA.G3X (412.3 KB, 344 views)
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 AM.