Go Back   Knife Edge > Inactive forums > RealFlight Swap Pages > RealFlight G3 > Aircraft
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 06-27-2006, 06:02 PM
mrkrzhrse's Avatar
mrkrzhrse mrkrzhrse is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Orlando Florida Ownz Joo!!!
Posts: 5
I feel the need for speed awesome plane


Pappy
  #17  
Old 06-27-2006, 08:52 PM
Ken Morano Ken Morano is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 99
This plane is an absolute hoot!

I couldn't get it to rotate on takeoff so I changed the "CG Adjustment" value from 20 to 15 in and it lifts off easily. I'm amazed you managed to design it with such a wide range of manageable airspeeds. Landings are nose high just like it should be!
  #18  
Old 06-27-2006, 11:57 PM
Kmot's Avatar
Kmot Kmot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,790
Just flew this plane in the sim. It's pretty hot!

I did have major troubles trying to get airborne without constantly breaking off a wingtip and then spinning out of control. So I set the strength ratings to 200% and that solved the problem.

Next, I kept running out of fuel. I timed it, and from Red Button Reset to "out of fuel" was 60 seconds at WOT. So I changed the fuel tank from 5" to 15" long and increased the capacity to 64 ounces. Now I can get 3 minutes and 20 seconds at WOT from red button reset.

This plane needs flaps.
  #19  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:14 AM
superconker superconker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Thumbs up

Thank you inky ...... one of my fav planes!!! keep up the excellent work!!!
  #20  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:12 AM
gb57's Avatar
gb57 gb57 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
I downloaded and installed the SR-71 but when I select it it gives me the dreaded note: you don't have the needed add-on for this plane. Which add-on do I need if any?

Thanks,
Garry
  #21  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:28 PM
inky00's Avatar
inky00 inky00 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1,108
You do not need any add ons for this plane ,just make sure that you import the EA.g3x before you import opjose's AV.g3x as you need the Entire Aircraft before you can import the Aircraft Variant that opjose posted.
  #22  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:31 PM
Kmot's Avatar
Kmot Kmot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,790
Why does opjoses G3X download have a .php file name?

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/atta...achmentid=3823
  #23  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:42 PM
luv2fly luv2fly is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Question

Hey inky, great plane. just one question, what airport is that in the pics of the blackbird and can you post it in the fields swap page? THANX d
__________________
(XXX)::::::::::::::::::> this is what the insurance company thought when i told them i crashed my kantana.......
  #24  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:21 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kmot
Why does opjoses G3X download have a .php file name?

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/atta...achmentid=3823
It's the browser/forum software interaction, just rename it, or try the newest post below...
  #25  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:25 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Ok somewhat major physics update.

Because of the front wheel problem, the wing loading is still WAAY to low, but at least it does come up off the runway now at Realflight Ranch... (Hit "X" to go to the far end of the field first!).

This is the ENTIRE aircraft, nothing else needed.

If prompted "Overwrite" the original config file will not be affected.

Enjoy.
Attached Files
File Type: g3x SR-71 BlackBird_EA.G3X (2.45 MB, 290 views)
  #26  
Old 06-29-2006, 12:38 AM
Kmot's Avatar
Kmot Kmot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
Note: Some files show up as "attachment.php" due to problems with Internet Explorer (thanks Microsoft...). If you see this happening, rename the file to the same name as the file displayed on the posting. You can also do this from the "save as" dialog.
Your latest file is a Zip. I downloaded it, unzipped it, and can't use it. I just renamed it as a .g3x and downloaded it again. Hopefully the next time I run G3 it will work.

What is confusing, is that the files highlighted end in .G3X but when you click on it there is a different file suffix. But not all the time. Most the time a .G3X saves as a .G3X

Very strange indeed.........

Thanks for the tweaks on the SR-71 opjose.
  #27  
Old 06-29-2006, 05:10 AM
predator predator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14
Great on Opjose... Very nice version...

I still feel that it flys a bit too easy for a jet, it seems to light. I have added some weight to the parts and it makes it fly really scale.

Try this one... You will need opjose sr-71, this is just a variant of his.
Attached Files
File Type: g3x SR-71 Heavy_AV.G3X (22.3 KB, 157 views)
  #28  
Old 06-29-2006, 12:43 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kmot
Your latest file is a Zip. I downloaded it, unzipped it, and can't use it. I just renamed it as a .g3x and downloaded it again. Hopefully the next time I run G3 it will work.

What is confusing, is that the files highlighted end in .G3X but when you click on it there is a different file suffix. But not all the time. Most the time a .G3X saves as a .G3X

Very strange indeed.........

Thanks for the tweaks on the SR-71 opjose.
Internet Exploder strikes again.

The file was and is a .G3X file, not really a zip file, per-se.

However a .G3X file is a special .ZIP file that you CAN open with Winzip or other programs.

Remember that XP loves to hide the file suffixes from you, so if you attempt to rename it during the download to say

SR-71-EDIT.G3X

What happens is that IE will rename it to

SR-71-EDIT.G3X.ZIP

But it will HIDE the .ZIP suffix from you so you will see

SR-71-EDIT.G3X

But the PROPERTIES for the file will display it as zip.


Confused?

It gets worst.

G3 will not import this file because of the .ZIP suffix.


You need to turn OFF "Hide file suffixes" as per the sticky, to see all of this.

Then you need to rename the file suffix properly.

And THEN you can import the file.

All of this is not G3, nor the board/forum's fault, but rather those abysmal default settings which Microsoft provides us.
  #29  
Old 06-29-2006, 12:52 PM
inky00's Avatar
inky00 inky00 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1,108
The photofield in the pictures is my local flying club.It is based at the Filton airport and has concorde parked on the side of the runway.I will post the photofield as is but at the moment it has no collision detection.I will add collision detection when i get the chance.
  #30  
Old 06-29-2006, 02:10 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by predator

I still feel that it flys a bit too easy for a jet, it seems to light. I have added some weight to the parts and it makes it fly really scale.

Try this one... You will need opjose sr-71, this is just a variant of his.

Exactly!

The plane is too light to keep the wing loading down, to make sure it takes off.

When I upped the weight, it tended to "stick" on many airports.

Wing loading should really be over 20oz, not the 14oz that the one I posted has...

BTW: the one I posted makes a great sloap glider due to the low loading.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 PM.