Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:17 PM
phrank's Avatar
phrank phrank is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 4,682
http://www.turbosquid.com/gmax

Main Program
http://files.turbosquid.com/Products...3US/gmax12.exe

Tutorials
http://files.turbosquid.com/Products..._tutorials.exe

I think you need to register to get activation code. it's free.

Last edited by phrank; 02-08-2007 at 08:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:19 PM
Win Hand's Avatar
Win Hand Win Hand is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States; Maryland
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Win Hand
Unhappy Won't work...

Try yourself. It isn't working.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:20 PM
evan evan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Why do you care
Posts: 405
both of then are free right

it looks like it will take less time for hell to freeze over but ill give it as try

is it realy as long as ling as it looks

thanks a lot for all you time maxtop and everybody who helped me with it
__________________
I Crash Too much
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:21 PM
evan evan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Why do you care
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Win Hand
Try yourself. It isn't working.
i have tried it and it isnt working
__________________
I Crash Too much
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:39 PM
Win Hand's Avatar
Win Hand Win Hand is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States; Maryland
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Win Hand
Talking I've got it!

Hold on now i'm dounloading it. Then new website you put on there(the third one after all the editing) works. It is realy the first one now.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:55 PM
phrank's Avatar
phrank phrank is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 4,682
Could be the site does not support cross-linking.

Glad it finally worked out for you, maybe we have a new plane creator soon ?
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:20 PM
evan evan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Why do you care
Posts: 405
i call the baddest plane maker
__________________
I Crash Too much
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:53 PM
Win Hand's Avatar
Win Hand Win Hand is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States; Maryland
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Win Hand
Talking Coming soon

Coming soon I'll be a plane creator, but witch GIMP does he want people to install? There is a ton of then on that connection.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 02-09-2007, 12:36 AM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Win Hand
Coming soon I'll be a plane creator, but witch GIMP does he want people to install? There is a ton of then on that connection.
Any version will do, but always opt for the latest Windows version you can get.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 02-09-2007, 10:08 PM
Matanuska Matanuska is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
JC -

Your Telemaster Senior plane definition post was excellent - the most realistic RF PLN def I've flown lately.

Any chance you could be talked into doing a SIG LT-40? I've got one in my garage that's been almost ready to go for awhile, but I'd like to try it out in RF first.

How long have you lived in Anchorage? I wasthere in a previous life (when I was single) & had some fun climbing in the Chugach.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 02-10-2007, 01:05 PM
JCHarrist's Avatar
JCHarrist JCHarrist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matanuska
JC -

Your Telemaster Senior plane definition post was excellent - the most realistic RF PLN def I've flown lately.

Any chance you could be talked into doing a SIG LT-40? I've got one in my garage that's been almost ready to go for awhile, but I'd like to try it out in RF first.

How long have you lived in Anchorage? I wasthere in a previous life (when I was single) & had some fun climbing in the Chugach.
Thanks! I PM'ed you.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 02-10-2007, 06:38 PM
arb6591's Avatar
arb6591 arb6591 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 454
Thumbs up

JC,

I just finished experimenting with mirroring components in gmax, seems like it's working... try this:

- Pick componet to mirror, for example ~CS_RMW
- Select Clone command from Edit Pull Down menu
- Make sure Copy in Object Box is selected, rename component for example here
to ~CS_LMW and click OK
- In Modifier Stack select Mirror from Parametric Modifiers
- Pick axis for mirroring ( in most case x), in Options window do not select copy
and set offset to 0 ( it should be 0 by default)
- Move and align your mirrored component.

I mirrored this way wing, elevator, rudder and vent, I saved as .x file, opened it in Deep Exploration, edited, exported .3ds file, replaced "bad" TGA with "good" one, ran kex converter, edited .sup file, ran kex converter again and imported .kex file to G3.5 .
You can see results in attached screenshot.

Let me know how it worked for you.
Oh, I forgot, do not pay attention to the 3D model of the plane, it's a stone age version of MIG29 ...
I did not have time to make a nice model yet, I was just concentrating on getting mirrored objects to show up correctly ....

ARB
kex converter again
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mirored Components.JPG (59.0 KB, 25 views)
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 02-10-2007, 08:45 PM
JCHarrist's Avatar
JCHarrist JCHarrist is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 161
Thumbs up

Awesome ARB! That method works! That will save me a lot of time.

Nice job! Thanks!

JC
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 02-10-2007, 09:06 PM
arb6591's Avatar
arb6591 arb6591 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 454
I am glad it worked JC

Do you know any good tutorials on texture mapping in gmax?

Any new developments in Deep Exploration, I mean as far as folders frm- ?

ARB
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 02-10-2007, 11:00 PM
Win Hand's Avatar
Win Hand Win Hand is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States; Maryland
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Win Hand
I'm done.

I'm done with my first plane now. All i need to do is import it through kex. It is however one of the uglyest planes I've ever seen though. However, I still desighned a plane.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:12 PM.