Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 4.50 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 11-19-2007, 11:24 AM
JonBennett's Avatar
JonBennett JonBennett is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Question Question about the V2 model

I am having a hard time adjusting the head speed. Is there a way to do this? I run a slower head speed (2100) for gentle flying around, and was wanting to adjust the model to match what I fly at the field.

Also;

How do I adjust the pitch curve?

Thanks!
__________________
Jon Bennett (AMA #836296)
T-Rex 450S CF: HKII 2221-8, BL35G, GY401, HS65MGs, R617FS, Futaba 7CH (2.4)
Align Metal Head/Tail, Align 325 woodies, 1191s K&Bs, S9257
Planks: Aircore 40, Acromaster, Tiger 2 Kit, RealFlight G5
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:52 PM
opjose's Avatar
opjose opjose is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Third rocky planet.
Posts: 13,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonBennett
I am having a hard time adjusting the head speed. Is there a way to do this? I run a slower head speed (2100) for gentle flying around, and was wanting to adjust the model to match what I fly at the field.

Also;

How do I adjust the pitch curve?

Thanks!
Open one of the existing helis that have a govenor in the physics editor, to see how both are done.
__________________
Quote:
Newbies please click here for important instructions about forum posts: CLICK ME!
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 11-19-2007, 01:39 PM
HX3D014's Avatar
HX3D014 HX3D014 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 1,622
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/show...urve#post80451
Try that link for pitch Curves. (It is easy, don't be fooled by my rather lengthy explanation there )

Also. If a heli has no governor. then you will need to change the Throttle curve and or change the Motor to main rotor ratio. (Changing the gear ratio is like changing the Motor to main gear pinion tooth # it is especially important for Gas Engines) what is your Tooth # for your T-Rex.

Bryce.
__________________
AKA HX3D014 on the WattFlyer Forums RC Groups Forums
AKA BGRing on the ARCHeli Forums
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 11-19-2007, 05:12 PM
JonBennett's Avatar
JonBennett JonBennett is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Exclamation Confusion

That is what is so confusing. I have changed head speed in the past, but this model (T-Rex V2) does not seem to have a governor, and I have not been able to find the pitch or throttle curves anywhere. I am opening "Edit TRex 450 V2", and have searched everywhere. Either I am looking right at it and not seeing it, or I don't know what I am looking for.

What is the "Physics editor"?
Where is the "Physics editor"?

Kinda pretend I am a 2nd grader, and please tell me where to look

Thanks!
__________________
Jon Bennett (AMA #836296)
T-Rex 450S CF: HKII 2221-8, BL35G, GY401, HS65MGs, R617FS, Futaba 7CH (2.4)
Align Metal Head/Tail, Align 325 woodies, 1191s K&Bs, S9257
Planks: Aircore 40, Acromaster, Tiger 2 Kit, RealFlight G5
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 11-20-2007, 03:02 AM
HX3D014's Avatar
HX3D014 HX3D014 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 1,622
, but this model (T-Rex V2) does not seem to have a governor,
Correct. it is not needed. there are two books on head speed. those who use a governor and those who do not. Lots say that a governor robs you of power. so we opted out of one Sorry to have mislead you there.

Check the Pics.

On that last Pic. look at what is Circled on the far left. <Edit (Sorry, I ment the Other Left, IE the Far right ) Edit>
it dose not appear until you click on that row. it works for most Things like when you want to change a blade or motor or engine or Wing foil shape etc etc.

Hope this helps. and if you need any more. just get back to me.

PS.
Sorry I took so long. I had a big day at work

Bryce.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Aircraft Editor Physics.jpg (298.4 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg Change Motor Rotor Ratio (Pinio size).jpg (91.3 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg Change Physical Pitch Range.jpg (108.7 KB, 62 views)
File Type: jpg Edit Pitch Curve.jpg (142.0 KB, 76 views)
File Type: jpg Find Output Channel For Collective.jpg (164.3 KB, 59 views)
__________________
AKA HX3D014 on the WattFlyer Forums RC Groups Forums
AKA BGRing on the ARCHeli Forums

Last edited by HX3D014; 11-20-2007 at 02:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 11-20-2007, 11:13 AM
JonBennett's Avatar
JonBennett JonBennett is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Thumbs up Thanks!!!

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it.

I have followed the steps that you
provided and now understand how to
change the curves. I modified the model to match
the head speed and pitch curves that I am flying
on my T-Rex. The model feels exactly the same as
my actual heli.

This is providing valuable practice for my inverted hovering.

Thanks again!
__________________
Jon Bennett (AMA #836296)
T-Rex 450S CF: HKII 2221-8, BL35G, GY401, HS65MGs, R617FS, Futaba 7CH (2.4)
Align Metal Head/Tail, Align 325 woodies, 1191s K&Bs, S9257
Planks: Aircore 40, Acromaster, Tiger 2 Kit, RealFlight G5
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 11-20-2007, 02:56 PM
HX3D014's Avatar
HX3D014 HX3D014 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 1,622
Your Welcome

I am Happy to have helped : )

Bryce.
__________________
AKA HX3D014 on the WattFlyer Forums RC Groups Forums
AKA BGRing on the ARCHeli Forums
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:25 PM
stratcat stratcat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
does the real V2 fly like the sim? wow!! that thing is absolutely sweeeeeet!! I don't know what it has that my XL doesn't but whatever it is, I'm thinking I need a V2 real bad... you aren't understanding.... like REAL BAD!!

thanks to the designers, and Align.....
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:36 AM
phrank's Avatar
phrank phrank is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 4,682
The featured model you see is based on a common performance setup based on the stock 430XL motor.
If you look at the variants you'll realize each individual has a different take on how a model should fly.
As in real life, each individual has their prefered power-plant, pitch, throttle-curve, dual-rate setup, pinion, blade, etc...

Do you really need a new heli? Up to you, but you could upgrade and customize what you already own up to same or better performance of a stock V2 model.

Good Luck,
Frank...

Quote:
Originally Posted by stratcat
does the real V2 fly like the sim? wow!! that thing is absolutely sweeeeeet!! I don't know what it has that my XL doesn't but whatever it is, I'm thinking I need a V2 real bad... you aren't understanding.... like REAL BAD!!

thanks to the designers, and Align.....
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 11-26-2007, 02:25 PM
gevonovich gevonovich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Frank
I have been flying the Trex V2 for some time now...what a great heli!!!

Thanks again

Steven
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 11-27-2007, 04:32 PM
Andre Andre is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
where is the latest version ? - post #2 ?

I can't quite see how they manage to sell it without TREX's inside..
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 11-27-2007, 06:00 PM
phrank's Avatar
phrank phrank is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 4,682
I don't understand the question or comment, can you elaborate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre
where is the latest version ? - post #2 ?

I can't quite see how they manage to sell it without TREX's inside..
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 11-28-2007, 05:16 AM
HX3D014's Avatar
HX3D014 HX3D014 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney NSW Australia
Posts: 1,622
on the swap pages.
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...o=file&id=3417

it is the latest one that Phrank was talking about in post #2

Bryce.
__________________
AKA HX3D014 on the WattFlyer Forums RC Groups Forums
AKA BGRing on the ARCHeli Forums
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 11-29-2007, 03:45 PM
b1833 b1833 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Problems with Trex 450SE V2_EA ?

My G4 came yesterday and I downloaded Trex 450SE V2_EA but when I load it, the Battery, Blades and Motor do not exist. That model does not list required other models. I also tried a couple of the variants. None have the Battery, motor and blades used by the Trex 450SE V2_EA. Can someone please point me to where I can get the base components? I did try a stock Trex 450Se v2 but still not showing.

Also,
I see lots of models out there with EA or AV on the end of the name? What do those mean?

Thanks,
duane
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:33 PM
pilot07's Avatar
pilot07 pilot07 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 364
AV is aircraft variant..... EA essentially means its the whole aircraft. A.K.A. you need to have a EA of the plane for the AV to even upload.
__________________
Blade 400
Trex 500
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 AM.