Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Technical Support is available from Great Planes Software Support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 58 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #106  
Old 12-19-2012, 07:38 AM
bosshawg's Avatar
bosshawg bosshawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Norfolk,England
Posts: 65
Exclamation Fyi

So Long as your File is saved as Legacy Mesh Format{SaveAs.jpg} and it isnt a
mess of Ngon nastiness there are few if any problems bringing .blend files from
2.64 to 2.49b
Just checked with 2.64 and i can export without doing any
changes{ExportMetric2.49b.jpg}
*(For recent builds Textured Faces must be enabled in Edit Mode 4 proper display
of UV's in 2.49b)

In Object Mode For All Textured Objects Click Shaded Draw Type{see
Oject(F7).jpg}
In Edit Mode Using Face Selection Click on a UV Face,then Press "a" to Select
All Faces Click Tex & Alpha Buttons and then Press Copy active UV's Buttons in
the 'Texture Face' Panel{see Editing(F9).jpg}.Proper Display of Textures should
B Resumed

Python Does Not Need 2B Installed for a successful kex export,If Rayvels script
is properly installed/configured.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SaveAs.jpg (75.7 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg ExportMetric2.49b.jpg (104.8 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg Object(F7).jpg (85.5 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg Editing(F9).jpg (125.7 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Quote:
A common mistake people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools!... Douglas Adams: "Mostly Harmless"

Last edited by bosshawg; 01-02-2013 at 05:46 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:16 AM
monchichi monchichi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Good day.

I got a short question. Since 3DS Max refuses to make friends with my PC I was wondering if there will be a new 3ds2kex version for RF7.

Thank you for your answer!
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 02-18-2014, 07:30 PM
Ryan Douglas's Avatar
Ryan Douglas Ryan Douglas is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 2,617
We currently have no plans to release a new version of the 3ds2kex utility.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 02-19-2014, 01:31 PM
abaser's Avatar
abaser abaser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: stuttgart, AR
Posts: 4,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by monchichi View Post
Good day.

I got a short question. Since 3DS Max refuses to make friends with my PC I was wondering if there will be a new 3ds2kex version for RF7.

Thank you for your answer!
What issues are you having with Max? Also, you can model in a newer version of Blender and export back into 2.49b as long as the newer version isnt using bmesh. I used to model in 2.62 with no issues. I believe 2.63 incorporates bmesh, so I wouldnt go any higher than .62.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 02-03-2015, 02:37 PM
day82 day82 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Can I fly the Compass Atom 500 in RF6.5 ?
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 02-03-2015, 08:26 PM
csgill75's Avatar
csgill75 csgill75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Alabama
Posts: 3,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by day82 View Post
Can I fly the Compass Atom 500 in RF6.5 ?
This is the wrong thread to be asking this question but to answer your question. NO you cannot fly the Compass Atom 500 in RF6.5. It requires RF7 since it was created with more poly's than 6.5 can handle. You will need to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 02-01-2017, 10:17 PM
ed.slatt ed.slatt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Hello,

I'm interested in using blender create objects for my RealFlight 7.5 airports. Is export_3ds2kex.py still a viable option? I'm using Blender 2.78. I put export_3ds2kex.py next to export_3ds.py in C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.78\scripts\addons\io_scene_3d s but didn't get a new export option on blender restart.

I hope this effort is still going; looks awesome!

Thanks

Ed
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 02-25-2017, 05:13 PM
Crescentwrench5 Crescentwrench5 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Hello,

I'm having the same issue as ed.slatt. I am using blender version 2.49b and after I extracted export_3ds2kex.py into the scripts directory and restarted blender, there was no new export option.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 02-26-2017, 12:03 AM
bosshawg's Avatar
bosshawg bosshawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Norfolk,England
Posts: 65
Lightbulb Blender2.49b still Workx

Put script here C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts
Download 3ds2kexbeta to somewhere you know where it is,such that you can refer to it's location with Blender2.49b's Scripts Window:Scripts > System > Scripts Config Editor > Export.(See Post #19 in this thread).

Also check Windoze isn't running interference on either "export_3ds2kex.py" script or "3ds2kexbeta" by right clicking on them & checking properties,unblock them if it is.
It works fine on Windows 7 Enterprise & XP.

ps you want the 32bit version of Blender NOT 64

Last edited by bosshawg; 02-28-2017 at 05:49 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 08-03-2017, 04:45 AM
Jonason Jonason is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosshawg View Post
Put script here C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts
Download 3ds2kexbeta to somewhere you know where it is,such that you can refer to it's location with Blender2.49b's Scripts Window:Scripts > System > Scripts Config Editor > Export.(See Post #19 in this thread).

Also check Windoze isn't running interference on either "export_3ds2kex.py" script or "3ds2kexbeta" by right clicking on them & checking properties,unblock them if it is.
It works fine on Windows 7 Enterprise & XP.

ps you want the 32bit version of Blender NOT 64
Where can I get the 32 bit?
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 08-03-2017, 08:18 AM
bosshawg's Avatar
bosshawg bosshawg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Norfolk,England
Posts: 65
Exclamation Where can I get the 32 bit?

Here U Go
http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.49b/
U want either blender-2.49b-windows.exe or blender-2.49b-windows.zip.
The exe installs into default locations the zip allows you to install various versions of blender.

Last edited by bosshawg; 08-05-2017 at 09:32 PM. Reason: added link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.