Go Back   Knife Edge > RealFlight - Designer's Corner > RealFlight G3 - Designer's Corner
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Use. | Looking for technical support? Read this!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:31 AM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
Bugatti 100P

This is very quick & dirty. I modeled the basic fuselage shape accurately, but only added rough wings and stabs (without control surfaces). The purpose was to get just what was absolutely needed by RF to check out the physics.

I know this is a bit backwards from the way things are normally done, but I wanted to play with the design concept. Bottom line is it's workable. I used twin AXI 4120-18 motors, with 4200x6S LiPos, and co-axial 13.5" pattern props. 1/5 scale gives a wingspan of 5.4 ft. and a flying weight of 6.4 lbs. Straight & level, I got scale speeds of about 375 mph. I should be able to get some more out of it with a little tweaking, but over-all she handles pretty well.

For the first time RF had the exact wing section I needed for a custom plane. This is a banner day.

Back to the 3D editor to add details to the fuselage and finish the rest of the model correctly.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image01.jpg (99.8 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg Image03.jpg (182.1 KB, 58 views)
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2007, 02:33 AM
rcplanefubar's Avatar
rcplanefubar rcplanefubar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 941
Send a message via Yahoo to rcplanefubar
SLOW DOWN speedy gonzales LOL

I have a really cool idea for the cockpit. The one made by the old guy with the ZZtop beard was in a R/C mag a few years back You could see the motors and homemade gearbox if I remember correctly. I'll make a quick 3D model so you can see what it looked like.
__________________
Kick the tires and light the fires!
Fly fast take chances!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2007, 06:20 AM
rcplanefubar's Avatar
rcplanefubar rcplanefubar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 941
Send a message via Yahoo to rcplanefubar
here you go
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bugatti gearbox.JPG (37.2 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg bugatti gearbox2.JPG (30.8 KB, 17 views)
__________________
Kick the tires and light the fires!
Fly fast take chances!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:16 AM
pplace's Avatar
pplace pplace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,595
At this rate you'll have it on the swaps tonight right Doug??haha

No it's looking really good though!

I don't want to "sway" your thread too off track but I had a question for you (and others might be interested also.... so I'll ask here)

I noticed you have the canopy opening set as a "hard" line in Wings3D

What is the effect, purpose, need, benefit, etc?? I guess I've never used them and seemingly haven't had any troubles?

On the other hand I've seen people put "hard" lines on all their control surfaces edges etc.

I'm assuming it just helps "hold" the shape of the object when you "cut" the canopy from the fuse?

Again sorry for this question in your build thread
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:32 AM
rcplanefubar's Avatar
rcplanefubar rcplanefubar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 941
Send a message via Yahoo to rcplanefubar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplace
At this rate you'll have it on the swaps tonight right Doug??haha

No it's looking really good though!

I don't want to "sway" your thread too off track but I had a question for you (and others might be interested also.... so I'll ask here)

I noticed you have the canopy opening set as a "hard" line in Wings3D

What is the effect, purpose, need, benefit, etc?? I guess I've never used them and seemingly haven't had any troubles?

On the other hand I've seen people put "hard" lines on all their control surfaces edges etc.

I'm assuming it just helps "hold" the shape of the object when you "cut" the canopy from the fuse?

Again sorry for this question in your build thread
RF likes to smooth things out so, if you make something a hard line it holds it shape. A perfect exsample is on my new Podracer. I made the electric binders with all hard line to keep them looking like lighting and I used it on the back of the motors inorder to produce the flat panels on the exhaust. On the enclosed pic I made the left side all soft and the right has some of the lines made hard.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg soft and hard.JPG (37.1 KB, 51 views)
__________________
Kick the tires and light the fires!
Fly fast take chances!

Last edited by rcplanefubar; 10-17-2007 at 10:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:49 AM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcplanefubar
RF like to smooth things out so, if you make something a hard line it holds it shape.
Exactly I also use hard lines on openings into the aircraft (like vents), metal objects that you want to have clearly defined edges, and any places where two objects must meet and close perfectly (like gear doors). In the door (and canopy) case, the edges on both surfaces need to be set to hard lines.

Use a quick render to see if you have any areas that get deformed with smoothing, then add hard lines where needed. Control surfaces are usual culprits. By doing this you can keep your total poly count really low. Most of my newest planes are less than 8000 polys and don't use collision meshes at all.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:51 AM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplace
At this rate you'll have it on the swaps tonight right Doug??
Not likely, but it's good to hope.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:16 AM
pplace's Avatar
pplace pplace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,595
Okay thanks for the responses. It pretty much does what I assumed.

Now though.....would I still be alright (get the same effect) if I add the hard edge to the canopy and the "canopy opening" on the fuse after I have already "loop cut" them apart?? Or should I from now on do it first??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:21 AM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
rcplanefubar,

Good looking gear box. That was pretty much how I had envisioned it as well. Although, I had the motors offset and pointing in the same direction. I like your idea better. Getting the main gears to spin is easy (make them part of the spinners), but I need to figure out a way to make the pinion gears spin as well.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:33 AM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplace
Now though.....would I still be alright (get the same effect) if I add the hard edge to the canopy and the "canopy opening" on the fuse after I have already "loop cut" them apart?? Or should I from now on do it first??
That's actually how I do it with canopies. I make the canopy cut from the fuselage and move it up out of the way, so I can get to the underside. On both the bottom of the canopy and the resulting pit in the fuselage, I first select the meeting faces and make them "holes", then (while still selected) change to line mode automatically selecting the edges and make them hard.

The pit in the fuselage (sorry didn't know what else to call it) can also be selected and loop cut again to give you a plate that exactly fits the opening (be sure to change it back to a non-hole). This can then be extruded down to form a cockpit enclosure. Leave to top edges hard and don't touch them. Adjust the middle and/or bottom of the cockpit to fit within the fuselage. Now you have a cockpit, canopy, and fuselage whose edges exactly match.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:35 AM
rcplanefubar's Avatar
rcplanefubar rcplanefubar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 941
Send a message via Yahoo to rcplanefubar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhk79
rcplanefubar,

Good looking gear box. That was pretty much how I had envisioned it as well. Although, I had the motors offset and pointing in the same direction. I like your idea better. Getting the main gears to spin is easy (make them part of the spinners), but I need to figure out a way to make the pinion gears spin as well.
Thanks but it was not my idea. It was the ZZtop looking dude lol. The flat aluminum panels that suround it also had lighting holes drilled in it.

About the other gears. Could you just call them spinners as well and use dummy engines with no props and no torque. Or maybe the wave genorator could be used( I really have no idea how to use this fuction )
__________________
Kick the tires and light the fires!
Fly fast take chances!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:40 AM
maxkop's Avatar
maxkop maxkop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 775
You might want to have a look on my post in this thread if you are interested in surface smoothing when using 3dsmax.

Greets,

Max
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:23 PM
BigGuyJT's Avatar
BigGuyJT BigGuyJT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcplanefubar
SLOW DOWN speedy gonzales LOL

I have a really cool idea for the cockpit. The one made by the old guy with the ZZtop beard was in a R/C mag a few years back You could see the motors and homemade gearbox if I remember correctly. I'll make a quick 3D model so you can see what it looked like.
Bob Shaw is his name I believe...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:27 PM
dhk79's Avatar
dhk79 dhk79 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcplanefubar
About the other gears. Could you just call them spinners as well and use dummy engines with no props and no torque. Or maybe the wave genorator could be used( I really have no idea how to use this fuction )
Something like that might work. I'll play with it and see what I can come up with.
__________________
- Knowing why ten things will not work is more important than not knowing why one does.
Doug's Project List
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:36 PM
rcplanefubar's Avatar
rcplanefubar rcplanefubar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 941
Send a message via Yahoo to rcplanefubar
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuyJT
Bob Shaw is his name I believe...
Close it is Keith Shaw and man he is one hell of a scratch builder here is a pic of his model.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Keith_Bugatti-640.jpg (86.8 KB, 60 views)
__________________
Kick the tires and light the fires!
Fly fast take chances!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 AM.